We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but not quite 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My daughter and I arrived late afternoon Friday 11th thought the hotel didn't look four star from outside. Receptionist was welcoming , got to the room quite big with a lovely seaview. There was a sliding door with small balcony ,which we thought was good. Unfortunately our room albeit on the third floor was right over the disco which was opened and very loud on both Friday and Saturday . The music blasted until silly o'clock. Then it was the noise of people chatting whilst waiting for taxis. Better sleep Sunday,thank goodness.
The bathroom was adequate but there was a push button to flush the toilet which needed the incredible hulk to make it work. We improvised by jamming a hair brush handle into the button and pushing a few times. However no complaints about breakfast very good and all staff were pleasant and courteous. Could have complained at the time but we were there to enjoy a wedding and meet family so didn't have the time.

Room Tip: Away from the disco but a sea view if possible and maybe 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 25pat47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for submitting feedback following your stay with us. On the plus side we are pleased you found our food very good and our staff pleasant and courteous. We are sorry that your sleep was disrupted on Friday and Saturday. We do make every effort to try and minimise the noise from our other guests but as you can appreciate this is not always easy. We have made a note of the faulty toilet flush and will ask our Maintenance Team to look into this - please accept our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

707 - 713 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for 10 days during the TT this year. It was part of the package that we got through our tour company, so it was not necessarily by choice.

The Hotel is in a very convenient spot, right on the Promenade in Douglas, with shops and restaurants a short walk away - the main shopping area in Douglas is about 15 mins walk down the Promenade. The down side of this, especially in TT week is noise from the road. Our room was also above the nightclub located on the ground floor, which meant we got a 'thump thump thump' noise from it travelling up the building (we were on the fourth floor) until around 3 in the morning. We also got the full effect of all the associated yelling and screaming from drunk patrons...

Our room was clean and tidy but small and very tired, and really no more than an average 3 star hotel (hand-held shower attachment!!!!). Being on the 4th floor we had a fantastic view of the promenade and the harbour which was a plus.The air recirculation/air conditioning system also did not seem to work, so when we shut the sliding door window (our only window) the room got very stuffy. Leaving it open at night just let more noise in...

The upside of the Palace is that the food, particularly in the Bar, is fantastic. We had many evenings sitting with a beer or wine and plates of great food there. The drinks and meals are reasonably priced and very tasty. Can't comment on the Restaurant proper, as we never felt the need to eat there, given how good the bar menu was and how friendly the bar staff were.

Our breakfast each day was a buffet arrangement with typical English choices, although the kitchen staff will also cater to special requests (kippers etc) The Service was very good, especially given the large number of people breakfasting each day (100+)

In overall terms the hotel looks a bit tired and desperately needs updating. The TT fortnight is the biggest event on the calendar for the IOM, followed closely by the Manx GP, with not much else other than these so it is probably not economic for them to do this for just one month per year. However, this is going to mean more past customers not looking to rebook in the future.

Room Tip: Sat as far away from the nightclub as possible!!! Ask for the Douglas end, rather than the Onchan e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alistair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your comprehensive and balanced feedback. On the plus side, we are pleased you found your room clean and our food and service very good. As you say, TT is a very busy period for us and the Island as a whole and as a result the hotel and surrounding area does tend to be a little noisier. We do make every effort to minimise the noise from our other guests although I am sure you can appreciate this is not always easy. We have plans for a number of improvements to the hotel in the coming months which hopefully will address some of the comments you have made. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed your visit to the Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Karin040
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just spent a long weekend at this hotel for my husbands birthday. We had a chosen a deluxe seaview room but when checking in we were upgraded to a suite which also had a sea view , this consisted of an extra sitting room with a standing balcony. There was also complimentary wine and bottled spring water. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, I was slightly worried that we might be disturbed by the music from the nightclub after reading previous reviews, however my husband and I had a very sound sleep all three nights. (maybe the complementary wine helped). The food at the hotel was very good, we an enjoyable steak dinner on the first night. The breakfast was excellent and we both ordered Manx kippers on our final morning at the hotel. We visited the casino the briefly for a bit of fun, We enjoyed listening to the singer/harpist in the restaurant bar on the sat evening. From the outside the hotel does look tired but inside the rooms are clean and comfortable, the restaurant has a panoramic view and excellent food. We also used the swimming pool, steam room and jacuzzi and found these facilities clean and in good state. The staff are very helpful and polite and we would return again to this hotel

Room Tip: Sea view room on the 3rd floor or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pigglet1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for submitting a review following your weekend with us and thank you for your positive comments. We are of course delighted to hear that your weekend was a success and you found your room clean and comfortable and our staff helpful and polite. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Hotel expecting a four star service. Check-in was prompt but no assistance was offered for our numerous bags. When we got to the hotel room we were greeted with a double aspect room. We had paid the extra for a suite, as this was a special time for us. We were disappointed in the size, bathroom and bedroom being rather small and pokey. The design of the bathroom left us bewildered, as you'd have to be small and slight to fit your legs between using the toilet and the bath. The room decor was acceptable being neutral, having a balcony was welcoming and the lounge area was of a good size. The noise levels which overlook the car park (back of hotel) wouldn't be certain of a good night's sleep of a Fri/Sat night due to the noise levels from people departing the hotel rather inebriated. Having the windows closed of a summertime is out of the question as there is no airconditioning in the rooms. The hotel in general is only just acceptable of four star (service, facilities, food). There are areas which smell rather dank and could do with a full refit. The breakfast was good, offering lots of choice from hot buffet to cereals and fresh fruit! I have eaten in the Paragon Restaurant which offers Carvery Meals everyday. The food is really rather good in the Evenings!! The Hotel Spa/Health Club is a great addition and complimentary to Hotel Residents.
The Casino was a good night out too, offering good food and different atmosphere to the other Bars within the Hotel, plenty going on, great for People Watching!
Overall, we did enjoy our stay but I wouldn't recommend paying the extra for a suite.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your comprehensive feedback. We are pleased overall you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the Health Club and spend an evening in the Casino. We do have a number of planned improvements due to be made to the hotel over the coming months which hopefully will address some of the comments you have made. Thank you again for your feedback and for chosing to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Last stayed here when it was branded Hilton probably 15-20 years ago, it's truly like nothing has changed. Rooms are good quality but smaller than you'd expect for this standard of hotel. Bathrooms are equally 'pokey' but both were immaculately clean.

Staff are polite and friendly. Breakfast is served in the restaurant with stunning views of the bay, food is buffet service and of a decent standard.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms cme at a modest premium it's worth the few pounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for submitting a review following your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff polite and friendly and your room to be of good quality and clean. We hope to welcome you back again in the future albeit a little sooner than the last visit of some15-20 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I had a two night stay in the Isle of Man and chose the Hotel because it was a Best Western.
This turned out to be a good decision!
I had gone for a Deluxe room as this guaranteed a 'sea view'.
The room was a good sized room with a comfy bed and a full sized 'picture window' with great views. The room was nice and clean, but I'm not one to go looking for dust or lifting sheets to examine the bedding. Outside there was a balcony where you could stand out with a cuppa and enjoy the sunset.
The bathroom is a little cramped but nevertheless had a good sized bath with shower over.
I didn't use the restaurant at night, for no other reason than like to take a walk and find somewhere to eat in the evenings. But breakfast was fine with a reasonable choice and hot buffet. I did get in there just as it opened and everything was fresh and hot. I don't know if this is the case if you visit after an hour or so of it opening, but everything was fine for me.
One big bonus is the Casino where on the second night, I spent a couple of hours. This is a good sized Casino with a good number of tables - I had expected a far smaller place!
The Blackjack Table had a minimum bet of £2 which is good when you just want to 'play for fun'.
So, all in all a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: The Deluxe rooms are worth the extra as they have Sea views, although take into acount that there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank xyzKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your comprehensive and balanced feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found the time to enjoy a night at our Casino ....we hope you had a successful evening! We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
666 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £43 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing