We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great position but very average”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This hotel apparently seems to carry a 4 start grading. If compared to other 4 start hotels, this does not even come close. It's positioning is great but the rooms and services are pretty average. It is a hotel to consider as there are some good elements, but it definately is not a Wow experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PieterfromRoodepoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very tired looking. Pleasant enough staff. Booked a double room but was given a twin. Worst experience was that there was a wedding in the atrium which my room overlooked and the music was so loud that I could not sleep. When that stopped the shouting from the drunk guest went onto 2:30am. Then to cap it all the fire alarm went off at 4am which I heard is a regular occurrence. My morning papers that I paid for were never outside my room for when I woke up, they were there in my room for when I returned. The pool and gym was closed.
The breakfast was OK. Nothing to write home about though.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjackson-jsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasions. We have noted and will review your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

We stayed here for two nights in one of the atrium rooms and were very impressed. The hotel is in a great location, right in the centre of Douglas, with everything easily accessible - the bus from the airport even stops at the door of the hotel, which is very convenient.

I would recommend staying in an atrium room if possible. We had dreadful weather during our stay, but it was a pleasure to be able to sit on the indoor balcony and look out over the beautiful water gardens - it made us feel like we were somewhere hot abroad! The hotel itself was clean and modern and all the staff we dealt with seemed friendly and helpful.

The breakfasts were lovely and there really was something for everyone with a choice of cereals, fruit or a buffet-style cooked breakfast, which had just about every breakfast item you could think of! We ate at Sir Norman's bar once during our stay which, although was not the cheapest place to eat, was worth every penny. The portions were huge and the food tasted just like homemade.

I will definitely stay at the Sefton if I visit Douglas again.

Room Tip: The atrium rooms have indoor balconies with views over the water garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwmc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel. As you say, the hotel is in a great location with everything easily accessible. It is a shame you experienced such bad weather, but on the plus side could take advantage of our unique indoor water garden from the comfort of your balcony. We are pleased you enjoyed our food, both at breakfast and at Sir Norman's Bar. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend with friends. Firstly, I would not rate this hotel as a 4*- perhaps a 2*. The staff were very friendly and our room was spotlessly clean however, the hotel itself is very run down and tatty. Our room overlooked the bins and across onto other buildings which was not particularly nice! If this hotel had a massive investment of money then it would be great as it has a very central location. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2012

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion however I am pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and the room spotlessly clean.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

stayed here for one night - it was my first visit to the IOM for many years so I was unsure where to stay. Staff were really friendly, upon realising at check in that i had only booked the room with no breakfast included the very kind receptionist upgraded my package to cover the breakfast which was a nice touch. The room was dated but was very clean with a large balcony (one of the atrium rooms). Its centrally located and has a free underground car park.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
Thank KazzaR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you found our Reception staff friendly and helpful and your room clean. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sefton in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Hadn't stayed at the Sefton for many years so it was interesting to see how, if at all, the Hotel had changed over the past few years.

On arrival check in wasn't as quick as I would have liked but then my time is precious during the day so this is a personal view.

The clean and comfortable Bedroom was of good size (but no view, not that this bothered me) with a large Bathroom. We seemed to be paying less than some prices quoted here so it may be worth negotiating.

Had dinner in the hotel Gallery restaurant, which was very good. However, it must be said that the 'Flambé service at the table' quoted on the Sefton website and the menu card in the Restaurant does not happen...which was a shame.

All in all a decent experience and suited us admirably as business people visiting the isle of Man. If I was there for leisure I would want a room overlooking the Sea.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anothernightaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you found your room to be clean and comfortable and to be of a good size and that you enjoyed the food at our award winning Gallery Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We booked the hotel for a special 60th birthday holiday and made it clear to the Manx travel agent the pool was an important part of our holiday. We were so disappointed to find the spa all out of action and no signs of anyone making repairs. The manager was nowhere to be seen but reception offered free taxis to go to the pool at the sister hotel in Douglas. We tried this once but what a nuisance - not quite the same as wandering along to the pool from your bedroom in the morning. The taxi drivers said the pool was regularly out of action so we felt really let down. We complained to the travel agent and were offered £100 or free meals on the table-d'hote menu. We opted for the meals for our 4-night stay not realising the menu had only 3 options - the same menu every night. (Not really what you expect in a premier hotel.) The food quality was excellent but we had to complain to get a different option for the 4th night. The head waiter said they were sorting out the menus but this was September - the end of the season! The hotel room and cleanliness was lovely but the reception and general organisation was very poor. It just needs a bit of shake up to realise its potential. If you don't want to swim it's fine. The restaurant meals are good, but very expensive, but you can also eat in the bar.

Room Tip: Our room had a step up into the bathroom and the window area so be careful if you have a disability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarkeWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seft0ngm, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Thank you for your review on our hotel. We are sorry to hear of the problems you experienced during your stay and will review the issues you have raised. We are pleased you found the room and cleanliness to be of a high standard and the food quality excellent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#5 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £71 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing