We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel and a good location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
yorkshire
1 review
“Very nice hotel and a good location”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

After reviewing a number of hotels in Douglas I decided to pay a little more for a decent hotel and was very happy with my stay at the Sefton. The hotel is located on the sea front close to the centre of Douglas and a short walk to pubs and restaurants. My room had a balcony over-looking the indoor atrium and was very clean and spacious with free internet access also. Breakfast was included and the food was very good. Overall I was very happy with my stay at the Sefton and would definately book this hotel again if I return to the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    192
    122
    55
    30
See reviews for
76
238
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2009

Pretty good all round really. The whole atrium concept is a bit strange, quirky even, with balconied rooms overlooking this indoor giant greenhouse complete with water feature and foliage; a bit like internal cabins on some of these modern cruise ship. The colour-coded lifts are another quirk - quite humourous really, once you get your bearings. The car-park is a big plus; and very cental location. We found the rooms cosy and comfortable; breakfast was fine; an old-fashioned traditional hotel with lots of nice touches. This is as good as it gets on the Island methinks. No complaints here.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibrag
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

One week cost almost STG1000 for a superior double room including breakfast. Situated on the Douglas promenade, the room had a spacious veranda overlooking an astounding atrium. Service was excellent and staff extremely courteous. We enjoyed our stay very much and we were lucky with the weather as well...it only rained once during the whole week! The island is spectacular. Not a lot to do in the evenings except go to one of the many lovely restaurants where the food is very good. There is one small casino which is open until the small hours. Will go again perhaps next May when the weather should be reasonably good.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 34mirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itsallinthemind
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We've stayed at the Sefton Hotel on a number of occasions and it's always spot on. The rooms are well furnished and comfortable with excellent bathrooms. We've also stayed at The Hilton in Douglas and the Sefton beats it hands down.
There's always a great choice at breakfast and the restaurant serves excellent evening meals. I can imagine it gets very hot in summer as when we stayed in January the room was very warm and we had the window open most of the time - but it's an old building and I can imagine that it's difficult to get around this problem. Other than that, the hotel offers first class customer service and a warm welcome. We look forwards to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itsallinthemind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South coast England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

We booked this hotel for four nights having read reviews on ‘Tripadvisor’. We were not disappointed. It is a beautiful building in a dominant seafront position and is altogether a fabulous hotel. The bedroom was excellent, with a large flat screen tv and best of all an outside balcony seating area within the large central atrium area of the hotel. We sat for hours there, soothed by the plants, flowing water, and good wine. Far preferable to a front sea view room. This was one of the most relaxing hotel rooms I have ever stayed in.

The attitude of all the staff was very impressive, they were clearly very well trained and committed to customer service without appearing forced or obsequious. We ate three times in the Norman Wisdom bar, and the food was excellent each time. In fact these were the best meals we had whilst in the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Silverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We would class ourselves as foodies but on the I.O.M very little choice until we discovered this one when staying at The Sefton.
We really enjoyed the food and with all the little extras was not as expensive as it sounds. If you enjoy food cooked with flair then you will enjoy this , service was excellent and someone with talent was at work in the kitchen

Helpful?
2 Thank mumajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
160 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights and whilst disappointed with the Atrium and breakfast both of which were over rated but adequate.( did not get into our top 10 breakfast league} we loved our room and the view over the bay . A big spacious bathroom was an extra bonus . The swimming pool was a disappointment , 3 strokes and you cover the length and if people stand in the middle having a conversation as the 3 women did for the whole 20 mins I was in the pool you have to squeeze by . Noisy and dark too with sauna and steam room not woeking on my visit.
Food in the Bar is adequate and typical bar food but the restaurant was very good we only ate there 0n the last night our mistake we thought it was expensive but on an island where fine dinning isin the almost non existent category this was an oasis and only a few quid dearer than one of the other local eateries which did not hold a candle to this . All in all a lovely restful place with friendly staff some with limited English but nice smiles and nowhere was pretentious.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
125 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#6 of 22 in Douglas
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Property: Sefton Hotel
Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#6 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing