We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Nearby Hotels
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
US$148
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sefton Hotel(Douglas)
US$149
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$197
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Rutland Hotel(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
US$128
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Regency Hotel(Douglas)
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,092)
Filter reviews
1,092 results
Traveller rating
218
379
315
110
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
379
315
110
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparagon restaurantsea viewsmall balconyisle of mandouglas baypoached eggssea frontplenty of choicekippersshort breakevening mealrestaurant staffbit datedbar foodenjoyable staygood nights sleepbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
707 - 712 of 1,092 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have just returned from the Palace Casino Hotel, on first arrival from the outside this did not look very inviting in need of TLC on the outside but once inside was a different story well appointed bedroom very clean all you would need for a comfortable stay. The food also was very good plenty of choice with helpful staff. The only thing missing was entertainment in the evening a nice bar but nothing else unless you like a gamble then there was a good casino, we only were there midweek so the nightclub was closed but we are not of the age group to have used it anyway. It was my first visit to the Isle Of Man and I can say what I saw of the Island was very nice the horse drawn trams were good and the electric train up Snaifell well worth a visit. I found the beach at Douglass very disappointing not a beach to sit on really.We went to Port Erin where the beach there is sandy, it was very quiet for the time of year everywhere we visited possibly a reflection of the times but such a shame as a very pretty Island try the steam train trip is stepping back in time and worth doing. All in all I enjoyed the whole visit from the ferry crossing and back hopefully this Island will not go down the same path as so many of our holiday resorts as it such a lovely little place with friendly people, so go on give it a try and help to keep it a place to see and enjoy.

Room Tip: perhaps stay clear of the weekends as I have heard this hotel can be noisy but when I went it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are pleased you found your room clean and comfortable and our staff helpful. We note it was your first visit to the Isle of Man ....as you say the Island is lovely and very pretty and it was good that you were able to sample some of our attractions. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed here on a sports tour and was impressed with various things.
Location - excellent for town, beach and touring
Service- welcoming and dealt with younger tourers well
Cleaning- tidy rooms, some general areas tired
Nice and quiet, 3.5 rating...not quite a 4!

Downside was price and quality of food, but not enough to spoil the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CarricktoRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for submitting a review from which we are pleased to note you found our hotel clean and welcoming. Thank you for chosing to stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My partner booked this hotel prior to checking Tripadvisor, and when we read the reports after we were horrified and tried to cancel, we couldn't. Anyway we arrived at 1130pm Thurs,no one working on reception but a quick call and a very pleasant man came and gave us our keys. Room no.315 seaview, clean ,good size and very pleasant.Friday we went to wedding got back 130am yes you could here the noise from the nightclub in the corridor but not in our room. Saturday we had a snack in the bar very friendly staff and good portion. Staff on reception very helpful and friendly. Saturday night we got in 11pm no noise could be heard in room. Sunday we had Sunday car very in hotel restaurant staff excellent and food lovely , help yourself carvery. All in all a very enjoyable stay, yes the place needs a lick of paint here and there and I certainly wouldn't want a room nearer the nightclub but speak as you find we couldn't fault the hotel or the staff. 10 min walk from town centre, gym and pool decent.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Seansanchezprestatyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your review and thank you for chosing to stay with us, despite your initial concerns. Thank you also for your comments regarding and helpful and friendly staff - such feedback is always appreciated. We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I like to review hotels if there is something I can add but found this one difficult as most has been said before and although comments come from both ends of the spectrum most are correct.

So In summary:-

The Hotel is about a twenty minute walk from the ferry terminal and the centre of Douglas along the prom. The outside of the hotel is grotty, main reception is at the rear which is actually on the first floor but accessible from street level. Inside is acceptable (needs a bit of TLC). All of the hotel is very clean. The staff are very friendly indeed. Our 2nd floor sea view room was OK, see photos from taken from room, everything worked except the remote (battery), Cheap single beds, bathroom good. Noise from Disco bad but as windy outside opened patio type window and listened to the wind instead. Breakfast poor but edible. Over priced but so is the whole of the Isle of Man. .Spent two nights there and enjoyed the whole experience but unlikely to revisit the I.O.M.

Room Tip: If staying on a Friday or Saturday night ask for a room on the 4th floor away from the disco (rooms to the left of the hotel when viewing from the sea front) and book early to get one.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank waterfronteye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are pleased you found our hotel clean and our staff friendly and that overall you enjoyed your visit to the Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel is quite dated and feels as though it could benefit from some refurbishment. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. We had a problem with the toilet flushing continuously (room 211) but they were aware of this and trying to fix it even before we reported it. To my knowledge though, it still was not fixed when we left as the same thing kept re-occurring. The staff were very kind and allowed us to take early breakfast on the Sunday because I was running in the marathon. The view from our room was amazing, just a shame we had to make do with twin beds as all the doubles had gone. The things that let the hotel down are the noise and the internet service and the one thing that left a very bad taste was being charged £8 for two bottles of water at 5.30am and this was not from room service, this was from reception. Bottled water comes complimentary in the majority of hotel we stay in so this was a real shocker and together with the relentless thudding bass sound from the nightclub underneath until after 3.00am it certainly put us off coming back to this hotel in future.

Room Tip: Sea Views are amazing but there is a nightclub underneath so beware, try to choose a room as far away from the nightclub as possible. Sunday night was a good nights sleep because we presume the nightclub was closed.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DansworksDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for submitting feedback following your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful although sorry to hear you had problems with your toilet flush ...I understand this problem has now been resolved. Your comments regarding the bottled water have been noted and taken on board. We hope you were successful in your marathon and overall we hope you enjoyed your stay on the Isle of Man.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews