We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 8 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

First impression was that it was very expensive, but fellow travellers who stayed in inferior and less central hotels were not much cheaper. Just IOM rates i think.

Immaculately clean. Full English breakfast buffet included in the room rate.

Manx Kippers also available on request.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BarryDrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review ....needless to say we are delighted to receive a 5 star rating, thank you. We trust you enjoyed your "transport extravaganza weekend" here on the Isle of Man and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stay here more often out of necessity, rather than choice, but this week thankfully will be my last. It makes me wonder if I'm ever in the same hotel when I see such positive reviews. The Best thing this place has going for it are a number of staff, who seemingly just take all the criticism levied at the hotel as a given.
So where do I start? If you are given a room with an even number that means you will be at the back of the hotel where you will be situated above some very noisy air con units/extractors (these will be the only thing you see that involves any sort of air conditioning as it doesn't exist in the rooms other than opening your window a couple of inches to be presented with a night of noise. Sea view always comes with a premium, but Im not sure if you are paying to have the view or just to be away from the back of the hotel.
The hotel seems to spend more time tarting up the community areas rather than the rooms themselves, out of the two different rooms I have stayed in over the past two weeks, one has had the roof paintwork falling into the bath/shower, and the other has had a broken shower. You have a choice of scalding or cold once you get the thing to work and just be careful stepping out of the shower as you may find yourself stepping into the toilet.
Along with broken network fittings (the wifi whilst free wasn't working last week) the rooms offer little space and as a business traveler I would expect power points to be more than two and situated where they are as it becomes near on impossible to use the ironing facilities.
If you have a morning paper (whether paid for or included if you are a Best Western Rewards member) don't expect it to come in the morning, evening paper perhaps?
I can only echo the comments of another reviewer with regards to the breakfast... if you like your eggs, have them poached (excessively in vinegar) rather than having them fried beyond the state of that given out in a greasy truck stop.
I may be being overly critical but the hotel needs to be demolished and rebuilt if they really want to keep the Best Western branding (if you are a Diamond or Platinum Member do not expect any of the perks that come with being loyal to the brand). When you speak to a number of locals on the island they often laugh when you tell them you are staying in this hotel, such is its infamy.
The place is NOT worth the money. Stay here only if you need to.Or bring a tent

Room Tip: Try room 206 at the Empress...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thekentishtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, from which I am sorry to hear that we have fallen short of your expectations - please accept our apologies. We do review ALL feedback received and try, where possible, to address any issues raised - thank you for your comments and for your past custom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Booked for a weekend (Friday night to Monday morning). There is a night club on the ground floor that pounded out music until about 5am … our second story room vibrated with the noise! The poor sound insulation also meant that once the night club had finished, the drunks shouting on the beach ensured a complete absence of sleep. After suffering it for one night (we had requested a quiet room on booking!) we complained and were moved to the sister hotel, the Sefton, during the middle of the night. On Sunday the night club wasn't open and we were given a superior room at the far end of the third floor by way of compensation - but even here the poor sound insulation meant one could hear people talking in adjacent rooms and the corridor. The staff were helpful and charming, the facilities fine, the food good, the decor a bit tired but okay, the free car park a big plus … overall, though, the noise issue is such a serious one that you might get more rest by sleeping in a bus shelter, the back seat of your car, or a hotel far away from this one!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel … or if you must choose this one, get a room on the highest available level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

I read with regret your review ..... I am really sorry to hear that your sleep was disrupted over the weekend. We are constantly looking at ways to reduce the noise made by our other guests and will continue to look for a solution. On the plus side we are pleased you found our staff helpful and the facilities fine. My apologies again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I booked this hotel for me and my fiancé as I had stayed here before about 20 years ago and at that time it was excellent. Unfortunately I can't say the same this time.

Fortunately for us we didn't stay in the hotel too much during the 3 night stay we was there, using it only as a place to sleep and for breakfast.

We booked a sea view room with a balcony. First impressions were not good. While the sea can be seen not much else on the promenade can be. Directly below the balcony (second floor room) there was the overhang to the hotel frontage which restricted a lot of the view. The balcony walls and general structure were crumbling and had bits of concrete missing. There was a scaffold pole left just below the balcony and the overhang was littered with many hundreds of cigarette ends obviously from people who chose to smoke on the balcony and couldn't care less where they discarded their rubbish.

The room was tidy enough but tired and dated. There is only one spare electric point in the room.

We had an interesting time trying to fill the bath. We turned the bath tap on and the shower came on. There was no way to turn the the bath taps on at all. Therefore the bath was filled using the shower.

We decided to eat in the dinning room the first evening. It was a car very buffet which was warm at best and fairly tasteless. We didn't have an evening meal there again during our stay

Breakfast in the morning was good. There was a very good selection on offer but I have to say that it is the first time in all my years of staying in hotels that I have seen deep fried eggs. Needless to say I didn't have any lol. There were items that you could order for breakfast as well such as porridge oats and Manx kippers.

It was nice to see that the hotel had two cash machines with free withdrawal but unfortunately either of them worked during our stay. When I queried this with reception staff I was directed to the local shop that had a withdrawal charge. No mention of the free machines in the town centre.

During our stay the payphone and cigarette machine was also out of order. I have to say that this didn't affect us but a hotel of this stature should not have these shortfalls.

We stayed on a Saturday night and unfortunately the nightclub was just below our room. We were 'entertained' in our room until 3am!!!!!

All in all the hotel was disappointing but we did not let this spoil our trip to the beautiful Isle of Man.

Room Tip: If you want a sea view room I would request a room above the 3rd floor. If staying on a Saturday y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review although we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. You have raised a number of valid points and we will look to address these where possible. I am sorry your sleep was disturbed on Saturday. Our nightclub is open on a Friday and Saturday, and despite our best efforts it is not always possible to monitor the noise from our other guests. Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

It think this is the only hotel on the Island with a spa which is why we chose it. The sauna, steam, jacuzzi and pool were all excellent and we were in there at least once a day.
The public corridors downstairs are a bit sad but our bedroom was very comfortable and I loved the bathroom taps! The bedroom and bathroom were kept spotless by the cleaners.
We asked for a quiet room and certainly got that - once we realised that shutting the window did cut out all the noise from the late night revellers in the car park.
Breakfast was good - excellent bacon - and no rush to leave which was good as I ended up checking my e.mails there every morning (no WiFi upstairs unless you connect to something complicated). We didn't eat in the hotel in the evenings as there are so many interesting restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are a bit bigger I think (2 chairs and coffee table extra), standard rooms are probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities in our Health Club and a copy of your review has been forwarded to our Health Club Manager. As always, it is appreciated when guests comment on the cleanliness of the rooms and our food - such feedback is always appreciated. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 15 in Douglas
641 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 15 in Douglas
196 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £52 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Douglas, the Island's capital, BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel and Casino is the Island's leading entertainment and leisure complex combining a quality 4-star hotel with the Island's only licensed Casino and nightclub, a Bingo and Slots lounge, health club, bars and restaurants and a two-screen cinema. During the weekend guests can enjoy a lively and dynamic atmosphere. This is the place to be if you want a quality hotel, a convenient location and entertainment on your doorstep! The hotel provides parking onsite, nominal charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Palace Hotel And Casino
Best Western Palace Hotel Douglas
Hilton Hotel Douglas
Hilton International Douglas
Hilton Douglas
Douglas Hilton
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing