We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Nice Hotel”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Perfectly Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Central, seafront location. Grand old building. Main reception looks a bit tired in places (few areas of peeling paint etc) and the overall layout is somewhat labyrinthine but welcome was warm and check-in was efficient. Room was large and included a sofa, desk etc, mine opened out on to the internal Atrium and as a result I could hear a trickling fountain through the patio doors to the balcony, but this seemed to stop during the night? Free wifi was an unexpected bonus and reasonably efficient. Buffet breakfast, included in the rate, was pretty good and contained everything you could reasonably expect. Didn't try the bar or any other dining options but looked busy enough. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dazzer6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel first opened its doors in 1892 hence over the years has had a number of sections and wings added on - adding to its "quirky" layout and we believe giving it great character. We are pleased you found your check in warm and efficient and enjoyed our buffet breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    197
    123
    57
    32
See reviews for
81
241
27
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Like the promenade in Douglas, the Sefton hotel has probably seen better days, particularly before the onset of package holidays in the 1960s.

This was my first time on the island and thus, my first time at the hotel. The first thing that struck me concerned the hotel overall: it was obvious that parts of it had been redeveloped, while older sections remained untouched.

Lifts to various sections of the hotel were located in different places, and for some older residents this seemed to cause a little bit of confusion.

The hotel bar, 'The Sir Norman Bar', paid homage to the English actor. Unfortunately, it was hideously decorated and looked like a room out of an average semi-detached house from 1970s England, or even a British Legion bar! In the absence of a re-model, I'd give it a wide berth.

The breakfast room - the Harris room - is situated at the front of the hotel and basks in glorious sunshine. It too was a little old fashioned, as was the breakfast. I simply stuck with cereal and croissants, as the cooked option - beans, sausages, bacon, etc - looked awful.

The pool was closed and this was a real shame. I'd say this is one of the reasons it has a '4-star' rating, but as it's not accessible, this rating should definitely be reviewed.

But I keep the best to last. The room allocated was one of the best hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. It had a balcony that overlooked the atrium and caught the evening sunshine, and was spacious and well fitted out. Perhaps the only negative aspect was the shower: for someone a tad larger than myself, it would probably be too small, but that's only a minor point.

Would I stay here again? The answer is probably 'yes', but I wouldn't take the breakfast option (there are a few cafes in the town centre that are accessible on foot) and I'd pay that little bit extra for the same room again.

I've given it '3' but would like to have given it '3.5'; '3' probably doesn't do it justice, but '4' is too high.

With a little improvement it could be a fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidIrishReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for your very comprehensive review of our hotel. The hotel was built back in 1892 and over the years has had sections added and redeveloped as you have mentioned - works are ongoing and we hope to start refurbishing a number of areas in the near future. On the plus side we are pleased you enjoyed your room and found this spacious and well fitted out - indeed "one of the best you have ever stayed in". Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Sefton. Stayed in the "Speakers suite". Fantastic room, very spacious lounge, B and O sound and tv system, kitchenette hidden away in cupboards, wine, fresh fruit, mineral water and hot drinks provided. Robes, tv and speakers, twin basins, roll top bath and wet room double power shower in bathroom. Bedroom B and O also, memory foam king bed, well appointed. Slight noise from chandelier when guests above moving around but not too irritating. Very nice room with quality fitments and tasteful period style decor. Staff very friendly and most helpful. Concierge took our bags for us, front desk most helpful, we was running late for check out, not a problem, thank you. Gallery restaurant very high standard. Breakfast faultless, huge choice, good quality local ingredients. Second visit and will come again. Well done management and staff.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nik1dennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay at The Sefton and thank you for your glowing comments. We are very proud of our new Suites, and we are delighted they lived up to your expectations. Equally we are pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast and Gallery restaurant to be of a very high standard. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

We were led to a floor and left at the lift on checking in at midnight, only to find that the floor was incorrect. On returning some distance to reception it was unmanned.
The room key cards were poor - we needed four different cards in 24 hours.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. We are sorry you encountered problems with your key card and the check in process. All feedback is vital to us and we thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Douglas hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A great position on the promenade in Douglas, with two excellent restaurants attached - one either side. Both were excellent. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and even offered to print out our boarding passes as we checked out. There is some parking in the hotel, but if you cant find a space, there is a good multi storey round the corner. The breakfast was lovely, with plenty of choice of alternatives you could order (Manx kippers, smoked haddock, porridge etc).
just one thing to watch for- we had a room over the kitchens at the back, and the air conditioning or fan for the kitchen was a little noisy through the night. We asked to move and there was no problem with this at all. A nice touch is that you can phone down for fresh milk for your tea and coffee - a great idea! Thanks to all the staff - you all seemed happy to be there too.

Room Tip: we had a room over the kitchens at the back, and the air conditioning or fan for the kitchen was a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukcamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your positive feedback. As you say the hotel is in a great position on Douglas promenade. We are pleased you found our staff helpful and friendly and enjoyed both of our restaurants, Sir Normans and The Gallery. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This was our third stay on the Isle of Man and the Sefton Hotel it is a 15 minute walk from the ferry terminal. On arrival the receptionist had us checked in quickly. The Atrium room was fantastic ! tea and coffee available, chilled water in the fridge. The Sir Norman Wisdom bar is fine for a drink and pub food if that’s what you want however we ate at the Gallery Restaurant in the hotel and the food, service and quality was excellent, it was well presented and the Maitre d’ made us feel very welcome and relaxed. The hotel is well placed for visits to the centre of Douglas and there is a bus stop literally outside the hotel which is handy for busses to the North side of the island (Laxey etc). Another great stay and well done Sefton (again).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your positive feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed staying in one of our lovely Atrium rooms and found the service and quality of food at our Gallery Restaurant "excellent". We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Booked the weekend special deal of dinner bed and breakfast advertised at £99 however no rooms available at this rate and had to pay £119 as it was a special occasion for my mum and dad I paid an extra £10 for a deluxe atrium room unfortunatley this room had a leak in the roof on the balacony and the floor was damaged as a result on informing the receptionist the response was just oh I thought that had been fixed no apology ! On the first night dinner was served in the 2AA rosette gallery restaraunt there was a three course set menu with various options or for a small surplus you could choose from the a la carte menu the food was amazing, however on the second evening we were informed that the gallery restaraunt is closed on a sunday and we would have to eat in Sir Normans bar the food was of no comparison basic pub grub and to add insult to injury you were told you had a budget of £19,95 which meant you could only have two courses before going over budget so instead of a fine dining three course meal you got a 2 course pub meal although the price of the dinner bed and breakfast deal was still the same. If booking again I would not take the deal on a Sunday

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. We are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion and have noted your comments. All feedback is vital to us enabling us to focus on and correct any possible service issues as they arise. On the plus side we are pleased that you found the food in our Gallery Restaurant "amazing".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Property: Sefton Hotel
Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing