We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stag night weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stag night weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

17 of us stayed here, lovely hotel, very understanding staff!!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philwyn71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    192
    122
    55
    30
See reviews for
76
238
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northumberland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

The management are very accommodating. Gave us an early check in, great when travelling with elderly parents. Great breakfast. Lovely atrium rooms.

Room Tip: Atrium room are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Stayed here on business for two nights. I had one of the atrium rooms which was spacious and very comfortable however the shower in the bathroom was in a corner over a tiny shower tray with a pair of cling-on curtains and water pressure somewhat erratic. Also there was a rather strange odour in the bathroom - like a blocked drain!
Reception staff were friendly and helpful unlike the staff in 'Norman's' bar. I think Norman would have had something to say about the lack of service and poor quality of food in the bar - it seriously lets down the rest of the hotel!
Overall impression - average and a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

In August my husband and i stayed at the Sefton Hotel in the Hillary suite for an anniversary weekend. On arriving from the airport our first impressions of the hotel were stunning, our suite was beautifully furnished and had stunning views overlooking the sea. We ate in Sir Norman's Bar where the staff were friendly, helpful and the food delicious and found the whole experience really enjoyable. I have never been to the Isle of Man before but will be going back again and will book the Sefton Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McDonald65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
334 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

Have stayed at Sefton on many occasions and have to say that the standrads have slipped over the past few years. For the island, the prices are top end but not with top end service you would get on mainland.

The food in Sir Normans is absolutely extortionate and have come to the conclusion the chef has shares in a pea farm The plates are 50% peas. Definitely not 4* food.

Stood in the bar 1 night and overheard the staff slating evryone that came in.

Every time I visit, there is always someting out of order in the leisure facilities. last time it was closed, time before that the sauna was broken, time before that it was the spa.

4* hotel and no air conditioning in red hot rooms. Very poor!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liamshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds UK
Level Contributor
227 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

Hotel is right on the seafront.try and get a sea view room. Clean and gradually being modernised.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandPCotswoldsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Previously we stayed in a suite but this time we were travelling with three other couples and decided to try an atrium room instead. We were very impressed and loved the rooms. The staff were brilliant and nothing was a problem, very kind and helpful. The food was delicious and the sweets chef was not only a brilliant cook but also a lovely lady. If we were trying to find a complaint the only thing I can think of is that there wasn't enough drawer space in the room, but that would not put us off. We were even given a reduction in the price because there was a wedding on the weekend and they thought it might be a bit noisey. My husband and I will be back and our friends have said the same.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JClaireHerefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Property: Sefton Hotel
Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing