We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best on the Island”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Itsallinthemind
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best on the Island”
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We've stayed at the Sefton Hotel on a number of occasions and it's always spot on. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable with excellent bathrooms. We've also stayed at The Hilton in Douglas and the Sefton beats it hands down.
There's always a great choice at breakfast and the restaurant serves excellent evening meals. I can imagine it gets very hot in summer as when we stayed in January the room was very warm and we had the window open most of the time - but it's an old building and I can imagine that it's difficult to get around this problem. Other than that, the hotel offers first class customer service and a warm welcome. We look forwards to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itsallinthemind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    196
    122
    55
    32
See reviews for
79
241
27
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South coast England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We booked this hotel for four nights having read reviews on ‘Tripadvisor’. We were not disappointed. It is a beautiful building in a dominant seafront position and is altogether a fabulous hotel. The bedroom was excellent, with a large flat screen tv and best of all an outside balcony seating area within the large central atrium area of the hotel. We sat for hours there, soothed by the plants, flowing water, and good wine. Far preferable to a front sea view room. This was one of the most relaxing hotel rooms I have ever stayed in.

The attitude of all the staff was very impressive, they were clearly very well trained and committed to customer service without appearing forced or obsequious. We ate three times in the Norman Wisdom bar, and the food was excellent each time. In fact these were the best meals we had whilst in the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
166 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We would class ourselves as foodies but on the I.O.M very little choice until we discovered this one when staying at The Sefton.
We really enjoyed the food and with all the little extras was not as expensive as it sounds. If you enjoy food cooked with flair then you will enjoy this , service was excellent and someone with talent was at work in the kitchen

Helpful?
2 Thank mumajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
166 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and whilst disappointed with the Atrium and breakfast both of which were over rated but adequate.( did not get into our top 10 breakfast league} we loved our room and the view over the bay . A big spacious bathroom was an extra bonus . The swimming pool was a disappointment , 3 strokes and you cover the length and if people stand in the middle having a conversation as the 3 women did for the whole 20 mins I was in the pool you have to squeeze by . Noisy and dark too with sauna and steam room not woeking on my visit.
Food in the Bar is adequate and typical bar food but the restaurant was very good we only ate there 0n the last night our mistake we thought it was expensive but on an island where fine dinning isin the almost non existent category this was an oasis and only a few quid dearer than one of the other local eateries which did not hold a candle to this . All in all a lovely restful place with friendly staff some with limited English but nice smiles and nowhere was pretentious.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Booking and check-in were both simple and friendly thanks to Tony at Reception. I paid £440 which apparently included one night free for a four night stay in an 'Atrium' type room including breakfast during the Easter Bank-holiday weekend. We were advised at the point of booking that the pool was closed for refurbishment.

On arrival at the hotel we found ample spaces in the underground car park. Having checked-in, we were pleased to find a spacious, clean room with king-sized bed, sofa area, bathroom with bath and separate shower, large corner balcony overlooking the internal garden area, fridge, flat screen TV and free Wi-Fi Intenet Access. Although not to the standards of style and comfort of some hotels we have stayed in at a similar price, the accommodation was more than adequate.

We decided to dine in the hotel on our first evening and chose Sir Norman's Bar. Granted, on a Bank Holiday Sunday a sea-front bar is bound to be busy, but we were shocked to see many dirty tables were left well after the rush was over. After being ignored by one unoccupied member of staff who was standing right next to us at the entrance, we were shown to one such dirty table and requested a highchair for our baby. We were presented with a particularly grubby highchair. We had to request that the young waitress who was also operating the bar and who, although very pleasant, was obviously out of her depth dealing with table service as well as the bar, clean both the table and the highchair. After 'cleaning' the chair still contained the large solid contents of a previous child's meal-needless to say, our baby remained in her pushchair. Paying £15.95 each for a thin steak and some cooked from frozen chips, we were sorely disappointed by both the food and the poor service throughout the meal although from the comments of a fellow guest who had no complaints the following evening, perhaps we may have caught them on a bad night?

Breakfast was served in a sunny sea-facing room staffed by a very friendly and attentive staff. The breakfast wasn't as good as eg. some of the Hilton's we have stayed at recently but good all the same. Full English, cereals, fruit and pastries are available buffet-style and the quality of the food to order was excellent, including smoked salmon and scrambled egg, kippers, smoked haddock, poached eggs, porridge etc. On our final night we had room service which was fine. We did not try the Gallery Restaurant.

We were fortunate with the weather during our stay so spent most of our time outdoors. We were both impressed with the stress-free nature of the island, the breathtaking scenery, friendliness of the locals and excellent fishing locations.

The thing we particularly found lacking on the Isle of Man was the availablility of good food! The worst meal I have ever eaten in my life was a takeaway from 'The King & I', a Thai Restaurant in Douglas-the only word to describe their food is 'sickening', particularly the re-hydrated meat they use which is pumped so full of water its consistency is like jelly-we left almost all of it and at £46 for a starter, main course and rice for two, it wasn't cheap. However, I can thoroughly recommend the following places to eat: The Sound Visitor Centre, Nairbyl Visitor Centre, The Hop Garden and an excellent Indian Restaurant just off the Promendae in Douglas-unfortunately its name escapes me.

Although the accommodation in The Sefton is comfortable, there is certainly room for impovement from a dining and service perspective following our experience in Sir Norman's Bar. At the prices charged for food and accommodation, I would have expected better. However, the general consensus of the fellow guests and locals we got to know is that with such a limited choice on the island, standards are not set much higher than this.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bess003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

This is truly one of the Isle of Man's best hotels. I have stayed here on a number of occassions, and whilst I have tried others, I always come back to the Sefton.

From the moment you arrive you realise you are walking in to a nice (non corporate) hotel. If you get the grumpy receptionist, don't let it put you off, she is the one thing that lets the place down, the rest of the staff are excellent!! The rooms are a good size, but make sure you book an Atrium room. Bit confused if I am honest about the negitive reviews about these rooms, as I have stayed in them loads of times, and have always been impressed by there size and how comfortable they are. Excellent bathrooms, and to have the french doors open to your balcony, and to hear the waterfall in the water garden at any time of year is a real treat. In the Atrium rooms, it is summer all year round.

Great food. Great pool too (which never seems to be busy) Not too impressed with the Norman Wisdom bar though, bit naff if I am honest, dosn't seem to go with the up market imabge of the rest of the hotel, and compaired to the old bar, it's more like a dinner!!! the resturrant howver is excellent!

If your going to the Island, and fancy somewhere nice to stay, that is extreamly good value, give the Sefton a go.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattDrewry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

The room was booked for one night as a present. Only cost £50.00 Bed and breakfast for 2 people, really good value. Got there as said car park underneath was a good add on if not then behind the hotel there is some parking. Check in was really easy and finding the room was fun we did get lost! Eventually found the room and it was immaculate, nice and spacious room and bathroom. The balcony area was gorgeous overlooking the atrium garden sound of waterfall etc. As it was one night my and my girlfriend wanted to go down to the swimming pool etc but were told it had been out of service and will be until MAY so beware. Room service was fantastic really quick and relatively cheap. The Gallery restaurant on the other hand, full on A la Carte. 2 starters were miniscule to say the least but the main course made up for this but for the price I would expect it. Service was good and quick as well. After the meal we went to Sir Normans which was fantastic, not expensive and the entertainment was good as well. If you don't want to stay in the hotel then there is takeaways near buy which we also went to because we were not full. Breakfast was buffet style but could have been better cooked and more quantity. One more good thing if you have kids there is free internet in the library. All in all very good and recommended will stay there again!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reallyreallyreally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Property: Sefton Hotel
Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing