We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water available for showers”
Review of Caledonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caledonia Hotel
Ranked #14 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No hot water available for showers”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Terrible attitude of owners. Arrived for a weeks holiday, expecting a decent b&b. On the first night no hot water so we told the owners, they said they would turn the boiler up.By the third day still no hot water, they said it was because the number of guests in the hotel, total number was ten.They said they didn't have hot water to wash up with.Didn't stay a minute longer checked out. How this place got 3 stars witjout providing the basics of hot water.Don't stay here unless you like cold showers.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1hle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    30
    16
    3
    5
See reviews for
26
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013 via mobile

Had a small double room at the front of the building with a great sea veiw room was ok as we got a cheap deal including ferry fairs.
Chinese owners seemed fine and polite, didnt rate the breakfast, bit small for me and got the kippers on the last day, mistake!!! The hotel is at the far end of the prom and doubles as a chinese resturant at night which was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmoore1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Got a half price deal for 2 nights. Room sea view, clean and large. Bathroom clean, all working order. Staff helpful. Only downside is the noise at times from the Chinese restaurant downstairs, we were in room 5. Also breakfast tasted of Chinese, probably fried hash browns in same oil as previous nights meals. We went out for the 2nd days breakfast. Wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Sea view third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballina co mayo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We are just after returning from our annual holiday in the Isle of Man. We are going to the Island for the past 16 years on our holidays. We have stayed at the Caladonia for the past four years and all I can say about Mrs Hayman and her staff (Ruby and Eric) is you would not find nicer people anywhere. They cannot do enough for you. Food is brilliant rooms are clean and warm. We will be back again next year for our annual two week holiday. Looking forward to going back to the Caladonia. Thank you for a good holiday.
Maureen &Joe Henry.
Mayo.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureenh_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here with both my team and another medical and rescue team for Rally Isle of Man 2012. very friendly Chinese staff who couldn't have been more helpful. We had to have early breakfasts to which we ordered and they cooked, rooms were clean, tidy and comfortable. The Wednesday night Chinese Banquet is very good value. The hotel offers free wifi - something I have had to pay for in hotels three times the price and parking wasn't too difficult. Good location for The Queens Hotel (best Guinness on the Island). Will certainly use here again next year.

Room Tip: Sea View is £2.50 per night but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardofCalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We've stayed here a number of times now and have always found the staff to be very kind, pleasant and helpful. The prices are very reasonable and the breakfast is lovely. For the prices the Caledonian charge I don't know how anyone can complain. Its clean, its fairly modern and its right on the sea front.

We take our two small dogs with us and they have always been made very welcome, obviously our dogs are never left in the rooms on their own and they are trained and well behaved but it's a relief to be able to stay somewhere as clean as the Caledonian that will accept pets.

Room Tip: we always choose room 5 on the first floor because it has a nice bay window overlooking the Promenad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanjeannie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Prior to arrival we were advised they had double booked one of our rooms, had booked us in next door though so were happy enough. Arrived to be told there was no cot in our room yet, that there hadn't been a single occupancy room booked- there had! A lot of confusion followed, had to wait on someone else coming to sort out issue. Meanwhile advised room for baby was on the 4th floor- no mention of a lift when we complained it wasn't practical! We decided to have the room next door for us and our little girl as it a was lower floor with a lift! The lady then told us off saying the baby was to have stayed in her hotel
And that we had taken her cot next door so we better bring it back! All In all poor service, blaming us for their incompetency in the booking! Defensive and overall unhelpful! Turns out there was a lift there after all! Rooms small, decor dated, most of our party had to make do with cold showers as hot water ran out every day! During breakfast the first morning the waitress told us to pay for the rooms after breakfast- attitude not
great and disturbing Our meal demanding we pay again poor service/ manners! Location is good on the promenade however there are numerous
more modern Hotels available! Would never stay again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonia Hotel

Property: Caledonia Hotel
Address: Caledonia Hotel 17 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Caledonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonia Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing