We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of decoration”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here. The room was adequate, clean and quiet but in need of decoration.
The staff were friendly but car parking was a nightmare, there isn't enough spaces for the number of guests, and it's a first come basis.
There were two restaurants for evening meals, we visited the cheaper, Sir Normans. More a pub based restaurant, but the food and service were excellent. Although the restaurant was very noisy due to it being more of a pub, the food made up for that.
Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice from a hot or cold buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (641)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 641 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

My wife and I, together with our car, trailer and vintage motorcycle stayed at The SEFTON for the Manx GP in late August. In all we stayed 8 nights on a B&B basis in a 1st floor twin room at the front of the hotel. Overall we enjoyed our stay and the staff were good in most respects.
The room was spacious and well equipped but very very stuffy with no aircon. Leaving the window and room door open helped, but of course made it noisy from the promenade traffic! There was no telephone (socket - yes, but instrument -no). The TV only received 2 channels for 3 days but after our persistence finally got tuned in to a reasonable standard. The mini-safe wasn't working and the bathroom hot water had a problem caused it was said by an unforeseen boiler issue. The wi-fi throughout the hotel was poor to unusable throughout our time there, caused I suspect by inadequate broadband width and speed. Even the hotel library broadband was really slow.
The hotel, like so many these days, is in need of substantial investment and it's difficult to see that happening anytime soon.
A quirky hotel with a confusing layout. Pity the pool was out of action and the option of using their sister hotel - the Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino 15 minutes walk away - is a non-starter at 7am!!
The underground garage was good and, although not big enough to accommodate all guests, could be made to work if you were cunning and timely.
Breakfasts were excellent and Sir Norman's bar food was quite adequate. Didn't use the main restaurant largely due to price.
Paying top price for a 4 star hotel, we expected better. We did get a room rate reduction once we complained, but frankly I would prefer to see the hotel improving itself from what we judge to be 3+ star to the 4 star we expected.

Room Tip: High floor, probably on the front, although lack of AC and ventilation problems will still make this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KeithinBexhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us. Thank you for your constructive feedback - we have noted your comments and will address these where possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Very strange hotel. It's like travelling back 30 years. Norman wisdom tapes playing on a loop on the bar TV. My room was clean but so dated. Shower in my room was either scalding hot or freezing cold. A letter from the hotel has been added !!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robintaylor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed at the Sefton hotel on the 29th of august till the 1st September reason for staying was the manx gp stayed in a twin room on the top floor at the back of the hotel ( there are lifts to all floors ) .This will be an honest review as with all my others.
The room that we had was prone to noise from the kitchen extraction system although this was not really a problem with the window closed , unfortunately on the somewhat warm & close nights that we had this made the room very warm as there is no air con in the hotel but a fan is provided .
Our room was very well equipped and of a good size with a safe an ironing board / trouser press a fridge + hair dryer a telephone also a TV and coffee and tea making facilities.
The bathroom in our room was large with a full size bath and separate shower with the usual complimentary soaps, shampoo etc.
Room service was very good with the beds made towels changed + rooms hovered also the coffee and tea facilities all topped up. The reception staff where fast and efficient (we had a problem with the key/card that wouldn’t unlock the door the reception staff sorted it out on the spot)
The carpets could do with replacing throughout the accommodation areas of the hotel and it could do with a lick of paint here and there also some of the furniture is a bit dated but after saying that show me a hotel that doesn’t .
The location is perfect for most of the shops / pubs and cafes in Douglas, and also there is a taxi rank outside the front door. There is also a private gated car park below the hotel at the back. I am reasonably fit and healthy and can walk about with ease so can’t really pass on any comment for those who can’t but the hotel seems to have been adapted to give as much aide as it possible can via lifts and shallow ramps etc.
As we only had a room only deal I can make no comment about the catering in the Sefton, but I spoke to a few people and they never made a bad comment so that must mean something, there is also a restaurant / pub with the hotel that seemed well used.
Would I stay here again yes I would, but because we didn’t dine there at all and the slight noise of the extractors + the slightly grotty carpets I can only give it three and a half green dots as it’s not quite very good but better than average, but I know trip advisor doesn’t do this so because of the efficient and helpful reception staff it gets four green dots.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timeoffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit such a comprehensive and honest review. Thank you also for your kind comments regarding our helpful and efficient reception staff. Feedback is always important to us, whether positive or negative and I confirm that all your feedback will be reviewed and addressed where possible. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed for a night for a family event and as usual could not fault the staff for their helpfulness and hospitality.Breakfast was up to the usual superb standard,The only criticism is the room safe was out of order in our room and my daughters' .This is not really good considering the high season price we paid for our room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathyIsleOfMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review following your stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding our staff. We have noted your feedback regarding the faulty safes and will look to address this matter. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Sefton is comfortable and welcoming - a nice place to stay ok sometimes problems are encountered but these are sorted quickly and efficiently. The Sefton's position is brilliant close to all amenities (theatre, town centre) and there are other good restaurants within walking distance if you dont want to eat in hotel all the time or want a change of scenery (the hotel food is very good We enjoyed our stay and will be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eastangliantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Thank you for submitting a review of The Sefton and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Great hotel this! Been Twice and first time I had an issue with the Breakfast Arrangements as coach parties seemed to take priority. When I complained the manager Agata took on board my comment and made changes to improve which was apart from this minor set back excellent service. The rooms were clean and well laid out and the views were spectacular. As well as this Agata the manager has also insisted that when we book again (and we will) we are to book directly through her. This sort of service deserves commendation and I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to visitors to this Beautiful Island. It's about a ten minute walk from Douglas Centre but it's worth the walk down the prom on a nice day or night. Great to use as a base if you're driving around. Only a short drive off the ferry and Free parking on the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palacehoteliom, Manager at Sefton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We are delighted to hear such positive comments about our hotel and indeed our Staff ....we will pass your kind comments on.
As you say, the Sefton has wonderful views across the bay and is a great base to explore the Island. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
390 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 15 in Douglas
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#5 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £72 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing