We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“holiday with my sons”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Athol House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athol House
Ranked #9 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“holiday with my sons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

The athol house is a very friendly hotel with the comfiest of beds. It was a very clean, and adrianne was very helpful and chatty. The breakfast was great what you wanted you could have, the hotel is situated 200yards from the promonade.
,

Room Tip: Room 3 is small but the best bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hugh f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    16
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
20
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portrush, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I was in Douglas on business mid March and stayed at Athol House for one night and was expecting the usual mediocre experience that comes with budget guest houses....how wrong I was! The owner greeted me upon my arrival and was extremely friendly and helpful.
Although there was an issue with my original room (in which I was reimbursed immediately) the room I had been moved to was very spacious and very clean. The Egyptian linen and mattress on the bed was very comfy and smelt very fresh.
The Wi-Fi signal for such a large house was strong and the guest living room was perfect to set my lap-top up to do work on.
For breakfast I asked for poached egg on toast with sausages and although not on the set menu there was no problem in preparing. Very tasty also.

This is the type of guest house that would make Alex Polizzi (Hotel Inspector) very proud as the attention to details such as cleanliness, comfort, attentiveness of the staff and the breakfast are 5 star. I will return

Neil H

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Westswell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Given the price of this B&B, I really wasn't expecting much at all. But I was pleasantly surprised! No it's not a luxury stay, but the room was freshly decorated, spotlessly clean, had good quality bedding and an incredibly thick (and comfy) mattress. The owners were exceptionally friendly without being intrusive. I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We booked two rooms at the Athol House hotel during the Manx GP week and found it to be eminently clean,comfortable and well run. Adrienne and her Daughter Kate worked tirelessly to ensure we enjoyed our stay and I can't recommend the guest house highly enough! A great B&B in the old tradition - and excellent value!

Room Tip: My friends were disabled and found the stairs difficult but Adrienne managed to find them a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Athol House what a great place to stay.Lovely friendly family,They could not do enough for you.
first class in cleanliness. this was my second visit and I will return again.
Amazing breakfast. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is a home from home for me. It is family run, the rooms are crisp, spotless and the decor in the rooms is like new. The full english is the best ever, AND...it is only 20 seconds away from the Prom and the nearest bus stop!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely as I think Ive probably stayed in them all. No problem with noise, but as i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbbphotoUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

Everyone were so friendly and helpful. They could not do enough to ensure that my stay was enjoyable, the breakfasts were something else. The room was very clean and tidy. I recommend the Athol House unreservedly. It is excellent!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peski06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.5 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Edelweiss Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Devonian
The Devonian
#3 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athol House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athol House

Property: Athol House
Address: 3 Sherwood Terrace, Douglas IM2 4EN
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A clean, comfortable Guest house ideally situated in central Douglas opposite the Villa Marina complex and Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Athol House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athol House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing