We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“winter warmer deal excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“winter warmer deal excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here on winter warmer break which was bed breakfast and evening meal. We stayed from 8th to 10th March. We had a nice welcome on arrival. Our room was a sea view room which had a lovely view of the promenade The room was spotless bathroom small but had a bath and shower and was adequate, there was a selection of complementary toiletries. The food was very good plenty of choice for breakfast. Evening meal was a Carvery again excellent choice and you could eat as much as you wanted. Very enjoyable stay hope to return in the future and would recommend this hotel to anyone. There was a girl playing the harp in the bar on Saturday evening it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a lot better rooms at back look over carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela209953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your "winter warmer break" with us and thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and excellent food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    304
    272
    97
    59
See reviews for
124
377
39
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We took advantage of a 'evening meal, stay and breakfast' offer.

We had a lovely time, our room, infact the whole hotel, was cleaned to a high standard, the food was lovely (love the breakfast sausages!!) and we enjoyed a boogie in the Star bar. Would definately stay again!!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the promenade (as apposed to at the back of the hotel overlooking the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannyDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room and indeed the hotel to a high standard of cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radlett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here from the 1st - 3rd March and have to say we were very impressed with the hotel and all the staff. We had read the reviews and took in to account you do better room wise if you book a sea view room which is what we did. The room was fantastic, very clean and nicely decorated, the bed was very comfy. All the house cleaning staff were polite and seemed to take pride in there work.
The breakfast was excellent and not only do you have the choice of buffet style full English you also have continental option, cereals and also cooked to order Manx kippers etc. The waiting staff were all smartly dressed, very polite and attentive.
The hotel inside is well laid out and nicely decorated, it caters for large dinner parties and seems extremely popular for people who book for Sunday lunch (we over heard on the phone them turning people away cause they were fully booked) this shows how popular it is.
It is disappointing that the entrance is at the rear and yes it could do with a tidy up, but once inside it is a very pleasant experience.
We have stayed in other hotels and had a nightmare, this one for us is a 10/10 and are looking to go to other hotels around the country that this group run as we were so impressed.

Room Tip: Always choose a room with a sea view, for a few pounds extra it really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna44140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Thank you for your review and for your kind comments and 5 star rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and could not find fault with your room, breakfast, our customer service and cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Easy to find on the Promenade in Douglas but no front entrance. Reception is accessed via the rear, rather tatty, car park.
Rooms are quite small but clean and if you don't pay extra for a sea view you get to look at the tatty car park.
Hotel bar was very average, restaurant was good, but wouldn't serve breakfast before 7am which was a pain as I was getting an early flight.
On the whole it's ok for a night or 2 but no more.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinS39194S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for your comments which we have noted. We are pleased you found your room clean and the restaurant good.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

The hotel itself is ok, a bit tired and dated but basically sound and very clean.

The staff, on the other hand, are a horror to deal with. When we booked our room, we arranged a table in the restaurant for 8pm. On arrival, we were informed that the hotel had a party of 100 guests eating at 8pm and we would have to eat earlier - or they could not guarantee us a table! It is hardly what you expect! To make matters worse, the restaurant was empty at 8pm!

The restaurant staff look like they would rather be anywhere but there. They don't smile, make zero eye contact and can't answer any questions on the food. We orders a bottle of wine and it was dumped on the table, unopened, and we were left to pour it ourselves.

The food was pretty good.

When we checked out, the receptionist could barely bring herself to speak.

The staff totally let the place down. I would say stay away!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mannanin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you found the hotel clean and the food good. We are sorry however that we did not fully meet your expectations. We have noted your comments and will review and address these.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cheshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and out of season so my comments reflect that. Firstly I would say that the hotel was almost empty, expected as it was Febraury the room was comfortable with clean bedding. I stayed in a room overlooking the car park which I would not have been impressed about if on holiday here. The evening meal was from a hot plate barely warm and tired due to not many people being there, they would be better off changing the meal options out of season. Staff standing around twiddling their thumbs and looking and acting either too eager or lost interest. Not very good value for money and I wish I had gone for fish and chips. The only redeeming feature was the breakfast mind you I was early so it will have been fresh.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations - we have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We had a lovely sea view room, on the third floor, it was clean and compact, with everything necessary for a pleasant stay. The bed was nice and comfy with crisp fresh bedding, the hospitality tray had tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. Complimentary toiliteries were included in the small but functional bathroom, the towels were fresh, clean and fluffy. We enjoyed the leisure club facilities, the swimming pool, gym, steam room and hot tub. There is also a hairdressing salon and a spa, but we did not use these facilities. We then ate in the main restaurant, and had a carvery meal, which was very nice. There was a harpist playing in the bar area, which also served a selection of bar meals. Meals could also be taken in the Aces bar inside the casino - but we did not visit this section of the hotel, nor the kusal bingo on the ground floor. There is also a night club on the ground floor open until 4am, and this did not cause us any disturbance to our sleep. The sea was loud at night, as it was windy during our stay, but we found this somewhat relaxing, cosy in our room with the nasty weather outside. There was no noise from surrounding rooms or the corridor, and we had a nice sleep.. We opened the curtains in the morning, and from the bed watched the sun rising across the bay. It was a really lovely sight. We enjoyed a wonderful self service breakfast in the restaurant, with a good choice, continental and traditional full manx, and also an a la carte breakfast selection. Check in and out was prompt and courteous on both occasions, and all staff we encountered during our brief stay were polite and pleasant. Overall, we enjoyed our mini break, and felt recharged as a result, and would certainly stay again in the future. Thank you Sefton Group.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are lovely. Bring your swim suits to enjoy the leisure facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debs_n_Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive report following your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities on offer and left feeling re-charged. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino

Property: BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing