We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good views over the bay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 16 March 2013

As I came through the hotel door I was immediately welcomed by the friendly reception staff, who provided clear information about the facilities.
My room was clean, had been recently refurbished and afforded a comfortable stay. The free Wi-Fi is only in the bar and restaurant and so I could not use my i-pad in my room.
There is a good sized bar area and the restaurant has a surprisingly good self service evening buffet. The mussels and roll-mop herring as a starter were great and I also particularly enjoyed the lamb shank for a main. Breakfast was also a self service buffet, with plenty of choice, but you can order Manx kippers, which I thought were worth waiting for.
I stayed here because I was working close by for a few days and hope I will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purpleTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased your first impression was welcoming and you found our staff friendly and helpful and your room clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

870 - 876 of 1,044 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here on winter warmer break which was bed breakfast and evening meal. We stayed from 8th to 10th March. We had a nice welcome on arrival. Our room was a sea view room which had a lovely view of the promenade The room was spotless bathroom small but had a bath and shower and was adequate, there was a selection of complementary toiletries. The food was very good plenty of choice for breakfast. Evening meal was a Carvery again excellent choice and you could eat as much as you wanted. Very enjoyable stay hope to return in the future and would recommend this hotel to anyone. There was a girl playing the harp in the bar on Saturday evening it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a lot better rooms at back look over carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela209953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your "winter warmer break" with us and thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and excellent food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We took advantage of a 'evening meal, stay and breakfast' offer.

We had a lovely time, our room, infact the whole hotel, was cleaned to a high standard, the food was lovely (love the breakfast sausages!!) and we enjoyed a boogie in the Star bar. Would definately stay again!!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the promenade (as apposed to at the back of the hotel overlooking the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NannyDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room and indeed the hotel to a high standard of cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed here from the 1st - 3rd March and have to say we were very impressed with the hotel and all the staff. We had read the reviews and took in to account you do better room wise if you book a sea view room which is what we did. The room was fantastic, very clean and nicely decorated, the bed was very comfy. All the house cleaning staff were polite and seemed to take pride in there work.
The breakfast was excellent and not only do you have the choice of buffet style full English you also have continental option, cereals and also cooked to order Manx kippers etc. The waiting staff were all smartly dressed, very polite and attentive.
The hotel inside is well laid out and nicely decorated, it caters for large dinner parties and seems extremely popular for people who book for Sunday lunch (we over heard on the phone them turning people away cause they were fully booked) this shows how popular it is.
It is disappointing that the entrance is at the rear and yes it could do with a tidy up, but once inside it is a very pleasant experience.
We have stayed in other hotels and had a nightmare, this one for us is a 10/10 and are looking to go to other hotels around the country that this group run as we were so impressed.

Room Tip: Always choose a room with a sea view, for a few pounds extra it really is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna44140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for your review and for your kind comments and 5 star rating. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and could not find fault with your room, breakfast, our customer service and cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Easy to find on the Promenade in Douglas but no front entrance. Reception is accessed via the rear, rather tatty, car park.
Rooms are quite small but clean and if you don't pay extra for a sea view you get to look at the tatty car park.
Hotel bar was very average, restaurant was good, but wouldn't serve breakfast before 7am which was a pain as I was getting an early flight.
On the whole it's ok for a night or 2 but no more.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinS39194S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for your comments which we have noted. We are pleased you found your room clean and the restaurant good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The hotel itself is ok, a bit tired and dated but basically sound and very clean.

The staff, on the other hand, are a horror to deal with. When we booked our room, we arranged a table in the restaurant for 8pm. On arrival, we were informed that the hotel had a party of 100 guests eating at 8pm and we would have to eat earlier - or they could not guarantee us a table! It is hardly what you expect! To make matters worse, the restaurant was empty at 8pm!

The restaurant staff look like they would rather be anywhere but there. They don't smile, make zero eye contact and can't answer any questions on the food. We orders a bottle of wine and it was dumped on the table, unopened, and we were left to pour it ourselves.

The food was pretty good.

When we checked out, the receptionist could barely bring herself to speak.

The staff totally let the place down. I would say stay away!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mannanin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you found the hotel clean and the food good. We are sorry however that we did not fully meet your expectations. We have noted your comments and will review and address these.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

I stayed here on a business trip and out of season so my comments reflect that. Firstly I would say that the hotel was almost empty, expected as it was Febraury the room was comfortable with clean bedding. I stayed in a room overlooking the car park which I would not have been impressed about if on holiday here. The evening meal was from a hot plate barely warm and tired due to not many people being there, they would be better off changing the meal options out of season. Staff standing around twiddling their thumbs and looking and acting either too eager or lost interest. Not very good value for money and I wish I had gone for fish and chips. The only redeeming feature was the breakfast mind you I was early so it will have been fresh.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations - we have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
653 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £43 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing