We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Nearby Hotels
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Sefton Hotel(Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Regency Hotel(Douglas)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,100)
Filter reviews
1,100 results
Traveller rating
219
383
315
111
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
383
315
111
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparagon restaurantsea viewsmall balconyisle of mandouglas baypoached eggssea frontplenty of choicekippersshort breakevening mealrestaurant staffbit datedbar foodenjoyable staygood nights sleepbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
895 - 900 of 1,100 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during our vacation on the Isle of Man. While the room was convenient to transportation and overlooked Douglas Bay, the staff's poor attitude and total incompetence negated anything the room had to offer. Combine the terrible customer service with a filthy lobby, restaurants and restrooms and you get a hotel that you couldn't pay me to stay in again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are extremely sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. To enable us to address your feedback in more depth we should be grateful if you would contact our Hotel Manager on paul.forrest@seftongroup.co.im. Feedback, whether good or back, is vital to us as this is the only way we can address any potential problems. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

We came to the Isle ofMan for a quiet ROMANTIC weekend and had booked the suite in the Best Western.
Food was not included and one look at the menue did not inspire confidence, we ate elsewhere.

The suite 312 shares a room door, (locked) with the adjoining room 311, and on the Friday night the neighbouring teenage guest kept us entertained with their discussion about cuuuuuute Chris to such an extent, that they drowned out the TV. So we withdrew to our bedroom overlookibg the Casino, where we were treated to live music until 4 in the morning.
The same repeated itself the next evening minus 'cuuuuuuute Chris'. Romantic athmosphere? Yeah, right....
Apparently, when asked at the reception, we should have been told about this, the night porter was understanding, but nothing could be done.

What use is a nicely furnished suite under such circumstances?

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngharadWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and apologise for the noise problems you experienced during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Throughout the stay all staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. Room quite small by today's standards but are very clean and well equipped including tea / coffee making facilities (and what I was reliably informed was an iron and ironing board). Wide selection at breakfast, even approaching 10am.

Good central location on the promenade - short stroll into town or if you fancy a change from the hotel bars, the Queen's is only 5 minutes stroll along the seafront. Quite cosmopolitan and good selection of food.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a sea view, worth the upgrade
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glyn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are delighted you found our staff friendly and welcoming and your room clean and well equipped. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

When we arrived at this hotel we were a bit disappointed with the dated external appearance - could do with some maintenance and a lick of paint. However, the hotel was actually very good. It was a bit dated in places, but clean and comfortable and had excellent facilities/amenities. Overall the staff were friendly and helpful (although we did overhear a conversation between 2 receptionists criticising another member of staff, which wasn't very professional). We had a sea view room overlooking the bay which was a fantastic view, and the room was very clean and in good condition. The Paragon bar & restaurant were reasonably priced and generally pleasant, and the breakfast was fantastic. The main meals and bar snacks were also good, although the carvery was a bit pricey (but very nice too).

The only frustration we had was with the internet access - the wireless reception was near to useless (even when we sat right near to the wireless router in the bar), and the lack of wireless in the room was annoying - we, and many other guests, use iPads which can't make use of the cabled internet facilities in the rooms and so rely on wireless technology. In this day and age with increased use of mobile devices, it would not be unreasonable to expect a better wifi service.

Overall, we were very happy with this hotel and its facilities, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smudgieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review following your stay with us. We are hoping to start some renovation work to the external appearance of the building in the near future which hopefully will address your comments. We are pleased you found the hotel clean and comfortable, with excellent facilities/amenities. We have noted your comments with regard to internet access. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Hotel clean service very good outside of hotel could do with painting. A bit of a walk to shops. Overall a good hotel, comfortable rooms dining room service very good. Casino staff also very helpful. No complaints.

Room Tip: rooms at front have a sea view rooms at back just view of car park
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourwire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are pleased you found your room clean and comfortable and our staff helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews