We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hard working and excellent value for money”
Review of Caledonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Caledonia Hotel
Ranked #17 of 32 Douglas B&B and Inns
Ledbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“hard working and excellent value for money”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great family run hotel with excellent facilities for the money. Super breakfasts every day ...excellent kippers !!

I left my headphones behind and they posted them on ... very kind and thoughtful of them !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrchrisedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    32
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
27
31
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in the Caledonia from 24-27th April. On arrival we felt our room was a bit small so Mrs Hayman was only too happy to relocate us to a much bigger room - she even carried our luggage for us. The sea view room was spacious, clean, warm, free wi-fi, tea making facilities etc, plenty hot water and a lift to all floors. Breakfast was cooked to order and served hot to your table with the offer of extra tea and toast. Unlike other hotels on the Queens Prom the Caledonia has only 4 steps to climb to enter the hotel which for me was great and is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: If you have stayed here before and liked your room - remember the number and Mrs Hayman will do her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryW799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My Sister and law and myself stayed last weekend on a deal break and we were treated no different than a full paying customer. Mrs Hayman is a very good host. The food was superb and the room was lovely with a great shower!

We had a great time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biggles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights but only stayed one. The first impression of the room, room 19, was ok, but then we got on the bed and could feel the springs poking out. We complained and they turned the mattress over and put an extra duvet between us and the mattress. It didn't help. We then tried to shower in the evening but couldn't as the shower and sink only ran with ice cold water. We skipped the evening shower in the hope of getting a warm one in the morning. Alas, still ice cold water from the taps. We complained again and the owner displayed no concern so we checked out and went elsewhere. Let this be a warning if you stay here!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MattMitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We bought a special discount voucher including an evening meal in the hotels excellent Chinese restaurant (The Imperial Dragon) followed by an overnight stay and full breakfast.

The food was very good both during the evening meal and at breakfast. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. We had a sea view, which was lovely and the room was well appointed and clean. We will definitely stay again.

There is plenty of parking close by and the hotel does have a lift. Value for money is excellent!

Room Tip: Wednesday night is Banquet night in the restaurant which is very good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manxman12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Had a four night stay over the New Year period in a small back bedroom on the second floor despite there being only one other hotel guest! Yes we were offered a room with a view but as we live on the coast anyway didn't see the point in paying extra.

The shower room/toilet had to be negotiated sideways as it was so small so is no good for anyone carrying any extra pounds!

Friendly manager and hotel owner who came each morning to cook the breakfast. But oh dear the evening waitress could barely understand the English language so orders were continually repeated even for a jug of iced water which arrived as a couple of ice cubes in a glass which she then poured water onto before taking the jug away again! Also completely forgot to bring the rice to accompany the meal which as we were short for time did without. On bringing this to the managers attention he did give us a 50% discount but it was a shame as the meal did taste very good and they were not at all busy!

Regarding the hotels décor its clearly due refurbishment throughout along with most seafront hotels in Douglas. Some are being updated but it was also sad to see most establishments were closed so really not much choice during the winter months. Not much going on either so don't bother with the IOM in winter unless you're into masochistic wet winter walks!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I Made My Reservation Over The Phone From The US And Confirmed Via Email. I Did Receive A Midnight Phone Call From My Credit Card Company A Few Weeks Later When TheyTried To Run My Card Prior To My Stay. I Called And Didn't Get A Good Explanation.
Location Is Nice--Right On The Main Drag. I Walked From The Ferry. Checking In And GettingTo My Room Was Easy. They Do Have A Small Lift, which Was Nice. (The Other Place I StayedIn Douglas, The Ellan Vannin, Was Amazing (!), But I Was On The Top Floor With No Lift.)
Breakfast Was Standard, But Nice.
Check Out Is At 10, Which I FoundTo Be Early. It Took Me Longer To Repack Than I Anticipated And At 9:55, I Had A Knock AtThe Door From A Woman (Staff) Telling Me They Would Charge Me If I Didn't Get Moving. I've Never Had Something Like That Happen anywhere, And Couldn't Believe They Were Pressuring Me Five Minutes Before Check Out. It Wouldn't Be My First Choice In Douglas, But It Wouldn't Be My Last Either.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgrace33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 17 in Douglas
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledonia Hotel

Property: Caledonia Hotel
Address: Caledonia Hotel 17 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caledonia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Caledonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonia Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing