We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow blizzards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Snow blizzards”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Hotel is in a central position with parking. It's very clean and staff are very hard working , friendly & wonderful. If you need anything they will do their best to get it for you. The rooms were wery warm and comfortable.
Our room was at the back of the hotel so we did not have a view, but one thing which we had it was peace and quiet. We slept really well.
Meals are good and the locally sourced sausage is really delicious ( I don't usually eat sausages ), but I really enjoyed them for breakfast.
Unfortunatelly when we were there Isle of Man was hit by cold spell and snow so the dining room was on a cold side. I felt sorry for the staff on the reception as that area was especially freezing, they could have done with the porch so the icy wind would not blow directly, every time the door was opend.
I think the hotel it's a good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you found our staff friendly and hard working and your room clean and comfortable. We try to source as much of our food as we can from local produce and the sausages are particularly good! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    323
    281
    98
    59
See reviews for
127
389
41
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Hotel in great position on front overlooking sea,room was clean and well equiped,meals were good especially breakfast with good quality produce with a lot of local produce reccomend the local sausage.Staff were helpfull and friendly.
Only complaint was the excessive noise when you are given a room on the second floor in the range 218-226 as you are next to the heating/ventilation system.

Room Tip: front rooms overlooking sea are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are pleased you found your room clean and well equiped and our staff helpful and friendly. As you say, we do make a point of using as much local Manx produce as we can and thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The hotel is nice and central on the Prom. The room was very clean, well stocked, and comfortable.
The staff were fantastic, friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about the area and what was on.
Unfortunately, our room (218) was above the nightclub, and we were kept awake by the music until well after 03.00. Then, due to being at the rear, and overlooking the vehicle entrance, we were then subject to the people leaving arguing about who had booked what taxi, and for how many.
This was with the windows shut, as when we did open them, the noise from the industrial size air conditioning units directly below our window was too loud to let us sleep anyway.
The price of two standard glasses of Rose was £11.90.
I'm sure the rooms facing the sea and the promenade are much more relaxing, but I won't be visiting again to find out.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel, and NOT anywhere above the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenSantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you found your room clean and comfortable and our staff attentive and knowledgeable. We are sorry to hear that you were kept awake by the noise of a function and we have noted your comments accordingly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We had a lovely room with a sea view. The staff were great and the restaurant was lovely with really good food. The pool etc was really enjoyable.

The only problem was that we couldn't sleep due to the noise from the disco. We were on the top floor so I don't think that you could get any further away from it! Our friends stayed at the back of the hotel and they were also kept awake by it. On the last night of our stay they had a party and their noisy guests woke anyone who had managed to get to sleep at about 4am.

Sorry - they need to decide whether they are a hotel or a nightclub!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 19 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for your comments regarding your room, our food and great staff. We are sorry that you experienced problems with noise - we have noted and will review your comments. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

As I came through the hotel door I was immediately welcomed by the friendly reception staff, who provided clear information about the facilities.
My room was clean, had been recently refurbished and afforded a comfortable stay. The free Wi-Fi is only in the bar and restaurant and so I could not use my i-pad in my room.
There is a good sized bar area and the restaurant has a surprisingly good self service evening buffet. The mussels and roll-mop herring as a starter were great and I also particularly enjoyed the lamb shank for a main. Breakfast was also a self service buffet, with plenty of choice, but you can order Manx kippers, which I thought were worth waiting for.
I stayed here because I was working close by for a few days and hope I will be back soon.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased your first impression was welcoming and you found our staff friendly and helpful and your room clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed here on winter warmer break which was bed breakfast and evening meal. We stayed from 8th to 10th March. We had a nice welcome on arrival. Our room was a sea view room which had a lovely view of the promenade The room was spotless bathroom small but had a bath and shower and was adequate, there was a selection of complementary toiletries. The food was very good plenty of choice for breakfast. Evening meal was a Carvery again excellent choice and you could eat as much as you wanted. Very enjoyable stay hope to return in the future and would recommend this hotel to anyone. There was a girl playing the harp in the bar on Saturday evening it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a lot better rooms at back look over carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela209953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your "winter warmer break" with us and thank you for your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and excellent food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We took advantage of a 'evening meal, stay and breakfast' offer.

We had a lovely time, our room, infact the whole hotel, was cleaned to a high standard, the food was lovely (love the breakfast sausages!!) and we enjoyed a boogie in the Star bar. Would definately stay again!!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the promenade (as apposed to at the back of the hotel overlooking the car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannyDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found your room and indeed the hotel to a high standard of cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.8 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino

Property: Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing