We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you need”
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed here 3 nights on business. The hotel is ideally located. I stayed in Atrium room which I have to say can get pretty warm even on a chilly November night. Some parts are a little outdated but the room was a great size and has everything you need.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcmTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    197
    123
    57
    32
See reviews for
81
241
27
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We booked the Sefton through Steampacket holidays, an excellent weekend deal where we paid the extra to bring our car and also for a Seaview room. Our first visit to IOM, the hotel is very impressive if a little dated and in need of a bit of refurbishment in parts however the atrium side is brand new and everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel . Our sea view room was adequate and a decent size and the views over the bay were lovely and the standard of cleanliness very good, however some of the furniture and fittings as I have said were a little dated.
Breakfast was almost faultless ,if I am going to be picky the poached eggs were overdone but a top class experience with good service.
Cannot comment on the main restaurant,we ate in Sir Norman's bar and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. Did not have drinks there apart from a bottle of wine which was average priced.
Viewed the swimming pool area which looked lovely although I did not use it as we were only there two nights.
All in all an excellent hotel and overall experience and we shall return in the summer and maybe try an atrium room on our next visit

Room Tip: Our seaview room was lovely though a little old fashioned we will try an atrium room on our next vis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenrysmumEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

The Sefton Hotel on the promenade at Douglas, the island’s capital, could not be better situated. It is close to the main shopping streets, commands fantastic views across the beautiful crescent-shaped bay, and has a private, secure car park to the rear. It adjoins the splendid Gaiety Theatre, lovingly restored in recent years to architect Frank Matcham’s original Victorian design and décor and, just a few yards further along, under the covered Colonnade, the Villa Marina entertainment and conferencing centre is to be found.

There is a choice of stylish suites and rooms from front facing the sea to the more modern balconied rooms in the magnificent atrium to the rear. All rooms are well appointed and maintained to a high standard and guests are provided with all of the in-room facilities one would normally expect in a 5* establishment. However, in our standard doubles, the shower cubicle was quite small so this is a point well worth checking before booking in. On the positive side, the beds are very comfortable so a good night’s rest is assured.

The Fountains pool and fitness centre in the basement is both attractive and well equipped. It offers the opportunity to visitors to shed a few of those added pounds gained from eating in Sir Norman’s Bar (named after former Island resident, Sir Norman Wisdom) and the excellent Galleries Restaurant, with its two Rosettes (held for the past three years). The breakfasts, served in the Harris Restaurant on the first floor, are simply wonderful.

The staff in the hotel are well trained and welcoming. Check in and check out are speedy, hassle free experiences and advice is always readily on offer to those wishing to explore all that this island has to offer.

All in all, a great place to stay where management places so much importance on the provision of first class customer service.

Room Tip: Speak to the Reception to make sure your specific needs are met before you decide on a room or suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manxtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

As frequent visitors to the Isle of Man we were familiar with the Sefton as we have regularly had a nightcap or two in their bar, Sir Normans. Drinks are a little expensive as you would expect in a hotel bar but the bar food is good and reasonably priced. Having seen an offer on the steam packet website we were excited to be staying at this hotel.

We took our car so the underground car park was very convenient and included in the price. We had chosen not to pay the extra £20 or £15 a night for the sea or atrium rooms and opted for a standard room. I would agree with some other reviewers that the room was spacious and clean but that the décor was very tired and out of date. It felt a bit shabby to be honest especially the battered coffee table and bedding.

We travelled with my Aunt & Uncle who asked to be moved when they arrived at their room as there was an air conditioning unit or vent of some description outside their window. The second room they were taken to was the same so they were upgraded to a room with a balcony overlooking the atrium. Their room was smaller than ours but the décor was newer and fresher. The only complaint they had was that the people in the next room liked to sit out on their balcony late at night and that it disturbed their sleep.

The hotel is very well located on the sea front at Douglas. It is close to the shops and bars and the sea view was lovely as we ate our breakfast. The breakfast was exceptional and so was the service. Probably the best part of the whole stay, it really set us up for the day. My Uncle had Manx kippers everyday and said they were amazing.

My Aunt and I were very keen to try the spa. As we walked in it looked as lovely as it did on the website and the pool, although quite small, looked very inviting. We were given towels by a young man wearing ipod earphones and went into the changing room where there were lockers for our belongings. The pool was freezing cold, I got goosebumps and had to get out. My Aunt braved it a little longer than me but admitted defeat after a few lengths. We decided to try the jacuzzi which was warm but not working. Before we left we went into the sauna, also not working so we used the steam room instead. We mentioned to the lad manning the desk that we found the pool too cold and he said that the water was 27 degrees but couldn't be any hotter because of the chemicals.

Overall I thought the hotel was nice but fell short of it's 4 start rating and I doubt we would stay there again but we certainly will be back to Sir Norman's.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the atrium could be a little noisy but they are worth paying the little bit extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgnorthWinterfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed here during the Commonwealth Youth Games for a week. The room didn't have anything to rave about, but it was quiet which was nice as every night we were exhausted and needed our rest! We ate breakfast and dinner here everyday and the food was well done although if we were ordering a la carte, a bit pricey! (our meals were catered during this time). The wait staff were always on the ball. The front desk staff asked something to be desired for though.

The shower was really really small and the curtain didn't reach down to the bottom of the shower so water got everywhere in the bathroom. :( The hotel is a little worn and yes, for a hotel of this caliber they should be getting rid of the old bedspreads and switching to duvets with duvet covers. WiFi was reliable. The pool downstairs was COLD but the sauna was nice and hot (for real).

Our room faced the indoor garden with a nice little balcony ... but be careful of the noise you make as it echos through the whole atrium!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a romantic weekend away and can recommend the Sefton as a great location.

The hotel is ideally situated at the middle of the promenade so you are walking distance to the shops and bars.

The reception staff were polite and efficient and our deluxe double room was fabulous - spacious and well equipped with a lovely ensuite. The only downside is that the hotel doesn't have air conditioning so the room can get rather warm!

Car parking was available on site at no extra charge, although it is on a first come first served basis and is on the small side. Having said that, we had no problems parking our car at any time over the weekend.

The breakfasts were plentiful and the staff friendly and helpful.

We ate in the Sir Norman's bar where the atmosphere is more relaxed and casual. The food was reasonably priced and delicious and the staff again were friendly and helpful. In particular, the Duty Manager, Marcus was extremely attentive to the customers and made you feel very welcome and at home - he even remembered our drinks order the following evening - personal service you don't often see these days.

We will definitely return for another perfect weekend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Came to the IOM with family for a few days as we had never been and picked the Sefton from their website. Check in was easy and we got all the information we needed. The only negative was the car park was full as it is quite small but we were asked to leave our keys and the car would be parked for us when a space came free. We had a family room which was more than big enough for the four of us. We had dinner in Sir Normans the first night and in was surprised at the staff having checked previous reviews they were not as others have said. They never stopped and were polite and friendly. Even telling us where to go with the kids and places to visit. Give it a try if you like Norman Wisdom films! My wife and I ate in the Gallery on our last night as a treat. I could not fault the service at all and the food is out of this world if just a little over our budget but we enjoyed it. The indoor garden is a hidden surprise although we heard it can be loud at night sometimes. All in all the island is lovely and the Sefton is in our opinion a great hotel. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Property: Sefton Hotel
Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing