We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sefton suites - amazing!”
Review of Sefton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sefton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Stayed at Sefton during a very busy weekend for them. Sefton suites are amazing and great value for the space, great views. Massive lounge, massive bathroom, massive bedroom with all the bells and whistles - free wifi, amazing TV's and sound system. Freindly staff and very reasonably priced room service meals. Location is super convenient, and car parking included. Would highly recomend Sefton suites and WILL stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

583 - 589 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2010

Stayed one night on business recently and was pleasantly suprised. I chose an atrium room as was told this was one of the 'newer more modern rooms' (it was refurbished about 7 yrs ago I think) & for the Isle of Man it was a pretty decent standard. I don't think you'll get a nicer room in any other hotel - the IoM isn't renowned for good quality modern hotels ... a shame when you think of so many business people who'd be willing to pay that bit more for a higher standard of accommodation! I was very impressed with the FREE high-speed wi-fi available. Looking at other reviews on TripAdvisor, would be a good diea for the management to refurbish all the older rooms and really make this hotel THE place to stay .

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candyfloss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Having booked one of the garden suites we were looking forward to our stay. But when we got there the rooms were very shabby, with torn curtains lamp shades and very stained carpets. The plants that were there were covered in bugs and the balconys covered in dead leaves. The breakfast staff stood in the dinning room eating nuts etc from the breakfast buffet. I wrote to the hotel manager Mr Paul Forrest but 3 months later I have still not had a reply. Shame on you Sefton Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubymoon37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

This is a pleasant hotel which I stayed at for some 8 weeks on business in December 2008/January 2009. Whilst it is nice, clean and tidy, it is probably only really a 3 star by mainland standards. At the time I stayed there it was in need of modernisation and there was a distinctly musty smell about the hotel. In thw whole though, the breakfast was excellent, the service by the staff was good and the inner atrium a real feature. The rooms are variable, some have very small balaconies, other much larger and the sea view vary enormously. It is very centrally located and is recommended but it needs bringing into the 21st century.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTraveller192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Hi
I haven't stayed here personally. I booked this as a 50th wedding anniversary present for my parents-in-law. They had originally honeymooned on IOM but not been back since. The hotel gave them an upgrade to an Atrium room and there was also flowers, champagne and chocolates in the room. They enjoyed the stay and really appreciated these thoughtful touches.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idontplayfootball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

What a lovely hotel. From the moment of arrival the staff was brilliant. After parking outside and being told how to get to the private car park at the rear, one of the staff was there to see that we had no problem in parking.
Very friendly reception staff. Our room was great, good sized bed, nice furnishing. We had a room with balcony over looking the atrium where we could sit in comfort. Good Wi-Fi reception (free).
Breakfast was buffet style, plenty of choice and beautifully cooked and serviced with smart uniformed friendly staff.
Choice of restaurants for other meals, the 'Norman's Bar' was pleasant. We had our celebration meal in the ‘Gallery Restaurant' which was 1st. class, not cheap but worth every penny.
Situated on the promenade, a couple of minutes from the ferry port, and next door to the Variety Theatre, the Sefton is very handy for shopping and public transport.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcurle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I had he misfortune to stay at the Sefton Hotel last week whilst on business. Check in was dull and unwelcoming but the room was worse. I was allocated a sea view room which was welcome but the quality of decor in the corridors was staggeringly bad - stained carpets, ghastly plastic signage and peach wall paint that might have been considered attractive in the early 80's but certainly isn't now. The room was dreadful. Furniture that should be on the skip, a badly made bed but comfortable pillows. There was a considerable amount of water damage on the wall - see pic and I am staggered that the Manager felt that this almost derelict room was thought be to suitable for a guest. We went to Sir Norman's bar for a light dinner - sticky tables, sticky menus, a shocking range of 'heart attack on a plate' food and a terrible wine list. Please don't go there. Breakfast was almost worse: tinned fruit, fruit juice from concentrate and a hideous hot plate of congealing hot food that had been lurking for hours. All in all, a terrible hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank francophileonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.2 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
444 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: Harris Promenade, Douglas IM1 2RW
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Douglas
#5 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £71 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sefton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he 4-star Sefton Hotel is located in Douglas on the beachfront. It boasts a unique indoor water garden and eateries. The rooms at the Sefton feature flat-screen TVs, free WiFi and some rooms have views of Douglas Bay and the water garden. There are also luxury 5-star suites, complete with hot tubs, iPod docking stations and their own kitchenette. Enjoy a light bite, main meal or dessert in the themed Sir Norman's Bar and enjoy its extensive selection of wines and local ales. A more fine dining experience can be had in the Harbour Lights at The Sefton. The Sefton Hotel also boasts a tranquil pool and a library where guests can relax with a drink or a book. The Atrium Water Garden provides a stunning backdrop to enjoy a drink. The ferry port is a 10-minute walk away. Parking is available onsite, nominal parking charges apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sefton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Douglas
Sefton Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing