We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Name, Little Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Not up to Best Western standards. Rooms too small: felt like walking into closet. We should have known: Hilton walked away from the facility and BW tried to take over. Probably the biggest franchise hotel on the Isle of Man (IOM), but definately poor quality. Example: broken shower head spraying water everywhere. Two days to repair, after being told initially that it was fixed. Only chair in room unsafe. Initially only one bed lamp worked. The broken one was missing decor lamp fixture. Sticky candy/sweet syrup onside of overnight stand. Broken closet hinge. Notified duty manager of all problems and appeared to not bothered. Actually voiced that they were very over loaded at front desk. When presented with lengthy list of problems to senior management on third day they offered to move us. We told them we were staying as we didn't want to take time away from our vacation to pack up and relocate. The only good thing - dining and bar with their menu was very nice at good price.

Room Tip: If you must use this facility, use it only until you find somewhere else. Its only the promanade m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyHickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

942 - 948 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

I was one of a party of 48, the hotel is very clean and tidy and excellent food. On the down side the service was a bit hit and miss, the bar staff sometimes had to be hunted for, the rooms were a little cramped, you could multi task in the bathroom (sit on the loo and wash your feet in the bath at the same time) and the large double glazed window unit seal was obviously brokem as the window was all misted up inside. The house keepers were very good and the rooms were done daily and spotless. The rooms at the back were noisy due to the air con units running all night and due to noisy gamblers leaving the casino in the small hours. Prices were a little high as you would expect from a hotel of this nature. Friends in our party said the jacuzzi and swimming pool were very good. No evening entertainment unless as we had pre booked for us. I would still recommend this hotel but for a good nights sleep have a sea view (room at the front).

Room Tip: Sea view front room for a noise free night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emseaell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

(To be upfront about it - my stay was during TT week, so most hotels on the island were full, and ripping guests off.) Nearly £300 a night, had to be paid in advance, no refund on cancellation, no name changes......oppressive behaviour by any standards!

Many areas of the hotel (starting with the lobby) are very tired, grubby and badly in need of refurbishment. Some of the front desk staff were as offhand as you like. Others were very pleasant and helpful.

Room was OK (at that price it should have been superb). Buffet breakfast OK too. Bar chaotic - not enough staff to cope with the numbers, and no-one seemed much bothered.

Not a happy experience. It's not necessary, or smart, to "gouge" your customers just because it's the busiest week of the year and everything's full. They tend not to forget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BravoCharlie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

got to hotel .outside looks o k not brilliant.main entrance to hotel at back in car park,needs to be updated.staff very good.room very good.we got double with sea view.cassino open till 6am friday and saturday.night club open till 3am.pool in hotel excellent .with saurna and steam room.theres a jim.hairdressers in hotel .and there is a small cinema on side of carpark.very good.breckfast excellent.very good for couples and groups to relaxe or enjoy things in hotel.

Room Tip: allways ask for sea view.or you look out window on to car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 987,654,321,186,337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Aprehensive after reading some of the reviews, our experience of the hotel was extremely satisfied. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite with great views of the sea, all staff were friendly, helpfull and well presented, room was modern, well decorated and clean; comfortable bed and pillows. Very good selection of breakfast items, meals in the lounge were of a good quality and at a fair price. We would have no hesitation about staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Suite, lounge overlooks the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

You can find plenty to complain about - the pile of dog ends on the roof by the balcony of your non-smoking room, the noise from the disco and function rooms, the marmalade served up with my kipper because they had run out of lemons and the general "seen better days" feel of the place, but there are compensations.

The staff were generally competent and friendly, the breakfast was good value, the room was very well presented, the bathroom well stocked Above all, you could open the generous patio doors and let the sounds, sights and smell of the sea right into the room.

We might even return!

Room Tip: The choice is a stark one - car park and bins or the bay! I paid the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My husband & I have just returned from our second stay at this hotel. When we stayed there in 2010, it was part of the Hilton chain. Now it has reverted to its original name, Palace Hotel, & is part of the Best Western chain.

This hotel is probably the ugliest on the Central Promenade, being built in the 1960s, but nevertheless it has alot going for it. For starters, unlike the beautiful old Regency-style hotels that grace the Promenade, the Palace Hotel has a decent-sized car park at the rear. Street parking is the order of the day for most of the others.

The Palace is ideally situated facing the panoramic Douglas Bay. The main entrance is at the back and the best rooms are at the front. Do pay that little bit extra for a sea-facing room on either the 3rd or 4th floors. The rear-facing rooms overlook the car park and some are situated directly above noisy extractor fans.

The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. If there is a queue at the Reception Desk, do be patient. Nearly all the guests are arriving from mainland Britain, either via Ronaldsway Airport or the Central Ferry Terminal, so necessarily reach the hotel at the same time.

The rooms are quite snug with small en-suite bathrooms. The front-facing rooms have patio doors and little French balconies, a treat on a warm day.

The Paragon Restaurant, situated on the 1st floor, has superb views across the day. The food here is excellent with plenty of variety and the staff members are pleasant and efficient. It may be a good idea to book a window table for your evening meal if you intend to eat at 6.00pm.

There are a number of interesting old photographs of the hotel and surrounding buildings displayed on the landing, just off the reception area. There is also a plaque giving information on the building of the Casino in 1966 and its official opening by Sean Connery and the hotel opening the following year.

Newspapers can be ordered daily and are delivered to your room. The horse-drawn tram will actually drop you off right outside the hotel if you ask the driver at the start of your ride.

The adjacent casino is open to interested guests and there is also a leisure and fitness centre adjoining the hotel. The hair salon, run by a delightful Scottish lady, is accessed from the rear car park. Be warned - it is popular so book ahead.

The two of us like this hotel and we will return in the future as long as a sea-view room is available.

Room Tip: Definitely pay a little extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jilllovescricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
660 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
404 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
373 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £43 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing