We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor and expensive !!”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Just returning from a short break at this hotel. I can honestly say I won't be staying here again the room was fairly small and dark with cracked paint on part of the ceiling , the temperature was to hot too, but if you opened the windows the tiny crack that it would allow you to you were then kept up all night by what i think were the ventilation or air con units out side that with went on and off every hour or so the safe's didn't work and the beds weren't so comfy either, Ive staying in a quite a few of the hotels on the Isle of Man and this was the dearest and the poorest for £90 a night defiantly not worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie4282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Sefton and we are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We have noted your comments and will review and address these where possible. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Me and my wife stayed in room 275 recently. It was an internal room with a balcony facing out onto the indoor antruim, it had waterfalls, pools and palm tress all very nice.

Hotel service was excellent and everywhere was super clean! Drinks are a bit expensive but no more than the usual.

Underground car park was secure and excellent! as well as free!

Food was good and plentiful.

Room Tip: Antruim or front sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 232roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and pleased you found our hotel clean and the service excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just stayed one night, although it is the third time I've been there. Good points - staff are helpful, plenty of space, OK place to meet contacts, good cooked breakfast. But - WiFi is terrible, signal was useless anywhere in building and bandwith is throttled to 50kb (of not sure what, in case anyone tries to download a film!) so webmail is almost impossible, my Mac Mail could not synchronise my mail accounts and my colleague (using a PC) could not access his office mail. There is nowhere quiet to relax (a tiny library, with three light bulbs out, described as "ambience", but felt like "dark"). There is a large bar, which was very full, so I have to accept I'm in a minority, but incredibly noisy - there are 3 or 4 large screen TV's showing sports and news, at high volume. There is no escape because the screens are in every part of the bar. Room was OK. My floor sloped so I couldn't work at the desk (quaint in a sixteenth century country hotel, just tedious in a late Victorian building). Decor is just really dull, everything feels like it has been decorated for the over-70's, and the carpets have that faint fusty smell like an old B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for your review and your constructive comments. We apologise for the problems you encountered with WIFI - this is something we are looking to improve over the coming months. We will review your additional comments and address these where possible. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Selected by trip advisor choices, booked . Arrived early staff friendly ,kept baggage, and we walked the esplanade. Room had no view, not significant, and walked the stairs as lifts were busy. Breakfast included and was good choices .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BMW1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us and thank you for chosing to stay at The Sefton. It is lovely to welcome guests from further afield and we wish you a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Booked three months in advance for a double sea view room at £108 per night. When we checked in we were given a suite! OMG, it's amazing. Best hotel I've stayed in for years.. His and hers sinks in bathroom which was enormouse. Three couches in lounge, complimentary fruit and water in fridge. Dressing gowns free of charge too, all in all cannot find one fault

Room Tip: Room 101 was just superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mammamarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel. I am delighted you were able to sample one of our lovely Suites. The Suites were opened a couple of years ago, aimed at five star accommodation and have been a wonderful addition to The Sefton. It is always appreciated to receive a review "finding no fault" and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

we often travel over for the Manx Grand Prix in the Isle of Man and have stayed at the Sefton Hotel previously. The main attractions being its a large well appointed hotel set in the main town centre of Douglas, the food is good and the rooms are spacious and well decorated. We found the car park a little overcrowded but it was a very popular event so its to be expected.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skeggypeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

Thank you for submitting a review of The Sefton. We are pleased you found our rooms spacious and well decorated. As you say, the Grand Prix is a very busy time for us and the car park does get a little congested at times. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Sefton Hotel is in a perfect seaside location to experience all the ambience of the TT. It's a gorgeous rambling older style hotel with friendly and helpful staff (mostly!). The breakfast room is lovely, formal restaurant excellent and the bar fun and exciting. If you choose to stay here during TT week and you choose a great sea view room, you won't be disappointed. That's if you don't mind the sound of the fun park opposite and the constant stream of motor bikes parading down the main strip. We loved the hotel and would def stay again. Five stars to the bar staff who worked effortlessly every night accommodating a rowdy bunch. Special thanks to Vincent and the twins who helped make our stay so much fun.

Room Tip: If your stay is during TT week be aware the front seaside rooms will be effected by noise for most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say, the Sefton is in a perfect location to soak up and experience all the ambience of the TT. TT is of course a very busy time for the Island and wherever you stay the sound of motor bikes is very evident. We look forward to welcoming you back again next TT.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
404 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#5 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £69 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing