We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Regency Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
216
378
315
109
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
216
378
315
109
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparagon restaurantsea viewsmall balconyisle of mandouglas baypoached eggssea frontplenty of choicekippersshort breakevening mealrestaurant staffbit datedbar foodenjoyable staygood nights sleepbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet and bar food. Recommended if you want to use the gym, pool or sauna. Well positioned if you like long walks on the seafront. If coming again I would take or hire a car.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Davron100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for submitting a review - it is pleasing to note that you found your stay good value. As you say, hiring a car is a good idea as it makes it easier to explore the rest of our lovely Island. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We booked the room from a local hotel reception we were not happy to stay in. The reception staff were apologetic that they could not give us the room of our choice! Lovely spacious clean room. Restaurant staff friendly and extremely helpful. Became a plus member of Best Western because of the service here. Would return any day. Reception staff are just the sort of people you want to speak to whether you are happy with the service or not, very competent and efficient. Especially fond of Jo, she made us feel special and showed interest in us.

Room Tip: Would choose any day over any other local hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue39Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for submitting a review and for your very positive comments, in particular those relating to our staff and the level of service provided. Feedback of this nature is really appreciated and your comments have been forwarded to the relevant members of staff and indeed placed on the noticeboard for all to see. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have just returned from the Palace Casino Hotel, on first arrival from the outside this did not look very inviting in need of TLC on the outside but once inside was a different story well appointed bedroom very clean all you would need for a comfortable stay. The food also was very good plenty of choice with helpful staff. The only thing missing was entertainment in the evening a nice bar but nothing else unless you like a gamble then there was a good casino, we only were there midweek so the nightclub was closed but we are not of the age group to have used it anyway. It was my first visit to the Isle Of Man and I can say what I saw of the Island was very nice the horse drawn trams were good and the electric train up Snaifell well worth a visit. I found the beach at Douglass very disappointing not a beach to sit on really.We went to Port Erin where the beach there is sandy, it was very quiet for the time of year everywhere we visited possibly a reflection of the times but such a shame as a very pretty Island try the steam train trip is stepping back in time and worth doing. All in all I enjoyed the whole visit from the ferry crossing and back hopefully this Island will not go down the same path as so many of our holiday resorts as it such a lovely little place with friendly people, so go on give it a try and help to keep it a place to see and enjoy.

Room Tip: perhaps stay clear of the weekends as I have heard this hotel can be noisy but when I went it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are pleased you found your room clean and comfortable and our staff helpful. We note it was your first visit to the Isle of Man ....as you say the Island is lovely and very pretty and it was good that you were able to sample some of our attractions. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed here on a sports tour and was impressed with various things.
Location - excellent for town, beach and touring
Service- welcoming and dealt with younger tourers well
Cleaning- tidy rooms, some general areas tired
Nice and quiet, 3.5 rating...not quite a 4!

Downside was price and quality of food, but not enough to spoil the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CarricktoRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceHotelManager, Manager at Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for submitting a review from which we are pleased to note you found our hotel clean and welcoming. Thank you for chosing to stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews