We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sefton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Adelphi(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Island & Fairfield Guest Houses(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$177
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Empress Hotel(Douglas)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Welbeck Hotel(Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silvercraigs(Douglas)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
212
231
143
68
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
212
231
143
68
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatrium roomnorman wisdomsir normansgrand hotelisle of manthe harbour lights restaurantswimming poolfour poster bedbalcony overlookingseparate showercar parkbreakfast roomlovely hotelgaiety theatreduty managerbar foodbit dated
Filter
Updating list...
464 - 469 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Four of us ate here on a fairly busy Monday evening in Sir Norman Wisdom's bar and restaurant.
We had been intrigued and delighted by a bronze of the eponymous comedian on the bench outside the hotel.The two men in our party of four had prawn cocktail and home made soup whilst our wives shared a plate of bread and dips. I must say that I am not generally a fan of Beef and Guinness pie because almost always the pastry wins over the contents but in this case large pies contained substantial amounts of delicious manx beef. My wife made up the mains with a homemade lasagne. Drinks consisted of two glasses of Okells bitter as the guest ale and 1/2 Guinness and 1/2 Carling shandy for the ladies. The meal was well complemented by a great value Vicuna Merlot from Chile a superb house wine priced at £12.55. Because of the big portions no one had a pudding and the bill for four amounted to £75.60 before optional service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisC46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thank you for submitting a review following your meal at Sir Norman's. We are pleased you enjoyed our food and found your meal good value for money. We do try and source as much of our produce as we can from the local market and the manx beef is as you say delicious.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed here for two nights 23/24th March. Very spacious sea view room with flat screen tv, small fridge with bottled water and fresh milk. Iron and board, tea, coffee hot chocolate and biscuits, small dish of mints. A lovely big comfortable bed and a nice sofa too. The bathroom was huge with full bath, separate walk in shower, toilet sink and bidet, good toiletries provided. Baltic weather conditions outside with howling wind, our room was really cold, but a call to reception and a heater was promptly delivered to us, so problem sorted thankfully and we were nice and warm after that. Great location, short walk to all the shops, theatre next door. Fantastic meal in the restaurant on the Saturday night, beautifully presented and attentive service with a smile. Manager apologised for how cold the room was even though the heating was on. Great breakfast the following morning, no complaints at all about the food or service. Restaurant is closed in winter on a Sunday evening so we ate in Sir Normans bar, delicious 3 course meal, good portions, great service, very reasonable prices, would recommend. A big shame that the pool is now closed, we would have enjoyed the facilities had they been available. I think the hotel information booklet in the rooms should be updated stating the closure of the pool. All in all a lovely weekend away despite the freezing weather.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scouserjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed one of our lovely sea view rooms and found it spacious and comfortable. Thank you for your comments regarding our food, both at breakfast time and Sir Normans and The Gallery. We are sorry that the pool was closed during your visit and have noted your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed here for our 4th wedding Anniversary.Room was one of the Suites.Very nicely laid out,Balcony was nice and big.Tea,Coffee,Biscuits and fridge.Big telly.Huge Bed.Ironing board.Bathroom had shower,bath,basin,bede,toilet,nicely done out Before going out we had a drink at Sir Normans(Bar, part of Hotel).Had a quick look at Menu thought not bad selection and well priced.Seeing it was special occasion we went out looking and looked and looked bit pricey.Ended back at Sir Normans had a very nice meal and wine.Well looked after by Tony and Melroy.Thanks for looking after us

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard195953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted you chose to stay at The Sefton for your anniversary and equally delighted that your stay with us was such a success. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Our daughter planned her wedding here at the Sefton and the whole event was perfect with every small detail catered for by the staff . The hotel is splendid in every way and complimented by warm friendly and efficient employees.
We would recommend this hotel for any occasion but with our experience they excel at weddings and family events .

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank kathyIsleOfMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for your kind comments. We are delighted that your daughter's wedding went as planned and was "perfect with every small detail catered for". May we take this opportunity to wish your daughter and son-in-law all the very best for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Had an amazing night here watching the IL Divo tribute , the meal was fantastic and the staff was very friendly ! In a good location right on the promenade only a short walk to the town centre shops. The bar also does very good food serving big portions . I didn't stay in the rooms at this hotel but my friends did so got to see them and the rooms were very big and came with tv, kettle and tea making condiments , iron and ironing board , mini bar .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mishylou30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you for your comments regarding the "IL Divo tribute". We are delighted you enjoyed your evening with us - why not make a weekend of it next time and relax in one of our Atrium rooms, or pamper yourself by staying in one of our sumptious Suites?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews