We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will review your comments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Shambolic service in restaurant "We will review your comments".

Noise from disco below. "We will review your comments".

Noise from fan at rear of hotel. "We will review your comments".

Staff on Reception send me to wrong room. "We will review your comments".

Heating not working in room. "We will review your comments".

Its sickly and patronising. Stop reviewing comments and do something about this shabby hotel which would not survive on the mainland!!!!!

Room Tip: Sleep on the beach. Its far better!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Room was quiet and clean with all the facilities I needed. No scrimping on the tea and coffee like some hotels, plenty to sustain you through the evening. Although the weather was pretty cold outside the room was lovely and warm. Had one of the best nights sleep in a long time, the bed was so cosy I didn't want to get up next morning. Staff were very friendly as were all the Manx people I met during my stay. Recommend the hotel bar for a drink and a bite to eat, good food very reasonable prices. Breakfast was a treat in fact probably the best buffet style breakfast I ever had in a hotel. I would most definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor it's nice and quiet. Try the bar for something to eat, good choice of men...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We are pleased you found your room quiet and clean and our staff friendly. Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast ...we will pass on your compliments to our Chef. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We arrived in the Isle of Man just as the coldest weather for 50 years hit in. The hotel positioned on the promenade has fantastic views of the bay. We had booked a sea view room which has a small balcony. The room was extremely clean and warm, the decor however could do with a face lift. Breakfast was extremely good, buffet style with local produce, bacon, sausages and black pudding, or you can order a la carte, delicious manx kippers. Evening meal was little disappointing, buffet style again. Rubbery duck breast (very over cooked), vegetables cooked perfectly, puddings were displayed in a rather drab sort of way. The swimming pool was great, warm and large enough to enjoy a good swim. Staff were helpful and very pleasant. All in all an enjoyable stay, however I do feel that the hotel would benefit from an over haul.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank damsonjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are pleased you found your room clean and warm and overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel on 2nd April 2013 for three nights, we upgraded to a Deluxe room with a sea view as it was for our anniversary,we had checked other Hotels on Tripadvisor and this looked to be ok. On arrival the whole hotel was a bit faded, it must have been built in the 60s and it felt like it had not kept up with the times. The staff were ok but we had trouble with the Wifi in our room, it was eventually resolved. Good points ,Breakfast ask for the a la carte ,manx kippers, smoked haddock, egg florentine, yummm, bad points a bit faded not a 4 star and a bit expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view cost morebut the other rooms face the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobmanUnitedkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion however we are pleased your enjoyed our food. Thank you for booking with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

The coldest weekend since 1962 but that did not interrupt a single thing in this comfortable warm hotel. Staff were very good and the restaurant was excellent. Breakfast offered the widest choice.
We were entertained in the bar and restaurant in the evening by a young lady and her harp. She sang beautiful lyrical songs. Our room had a sea view and balcony but gale force winds and snow made the view fascinating but not very inviting to sit outside.
We didn't use the casino but we did make great use of the pool, saunas and steam room. Excellent facilities. A great base for visiting the island.

Room Tip: A sea view room from the second floor up are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank packer1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel warm and comfortable, despite the exceptional snow and bad weather. We are pleased you enjoyed our evening entertainment and were able to make use of our Health Club facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

A comfortable, warm and friendly hotel on the main promenade in Douglas. Positioned towards the end of the prom means it's a reasonable walk to the "town centre" where most of the shops/restaurants/bars are located. Great sea view from my decent sized room on the fourth floor. The hotel would seem to attract weekend revelers who woke me up on several occasions in the middle of the night. Some colleagues also had disturbances from the function rooms so make sure your room is fourth floor (the top) and positioned away from the function area and the lift access. Good bar and restaurant food but the staff struggled to cope at busy times.

Room Tip: Top floor with sea view not too close to the lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are pleased you found our hotel "comfortable, warm and friendly" and you enjoyed our wonderful sea view. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The hotel is good, with most of the staff helpful and friendly, but for a few in the paragon restaurant in particular the worst by a far is veronica, it is not the customer fault if you are late for work, when you do turn up do some work it might help. The food for dinner is poor (more like yates, than 4 star hotel) and breakfast at best is ok.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations and we have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible. On the plus side, we are pleased you thought our hotel was good and our staff helpful and friendly. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
667 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#2 of 15 in Douglas
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £44 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing