We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably past its prime”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The reception at the rear of the hotel is at the end of the car park and in need of a lick of paint at least!
Excelent staff
The rooms at the back of the hotel over look the car park and are noisy
Due to the location of the air conditioning units.
Rooms have what you need but not large, book breakfast included or its
£10.95 CONTINENTAL £12,95 Full English
Overall acceptable no 5 star.
A £5 casino voucher was included for a little gamble if you are so inclined

Room Tip: Pay the extra 10 pounds and have a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ducker450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding our "excellent staff". We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

724 - 730 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

Bright spacious room; attentive / friendly staff; great leisure facilities and we already knew the food there was good. :-)

Now for the biggest issue :-( Our room had a radiator in it, that spanned the whole length of the window. The problem was, it would not turn off and by the time we wanted to get some sleep the room was boiling. Naturally we opened the window.
Next problem, there is a bar / club and Casino in this place, so the traffic (mostly drunken people - which to be fair, is not their fault!) was constant and continued to wake us up every 20 mins or so; And we were already on the top floor!

Night 2 - we asked housekeeping to come and help us turn the radiator off. A lovely man came to our rescue and apologised - only 20 mins after he left the radiator was hotter than ever!!

After 2 night of broken / sleepless nights we went home for a rest. Shame really, as this place has the makings of a great getaway - they just need to focus on fixing their radiators and providing sound proof windows! :-(

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a 'Sea View' room instead - although the door to the nightclub is at the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you encountered a problem with your radiator - please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused. I have spoken to our Maintenance Manager who has promised to look into this as a matter of urgency. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and we hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

If you value any sleep on a Saturday night, do not stay. Especially don't bother with a de-luxe room with an interconnecting door. The noise level made sure we had little sleep. Does the hotel have a special rate for groups of youngsters to have binge/gambling weekends? If so, then you should bear this in mind. A real pity.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Thank you for submitting feedback following your stay with us. I am sorry that your sleep was disrupted on Saturday night - I am sure you can appreciate it is not always easy for us to monitor the noise generated from other guests. Please note that our club, Tahiko, is open on Friday and Saturday nights only. If you are travelling to the Island again in the future please do give us another try. My apologies again for any inconvenience caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Positives:
Location
Car parking.
Staff seemed friendly.

Negatives:
A very tired hotel that needs huge investment but there is no excuse for it not being clean and it wasn't!
The room was dirty, filthy skirting boards, hairs on the tea tray, toilet paper on floor in bathroom.
In the restaurant a chair was pulled out for my wife to sit on and it was filthy with cereal all over, the plastic menu cover was just stained with cup rings.
The bedroom was very small.
Noise was a major problem on second night from a function in the hotel, considering we were on fourth floor it must have been hell on the lower floors. Then woken at 5am by a sort of high pitched noise that may have been water in radiators but whatever it was successfully ended our nights sleep!
People leaving Casino throughout the night are not the quietest people but if you stay at hotel with Casino that's to be expected.
This is a sister hotel to The Sefton, which itself has reviews saying its tired, but having been there for dinner and seen the place especially the atrium I think I would take a gamble!
I tried to change which as Sefton had rooms and is owned by same people I thought would be simple to keep a customer satisfied, but no! I was told it was impossible because I had booked via booking.com, if I owned them both and wanted to keep a customer satisfied I would have made sure it got done. It was before we checked in, as on way I got a phone call saying I wouldn't like this hotel and I should try to move!!
The whole place just feels very tired and grubby! I now have to spend a lot of time in IoM but not here and with them obviously not interested in keeping a customer it's doubtful it will be at Sefton either.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean one where noise won't affect you, not sure they have one but worth asking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are surprised and sorry to hear your comments regarding your room and will raise this with our Housekeeping staff as a matter of urgency. The Sefton Hotel and the Palace are indeed owned by the same Company however are traded as separate entities and therefore when booking via third parties with varying rates it is not possible to move guests between the two hotels. Both hotels are very different in style and perhaps in hindsight the Sefton would have been more suited to you. We hope next time you visit the Island you will consider staying at the Sefton - please email me once you have made your reservation and I will ensure that you see the Group at its best. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Situated close to all amenities a 4 star hotel rooms are OK and buffet breakfast is good and generous. Staff are not very friendly although they did what was expected. Douglas is a good base from which to explore the Island and all it's attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit feedback following your stay with us. We are sorry to hear your comment regarding our staff however I would respond by saying such feedback is very rare as we do pride ourselves in our customer service. On the positive side, we are pleased you enjoyed your breakfast and as you say the hotel is situated close to all amenities and is a good base from which to explore the Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel. It also provides free parking. However, it doesn't seem to have changed at all since it was run by Hilton. The front needs a clean/ lick of paint. The jacuzzi was out of action and by the sounds of it has been for a good while. The changing rooms were dirty. The room provided what we needed and was clean. Definitely worth paying more for a sea view.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. Yes, we agree you can't beat the location of our hotel plus the added advantage of free parking which is not always easy in Douglas. We are pleased you found your room clean although am sorry to hear your comments with regard to the changing room and the jacuzzi. A part is on its way for the jacuzzi which is being sent via Courier so hopefully this should be back up and running in the next day or two. In addition we do have a number of planned areas for refurbishment throughout the hotel this year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had our second annual dinner dance here and again the food was outstanding, the venue was clean and smart and the staff couldn't do enough to help. I don't have any comments about the rooms but for a formal dinner, you can't get better than this for a venue.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. It goes without saying that we are delighted to receive your positive feedback and really pleased that your annual dinner dance was such a success. We will pass your comments on to the staff concerned, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
653 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
398 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £43 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing