We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four stars a bit of a stretch”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Four stars a bit of a stretch”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

There are not many good places to stay on the Isle of Man and the Sefton is reputedly the best hotel. The Sea view rooms are perfectly fine, clean, reasonably well appointed with good views as you would expect. The rooms overlooking the atrium I would avoid, particularly at the weekend when they hold events there and they can be very noisy. Service is pleasant, but not terribly efficient, I dislike small lifts so had to carry my suitcase up four steep flights of stairs. The buffet breakfast is very average (lots of tinned fruit and cooked breakfast drying out on the hotplate) and upstairs the public areas are looking scruffy, frayed carpets and chipped paint. Also be aware it is often difficult to park on Friday or Saturday night, so get to the hotel car park early if you can and drive a very small car, the spaces are tiny!

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Optimusprime100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    197
    123
    57
    32
See reviews for
81
241
27
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, ENG
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I booked one night for two in a twin 'executive' room at the Sefton after my customer (who is based on the Isle of Man) recommended the hotel as 'one of the best on the island'. Well, I wouldn't like to stay in the worst! Although fairly clean, the Sefton is really tired and quite dirty in places, with the rooms desperately in need of complete overhaul.
The room itself was a good size, with inbuilt wardrobes, trouser press and ironing board, but the TV was obscured from the beds by a tiny sofa (the TV didn't actually offer any clear channels anyway, so this wasn't really a problem). The beds were very flimsy and could me moved with a single finger if pushed hard, although the mattresses were comfy.
The in-room Wi-Fi was useless - VERY slow and only lasted for 15/20 minutes before you had to log in and start the long-winded process again. Viewing things on iPlayer/YouTube etc is completely out of the question as it constantly buffers due to the slow speeds.
The bathroom was spacious and clean, although the shower alternated between the correct temperature and scalding hot as and when it fancied.

We booked a B&B rate, so in the morning we wandered down to the 1st floor restaurant for breakfast.
Both my colleague and I went for the full English, which is arranged as a buffet. The food was excellent - in fact one of the very best hotel breakfasts I've ever had! Shame we only had a limited time before having to hit the road, as I'd have happily gone back for seconds!

Other minor complaints include a very odd smell throughout most of the hotel - rather like someone was cooking a few days ago and the smell had permeated the carpets etc - very odd, but not pleasant.
The lift nearest to our room was also out of action throughout the stay. Never managed to find the swimming pool, so can't comment on that. The bar doesn't accept cards, so if you want a few drinks, make sure you have cash on you.

Overall, not bad for an overnight stop for business and I'm sure this would be a lovely hotel if refurbished throughout, but I wouldn't choose to stay again in it's current state I'm afraid.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room. The others either face onto a dirty back/side street or internal courtyards, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Supposedly the best hotel on the island,it could learn a lot from a Premier Inn, not a 4 star hotel.Our room was tired and dated yet the bathroom had obviously been recently modernised,bed was comfortable but surprised not to find a duvet on the bed.The room was hot (no air conditioning) and whilst a balcony overlooked the internal atrium the noise from weddings taking place on two nights meant we had to shut the doors until 12.30am.The swimming pool was out of order and rest of complex was shut.Housekeeping were very helpful as were all the staff we encountered.Breakfast was b good and probably the best thing about the hotel.We felt short changed and have still not had any response to the feedback form we left!

Room Tip: A sea view room would probably be better than an internal atrium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

This is a 2 star hotel at best. The whole hotel is very tired and dirty. The rooms are very hot with no air con which makes it difficult to sleep. The atrium rooms are noisy due to events held in the courtyard and the constant running of the water feature. If you are used to staying in hostels you'll be fine, if you think Travelodges are poor, avoid this place at all costs.

The breakfast offer was quite sparse so I decided to go for a yoghurt, this was mouldy so left immediately and was almost sick! Stuck here for a week but I won't try the food again!

Avoid, avoid,avoid!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DG14744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northumberland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

This is 4th visit to the Sefton, this time with my daughter and her husband. Sea view rooms and lovely spacious bathroom. Lovely breakfast with a sea view what more can you ask for.
Will be back later in the summer to visit my daughter again.
Pity the swimming pool was unavailable

Room Tip: Sea view or Atrium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Well this hotel was advertised as a 4 star hotel and I guess it was. Shame that it didn't live up to a 4* standard - so what was right about this hotel

It was on the seafront - that's about it.

What was wrong.

OK here we go - I booked a suite at £140 a night overlooking the Atrium which without the roof would have been a courtyard. Despite being told otherwise it didn't have a sea view. The suite was obviously two single (possibly doubles) that had been turned into a suite by knocking down a wall and puttin in a double set of doors. Not much thought here as one part was a sitting room and the other a bedroom, they should have been the other way round as this would have allowed for a better bed - the five foot bed which was provided was hard and the linen old and uninspring. The furniture was also old and stand alone. In the sitting room there was a 2 seater sofa and a tele (flat screen Digita) which of course couldn't be seen from the whole of the bed . The furniture in here included a desk with internet connections just about bg enough for a laptop (and not much else a table with tea/coffee making equipment on it and a fridge which normally would have been in a cabinet but was just plonked on the floor. The bathroom though was modern with marble tops and fully tiled with a seperate shower which worked well. Poor thought in the design of this room and not reccomended. Oh no air condition (room was very warm but reception mentioned there was fan in the Wardrobe.

How a bout the facilities, I booked the hotel because it had a pool and spa etc. So on the second afternoon of the stay I decided to have a swim and went to the pool only to find it closed and contact reception, Imagine my annoyance when i was told that it needed a part and had been closed for two weeks - how come they couldn't e-mail me before I arrived or even tell me on check in about this. Reception offred to get me a taxi to another hotel where I could use their pool - Doh! defeaths the object a bit of having a pool on site.

So on to food etc - Sir Normans Bar - named after Sir Norman Wisdon - He would have been proud of this place as it was obviouly run by Mr Grimsdale - The bar staff could't tell the diference betwen a Servignon Blance or Cabernet yep order one and up came the other.. Trying to order food would have tried the patience of Job. Menu's on the table but took ages for the staff to attend - ages for the food to come and then ages to ry to get an order for the pus. Oh well The food wasedible but no better than any local Chain restaurant that you take the kids too.

At Breakfast though the food quality was good with local produce shame the staff didn't seem to know how to smile.

Would I reccomend the Sefton - I don't think so - very poor communication skills and overpriced for what it was. Given that VAT on hotel rooms in IoM is only 5% I thought the £140 a night was Central London prices without the Cusos. This would have been a further £20 a night if VAT was 20%

The good bits about the flight - Thie IoM itself really pleasant and lots to do would deffinately go back. Also the flights we flew with Manx2.com from Oxford really great service this just 5 of us on the outbound service and 11 on the return. Touchdown to leaving the car park including ccollecting baggage was hyst 16 minutes. Brilliant will deffinatele us e them again if going to the IoM or Jersey and definately use Oxford Airport - it's like going back to the 50's

Room Tip: Not sure they have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
157 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Second time at the Sefton, and it still surprises and pleases.
I haven't had one of the sea-view rooms yet, but the atrium rooms are great - most rooms have a good sized balcony overlooking the tropical-themed atrium (even though it was raining outside, it felt like summer in the atrium).

The staff are really friendly and helpful and the food is always good. The rooms are well appointed with just about everyting you need for short or longer stays. The only downside is the shower (very small) but at least there was a bath as well. Some have commented that the decor is becoming a bit jaded - it could do with a more modern make-over, but the decor is still clean and in good condition. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have the large balcony (some are smaller) - well worth asking for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Property: Sefton Hotel
Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing