We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always up to expectations.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 14 North

14 North
Ranked #3 of 152 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, View, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always up to expectations.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We dined here on Saturday night. The meal was excellent as it always is, as was the service.
The steaks were done to perfection and our friend said it was the best steak he'd ever had. I had the cod which was delicious - the flakes just fell off and the sauce was to die for!
Will definitely be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Manxie52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    120
    32
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food - great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Excellent restaurant - would recommend - very popular so booking advised.

Lunchtime specials - will return

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodies675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Total Quality with the bonus of a wonderful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

A close friend had recommended this restaurant and that can sometimes be the 'kiss of death'. Not so on this occasion as the food, the service, the ambiance, the relatively modest cost and the excellent view over the harbour made it an evening to remember. My wife and I will certainly visit again in the New Year.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alanbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

Good service and overall a good choice of food. Group of 8 of us served relatively quickly. It's the second time I've visited 14 North in the last 18 months and both occasions everything was good.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoultFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

There were very few specials available, and the menu was small. The staff didn't seem to know the menu well, so we opted for something we knew - the food was nice, overpriced and the steak over cooked (more medium well than medium rare) - definitely had not been allowed to rest before plating as the water and juices were all over the plate making everything soggy!

Dessert: ice cream-not what was expected in fact not what was on the menu! Honeycomb ice cream was expected-we got vanilla with concrete honeycombs and a cookie which you need a saw with. From one extreme to another with the chocolate fondant which was raw inside! £40pp we paid and would not hurry back, after hearing good things about 14 North I certainly won't be back, what a disappointment!

Helpful?
1 Thank SWIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 14 North also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to 14 North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing