We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

It feels like I stayed at a different hotel looking at some of these reviews. The receptionist was very welcoming and helped us to find our bearings. The room itself was in a big atrium with a balcony with our room which was perfect for after dinner drinks. We ate in both restaurants, Sir Normans which is more pub grub offering and Gallery, which was the equivalent of anything you would find in the uk. Location is great and we'll definitely be back.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    197
    123
    57
    32
See reviews for
81
241
27
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Room 223 kitchen vent noise is absolutely horrendous but it's ok according to staff as noise goes off after 11 pm at night! I moved myself with no help from them and no acknowledgement wanted me to move to the palace above a casino !!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Legsi1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

High quality food and wine, comfort and a welcoming enviroment served to make this hotel stay quite outstanding. The hotel is beautifully situated on the Harris Promenade, Douglas and within is the Atrium Water Garden to add an exotic, almost Far Easten flavour to the decor. The hotel had a relaxed atmosphere and was suitable for just about any type of visit or holiday. Will I go back? Absolutely at the first opportunity.

Room Tip: Rooms off the Atrium have a lovely internal balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muirkirk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

We had a suite & it was first class. Everything was spotless & the bathroom was massive with walk in shower & jacuzzie bath. The lounge area was large & very comfortable with lovely furnishings. The breakfast were very good with a good selection. The gallery restaurant food was delicious. Only negative was the pool was closed for refurbishment..The location was good & near all the amenities

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

I've been to the isle of man a few times on business and was told the Sefton was ok so thought I'd try it. On arrival the staff were polite and I was given my room key.

The hotel/corridors are very tired and could do with a refurb, rooms are clean but unfortunately I was placed in a twin room, which I didn't find ideal.

Tha worst thing was that I was there working for three days including Saturday, on the Friday evening there was a wedding and on return the music was being played in the atrium which my room overlooked. The music was so loud I literally couldn't hear the tv. I'm talking ridiculously loud, I have never experienced anything like it. It's ok though because it's supposed to finish at midnight!

Next time I'm over I will definitely not be staying there, at least they could have placed the wedding guests on the atrium and given outside rooms to others, and also warned you about the noise levels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slatzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We too saw negative reviews on trip advisor but luckily they were unfounded as far as we concerned. We upgraded to sea-view room for a small charge and were delighted with the room as it had a massive bathroom with walk-in shower, large bedroom with a sitting area with two chairs table and flat screen TV. The whole room was very comfortable and well furnished. We were on half board basis and were very impressed with the standard of food ,great selection and friendly efficient staff we were even treated to a complimentary glass of wine with dinner. Breakfast too was excellent lovely dining room with plenty of room between tables. The swimming pool was actually closed whilst we were there but the hotel staff offered us the use of their sister hotels pool and a return taxi free of charge. Altogether a fantastic stay, all the staff were friendly and gave good service we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We chose to upgrade to sea-view rooms as reviews said the atrium rooms could be noisy and the view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linnmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

I booked 3 nights here on the basis that it was supposedly the best hotel on the Isle of Man. Being single I always pay for an upgrade otherwise all hotels give you a poor room. From the time I checked in to the last moment my stay was a struggle, room allocated was still poor had to complain and wait round for ages whilst they grudgingly 'upgraded' me but not to a sea view I thought I had booked. The room was not clean, towels were not replaced, no eggs on thebreakfast buffet for 20-30 minutes sometimes, the car park was tiny so you can't get in it unless you return at lunchtime and the staff rarely understand English. Not worth its 4* rating, I would give it a 2+ at best. Only good thing is its location very close to the main shopping street and restaurants.

Room Tip: I wouldn't go again so can't recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katykang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
576 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Property: Sefton Hotel
Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing