We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible Stay. Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible Stay. Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very tired looking. Pleasant enough staff. Booked a double room but was given a twin. Worst experience was that there was a wedding in the atrium which my room overlooked and the music was so loud that I could not sleep. When that stopped the shouting from the drunk guest went onto 2:30am. Then to cap it all the fire alarm went off at 4am which I heard is a regular occurrence. My morning papers that I paid for were never outside my room for when I woke up, they were there in my room for when I returned. The pool and gym was closed.
The breakfast was OK. Nothing to write home about though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjackson-jsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasions. We have noted and will review your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    192
    122
    55
    30
See reviews for
76
238
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights in one of the atrium rooms and were very impressed. The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of Douglas, with everything easily accessible - the bus from the airport even stops at the door of the hotel, which is very convenient.

I would recommend staying in an atrium room if possible. We had dreadful weather during our stay, but it was a pleasure to be able to sit on the indoor balcony and look out over the beautiful water gardens - it made us feel like we were somewhere hot abroad! The hotel itself was clean and modern and all the staff we dealt with seemed friendly and helpful.

The breakfasts were lovely and there really was something for everyone with a choice of cereals, fruit or a buffet-style cooked breakfast, which had just about every breakfast item you could think of! We ate at Sir Norman's bar once during our stay which, although was not the cheapest place to eat, was worth every penny. The portions were huge and the food tasted just like homemade.

I will definitely stay at the Sefton if I visit Douglas again.

Room Tip: The atrium rooms have indoor balconies with views over the water garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwmc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel. As you say, the hotel is in a great location with everything easily accessible. It is a shame you experienced such bad weather, but on the plus side could take advantage of our unique indoor water garden from the comfort of your balcony. We are pleased you enjoyed our food, both at breakfast and at Sir Norman's Bar. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend with friends. Firstly, I would not rate this hotel as a 4*- perhaps a 2*. The staff were very friendly and our room was spotlessly clean however, the hotel itself is very run down and tatty. Our room overlooked the bins and across onto other buildings which was not particularly nice! If this hotel had a massive investment of money then it would be great as it has a very central location. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion however I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and the room spotlessly clean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

stayed here for one night - it was my first visit to the IOM for many years so I was unsure where to stay. Staff were really friendly, upon realising at check in that i had only booked the room with no breakfast included the very kind receptionist upgraded my package to cover the breakfast which was a nice touch. The room was dated but was very clean with a large balcony (one of the atrium rooms). Its centrally located and has a free underground car park.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KazzaR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you found our Reception staff friendly and helpful and your room clean. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sefton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Hadn't stayed at the Sefton for many years so it was interesting to see how, if at all, the Hotel had changed over the past few years.

On arrival check in wasn't as quick as I would have liked but then my time is precious during the day so this is a personal view.

The clean and comfortable Bedroom was of good size (but no view, not that this bothered me) with a large Bathroom. We seemed to be paying less than some prices quoted here so it may be worth negotiating.

Had dinner in the hotel Gallery restaurant, which was very good. However, it must be said that the 'Flambé service at the table' quoted on the Sefton website and the menu card in the Restaurant does not happen...which was a shame.

All in all a decent experience and suited us admirably as business people visiting the isle of Man. If I was there for leisure I would want a room overlooking the Sea.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anothernightaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you found your room to be clean and comfortable and to be of a good size and that you enjoyed the food at our award winning Gallery Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We booked the hotel for a special 60th birthday holiday and made it clear to the Manx travel agent the pool was an important part of our holiday. We were so disappointed to find the spa all out of action and no signs of anyone making repairs. The manager was nowhere to be seen but reception offered free taxis to go to the pool at the sister hotel in Douglas. We tried this once but what a nuisance - not quite the same as wandering along to the pool from your bedroom in the morning. The taxi drivers said the pool was regularly out of action so we felt really let down. We complained to the travel agent and were offered £100 or free meals on the table-d'hote menu. We opted for the meals for our 4-night stay not realising the menu had only 3 options - the same menu every night. (Not really what you expect in a premier hotel.) The food quality was excellent but we had to complain to get a different option for the 4th night. The head waiter said they were sorting out the menus but this was September - the end of the season! The hotel room and cleanliness was lovely but the reception and general organisation was very poor. It just needs a bit of shake up to realise its potential. If you don't want to swim it's fine. The restaurant meals are good, but very expensive, but you can also eat in the bar.

Room Tip: Our room had a step up into the bathroom and the window area so be careful if you have a disability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkeWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are sorry to hear of the problems you experienced during your stay and will review the issues you have raised. We are pleased you found the room and cleanliness to be of a high standard and the food quality excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

We were very impressed when we arrived as we had a huge bedroom and seating area with large bay window and sea view.The bathroom was very spacious. The disappointment was the pool! We especially booked a hotel with a pool so that we could have a swim before breakfast.The first day it was closed "..the balance of chemicals were not right!" .The second day it was closed "...the temperature was too hot!". We did complain and were given a free evening meal in the Gallery Restaurant ,which was excellent . However when we did eventually get into the pool the disappointment was even greater.It was so small ,only long enough for a few strokes if you kept to the centre.With five people in there it was crowded! The Spa was "out of action".
This did spoil the holiday.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willandites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you found your seaview bedroom to be large and spacious and the bathroom equally so. We are sorry to hear of your difficulties with the pool but on the back of that enjoyed a lovely meal in our award winning Gallery Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Property: Sefton Hotel
Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing