We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very Best the Isle of Man has to offer”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We stayed in the Hollywood suite, which was simply stunning. Very well laid out, great furnishings, top bang n Olsen tv's in bedroom and lounge, tile TV in bathroom, huge big bath and shower, lovely fluffy towels and robes. Great selection and good quality toiletries provided. Fine crispy bedding on a very comfy king sized bed. Lovely and warm, very quiet, did not hear anything either inside or outside. The lounge is a great place to relax, with TV, iPod docking station, sound system throughout suite. Clever hide away kitchen, with tea n coffee selection, fresh fruit bowl provided, and also ample bottles of water, both sparkling and still. The mene in the Restaurant was great - something for everyone's taste. We had queenies to start and they were delicious. The service level was just right, timed right and not intrusive at all. We had chateaux briand which was carved at our table, served with a selection of veg and potatoes. It was a good sized portion, and was wonderful. We both had the selection of home made ice creams, which were served in a brandy basket. The chilli ice cream is wonderful, a truly wonderful experience of taste in your mouth. Recommended. We had a great nights sleep, and woke totally refreshed. We enjoyed a cup of tea and a biscuit while admiring the sea view and the ferry leaving the port. Breakfast is a wide selection of hot and cold buffet, with speciality teas and coffee available. There are bikes to hire free of charge, which would be nice to use and pedal along the flat promenade.sadly, the pool was out of use as being refurbished, but the gym was available and looked to have most things for a work out. We were impressed with the cleanliness, the quietness of suites/bedrooms, and the lovely layout of the old style hotel with modern furnishings and decor. The service we received was 4* and beyond. Would highly recommend this hotel, especially the suites, which we consider the best on the Isle of Man. Will certainly use this hotel after such a wonderful short stay.

Room Tip: All suites have sea views. Full manx breakfast will set you up for the day.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debs_Cain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. We are absolutely delighted to hear your comments and agree that our Suites are stunning. The Suites are our latest addition to the hotel and are aimed to provide that little extra luxury. All our Suites are very different in terms of decor, but all share the same attention to detail ..... so hopefully when you visit us again in the future you can sample a different Suite. We are pleased you enjoyed our Restaurant and thank you for your comments regarding cleanliness and customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (628)
There are newer reviews for Sefton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 628 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

My wife and I recently enjoyed a weekend break at the Sefton. The room we had was very spacious and good value for money. We dined in the main restaurant the first night and we thought the food there very good along with the service. The breakfast menu provided a large selection of cold and hot food. The time we were there Norman's bar was busy but a good place to have a drink nonetheless. The only reason I have given 4 stars is that the swimming pool wasn't open and we couldn't park at the hotel which resulted in parking the on the front some considerable distance away. Given the weather constantly lashed it down whilst we were there it was inconvenient. All other aspects of the Hotel were fine.

Room Tip: Stayed at the back of the hotel with nothing of a view. However if you're looking for an large r...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BristolShaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you found your room spacious and value for money and that you enjoyed your meals with us. We are sorry that the pool was closed during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again when hopefully the weather will be a little more accommodating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I like the Sefton, but it smacks of faded glamour. Everything is a bit dated, and the overall impression is that it could do with freshening up. The worst thing for me is that the rooms are dreadfully hot - and unless you're very lucky - you can't open the window as the extractor fans are terribly loud and stop and start with a bang.

I've stayed at the Sefton at least 5 times and every time the temperature in the rooms has been a problem for me.

Having said tht I have stayed in a few other hotels in Douglas and the Sefton is the best I've experienced.

The Sefton has obviously changed a lot over the years, with add-ons and extensions. It leaves the hotel as a bit of a labyrinth with colour-coded lifts depending on where your room is. Its left a few quirky rooms. In fact, twice when I've stayed (on my own) I've been allocated a family arrangement with 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. Rooms with steps inside and ramps too. So, its always a surprise when when you open the door!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonLSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us. We are sorry that you experienced problems with the room temperature and will look to address this. The hotel is as you say a mixture of Victorian and modern and as such does have have its own special character. Thank you for your repeat custom and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This is a lovely friendly hotel, traditional and friendly.
The staff were helpful, the room lovely with an atrium view.
the breakfast was good, service excellent.
Good value, would definately recommend

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding our "lovely friendly hotel". We are pleased you found your stay to be of good value and our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Had a most exceptional evening sat 16 feb at this hotel and restaurant.stayed here on the winter DBB deal at £89.00,cannot fault a thing as from start to finish everything swimmingly.Oh having said that there was no swimming pool to use as it was closed for annual maintenance.This seems to be an all year round event as i have been 3 times in 12 months and had the same excuse. Anyway staff are really attentive throughout all areas of the hotel ,in the restaurant the head waiter is to be highly commended for his professional an attentive ways.The food being produce from the gallery kitchens is of the highest standards,Compliments to the chef and his team.So go and treat yourself you can easily spend £89.00 on just a meal these days for sub standard food,without B&B thrown in,so thank you the Sefton hotel & staff.

Room Tip: On DBB hotel will ask if you want to dine in Sir normans or the Gallery restaurant,Sir normans being...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postman1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us on our DBB deal and found our staff to be attentive throughout all areas. We have passed on your kind comments to our Chef and Head Waiter and are pleased you found the food to be of the highest standards. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This was second stay here after my last visit and this time took the room with balcony and it was good but will go back for my sea facing room on 4th floor next time around.Breakfast as usual was the best as they serve potato filled bread which is similar to the indian Aloo Paratha.

Room Tip: choose seafacing room.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harrynaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are pleased you took the opportunity to stay in one of our Atrium rooms, with its own balcony, although we agree the views from our sea facing rooms are indeed special. Thank you for your comments regarding "breakfast" and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The Sefton is looking a little tired and could do with a make over throughout. , the cleanliness of carpets in common areas and overall smell of 'carpets in need of a clean', did not give a great impression, although the room I was allocated was reasonable and better than the average .One advantage is that the hotel has its own garage parking in the basement, accessed by a rear road.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the internal atrium
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shocks3360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay. We are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion. We have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
635 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 15 in Douglas
188 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#5 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £85 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing