We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Winter Wonder”
Review of Athol House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athol House
Ranked #8 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Winter Wonder”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We stayed during the Winter European market time at Douglas and the high street is only a short walk past the Villa Marina and Theatre. A bus service also runs from the Promenade with a large beach on the door step.

Adrianne and Kate provide a warm welcome with plenty of local knowledge. They run a lovely and characteristic Victorian Guest House with clean and cosy rooms. Tea & coffee, a TV and Wi-Fi are available in rooms and great breakfast is available in a beautiful, charming dining room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    17
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
20
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Athol house for a weekend a few weeks ago. The location is ideal- right in the heart of Douglas just off the promenade. The building itself is a beautifully restored Victorian building, and our room was cosy, clean and tasteful decorated. Our room had everything we needed: en-suite, tv, wi-fi and lots of tea and coffee making facilities. However the best thing about this guest house is the owner, Adrianne, who went out of her way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was hearty and delicious with lots of choice. One of the best guest houses we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rahrahgabor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Adrianne always provides a warm welcome and friendly service that make staying at Athol House an absolute joy, she is a warm, kind and friendly person with plenty of funny stories and always up for a good chat, and she is a wonderful proprietor. Athol House is a lovely building has plenty of charm and character. The rooms are well appointed with a good supply of tea, coffee and milk along with a kettle, the beds are very comfortable with the finest bed linen we have seen at a guest house that kept us snuggly and warm during cold nights. The Athol provides lovely hearty breakfast which gives a good start to the day and is never to be missed with plenty to choose from. I have stayed at the Athol on a number of occasions over the past several years and the excellent quality of rooms and services has never faltered. I brought my partner with me for the first time this year and he is just as impressed. All in all the Athol is quite simply like a home away from home.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sudlow-Mckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Everything about this b&b is just spot on, the welcome was friendly, the rooms are spacious, well equipped and nicely furnished, in handy spot in Douglas. The best part is the owner, she is lovely and nothing is too much of a hassle. She even organised a day out for us. The breakfasts were delicious as well. All in all value for money and a lovely stay definitely would return.

Room Tip: The front family rooms we had were spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexwbradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Great place to stay, freindly, welcoming and within a stones throw of Douglas front and the Villa Marina.

A bit about the place:
Fairly old building thats been completely refurbished with double and single rooms all with en-suite, TV, Tea/Coffee making facilities and comfortable beds; rooms and communal areas were very clean and cleaned every day (we think they employed fairies because we never saw the cleaners but it was evident they'd been and cleaned/tidied your room)
Breakfast was excellent with a full range on offer combined with great and funny conversation with the owners.
Parking is on the road but seemed safe enough (remember to get a parking disc from the terminal tourist booth when you arrive, they're free)
Location was perfect for us with easy access to Douglas Front, Shops and Bars etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just back from the Island and really enjoyed our stay at the Athol. It is just across the road from the Villa Marina and is very clean and comfortable with a lovely breakfast, and lovely people running it. The only problem i could see were the steps up to the house, might not suit everybody.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADW55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Travelling to the Isle of Man as a 'side trip' whilst over from Australia visiting friends and family, Athol House turned out to be an excellent choice for our stay. Adrienne the owner is a delight - friendly and very helpful and we soon felt very much at home.

Our room was spacious with plenty of hanging and drawer space unlike a lot of hotels I've stayed in and there was always ample tea/coffee supplies. The ensuite was a good size and stocked with plenty of towels and toiletries. Bedding was lovely crisp white sheets and warm duvets. Room and ensuite cleaned daily.

Breakfast catered for every taste and you could order any combination as a cooked breakfast. Take away meals are also allowed to be eaten in the guest lounge and cutlery provided if not eating out in the evening.

If you have trouble with stairs you would need to request a room on the first floor as accommodation is spread over 4 floors.

Location is also ideal being located just off of the centre of the Douglas promenade. About 100m to the beach and promenade. A nearby bus stop is handy with buses stopping there if you are heading for the airport or into the town centre to connect up with other buses. A very good Indian restaurant Millenium Saagar is a few buildings away from Athol House, with another good spot to eat being Jaks about a 6 min walk away.

If we ever return to IoM would definitely stay there again. Thanks Adrienne for making our stay such a good one.

Room Tip: If can't manage a lot of stairs request a first floor one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoiraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
0.4 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Inglewood
Inglewood
#2 of 27 in Douglas
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athol House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athol House

Property: Athol House
Address: 3 Sherwood Terrace, Douglas IM2 4EN
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A clean, comfortable Guest house ideally situated in central Douglas opposite the Villa Marina complex and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Athol House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athol House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing