We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sefton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
US$173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Regency Hotel(Douglas)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
212
231
143
68
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
231
143
68
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatrium roomnorman wisdomsir normansgrand hotelisle of manthe harbour lights restaurantswimming poolbalcony overlookingseparate showercar parkbreakfast roomgaiety theatrelovely hotelduty managerbar foodbreakfast staffdouglas bay
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We spent quite a bit of time trying to chose a good hotel in Douglas, Isle of Man and The Sefton looked a little tired but it claimed to be 4 star with a decent restaurant so we thought we would give it a go. The hotel is very tired and whilst that may be understandable, the cleanliness of carpets in common areas and overall smell of 'carpets in need of a clean', did not give a great impression. We were going to eat in the 2 rosette restaurant but after walking in to view, once again that overall musty smell. The bedroom was quite nice on the atrium side but the shower was tiny with a clingy shower curtain which (once again) could have done with a wash as we could smell the shower curtain in the bedroom. The pool was shut (broken filter) and when we asked when it would re-open, the reception staff were unable to advise. Very disappointing as this was another reason we booked the hotel. Staff generally were very pleasant but very telling that on check out they don't ask if everything had been OK during your stay. Our advice would be save your money and check in to a smaller B & B - we are just annoyed we fell for the 4 star marking. We were only there for 2 days so no real point making a complaint as not sure what they could have done to improve our stay

Room Tip: Atrium rooms are more modern but very warm as they have balconies to an enclosed area. Didn't seem to be any natural ventilation
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LedfordP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Stayed here during my visit to IOM for 6 nights in May 2012, I got a sea view room which was huge with great bed and huge bathroom.The view from the room was great and it was very relaxing as the window was next to the bed. the staff are nice and friendly and it is small walk to the shopping places in IOM. The other best thing about the hotel is the breakfast is excellent and very fresh.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view room on the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrynaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Our room was one of atrium ones and was furnished in a comfortable, modern style. We appreciated the balcony sitting area as well as the sofa in the room. The free wi-fi was also handy. Perhaps the only criticism of the room’s facilities might come from guests who, like me, are “generously proportioned” and find the shower cubicle to be quite small.

The public rooms could do with a bit of modernising . In particular, the Gallery restaurant seems stuck in something of a time-warp (and, in truth, so is its food, on the experience of having dinner there one night). Sir Norman’s is much more pub than 4* hotel bar but the food is decent pub grub. Have to say, though, that the best food of our trip was at the Abbey at Ballasalla – well worth the journey if you have a car (although possibly not worth a 20 minute taxi ride cost). In town, Tanroagan serves excellent seafood and is well worth a visit (it was packed and we were glad we’d made a reservation).

Breakfast is buffet style. I’m not usually a big fan of hotel buffets but this was one of the better ones – although the bacon is that poor quality stuff that ends up covered in white scum when its cooked. Not nice!

We’d brought our car with us and the hotel has a number of spaces in an underground garage but they do get filled up quickly and it’s not guaranteed you’ll get a space (one night we had to park on the street).

One point to mention is that the hotel is a popular wedding venue and one was taking place in the atrium on the Saturday. It meant that, from mid afternoon to late evening, it was very noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Our initial experience was seriously disappointing as our deluxe sea facing bedroom and bathroom was really not up to standard for a decent guest house, far less a 4 star hotel, however when we contacted the front desk they immediately let us see another room overlooking the atrium which was lovely. We throughly enjoyed the peace and the small balcony overlooking the atrium. We really felt that this difference between the rooms was typical of the whole hotel. It's almost like two hotels, with the atrium rooms being far the nicest and yet slightly cheaper! The two hotel feel continues downstairs with a fairly upmarket restaurant to one side and a pretty tacky bar 'The Sir Norman' on the other side.
There are some positives however, the staff were excellent, the food in both the restaurant and the 'pub' was good and we enjoyed our atrium balcony, all the fun of sitting out even in the rain!

Room Tip: ask for the atrium, forget sea views.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toniShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights. Room immaculately clean throughout stay, bathroom spacious with bath, shower and bidet. Lots of hot water and towel rail always hot. Lots of space including a sofa and a couple of chairs, 2 desks. Beds comfy, sheets and blankets not duvets. Agree with other reviewers, the hotel is tired in places, our 2 chairs were fit for the bin they were so sagged! And on slightly warm nights a fan was essential and was provided in the room. While we were there the weather was cool, fortunately as the windows are blocked from opening wide due to the height!

Breakfast selection and quality is superb, try the smoked haddock and poached eggs - yum!

Location is fantastic, next to the shopping street and the Gaeity theatre. Tours of the theatre every Saturday morning at 10am worth doing as the interior is superb. We went to a play (39 steps) and also a virtuoso performance on the recently restored Wurlitzer organ in the Villa Marina (2 doors down from the hotel)

Just next door is Davison's Ice Cream parlour - excellent coffee too! They have shops in Peel and Port Erin too.

Given a 4 not a 5 as we booked a 1st floor room and were given a 4th floor one without explanation or apology and despite raising this several times the manager was never around, in a meeting, not in today etc etc and so no real explanation was forthcoming. AS our room was comfortable we didn't press the issue further.

Most of the staff are Polish with good English but have little local knowledge which we found frustrating. Room service fast and friendly. Popular Sir Norman's bar with TV and a friendly crowd.

Never did get into the swimming pool, there is a gym and beauty therapy room downstairs.

Car park worth using as most on street is 2 hours max during the day.

Room Tip: Sea View worth having. Traffic noise may be an issue for some.They do special offers every so often of DBB at a good price.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Upferyertea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews