We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull stay”
Review of At Caledonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
At Caledonia
Ranked #24 of 37 Douglas B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We stay here for 7 nights in May. Can't fault anything, We had 2 sea view double rooms, which were very clean and comfortable, great view of the bay. Breakfast was great, good choice every morning. Great for free parking outside the hotel. Wednesday night all you can eat buffet is excellent value. Would definitely go back in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

Great family run hotel with excellent facilities for the money. Super breakfasts every day ...excellent kippers !!

I left my headphones behind and they posted them on ... very kind and thoughtful of them !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrchrisedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in the Caledonia from 24-27th April. On arrival we felt our room was a bit small so Mrs Hayman was only too happy to relocate us to a much bigger room - she even carried our luggage for us. The sea view room was spacious, clean, warm, free wi-fi, tea making facilities etc, plenty hot water and a lift to all floors. Breakfast was cooked to order and served hot to your table with the offer of extra tea and toast. Unlike other hotels on the Queens Prom the Caledonia has only 4 steps to climb to enter the hotel which for me was great and is reasonably priced.

Room Tip: If you have stayed here before and liked your room - remember the number and Mrs Hayman will do her...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryW799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My Sister and law and myself stayed last weekend on a deal break and we were treated no different than a full paying customer. Mrs Hayman is a very good host. The food was superb and the room was lovely with a great shower!

We had a great time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggles2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

We booked for 2 nights but only stayed one. The first impression of the room, room 19, was ok, but then we got on the bed and could feel the springs poking out. We complained and they turned the mattress over and put an extra duvet between us and the mattress. It didn't help. We then tried to shower in the evening but couldn't as the shower and sink only ran with ice cold water. We skipped the evening shower in the hope of getting a warm one in the morning. Alas, still ice cold water from the taps. We complained again and the owner displayed no concern so we checked out and went elsewhere. Let this be a warning if you stay here!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank MattMitcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We bought a special discount voucher including an evening meal in the hotels excellent Chinese restaurant (The Imperial Dragon) followed by an overnight stay and full breakfast.

The food was very good both during the evening meal and at breakfast. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. We had a sea view, which was lovely and the room was well appointed and clean. We will definitely stay again.

There is plenty of parking close by and the hotel does have a lift. Value for money is excellent!

Room Tip: Wednesday night is Banquet night in the restaurant which is very good value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manxman12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Had a four night stay over the New Year period in a small back bedroom on the second floor despite there being only one other hotel guest! Yes we were offered a room with a view but as we live on the coast anyway didn't see the point in paying extra.

The shower room/toilet had to be negotiated sideways as it was so small so is no good for anyone carrying any extra pounds!

Friendly manager and hotel owner who came each morning to cook the breakfast. But oh dear the evening waitress could barely understand the English language so orders were continually repeated even for a jug of iced water which arrived as a couple of ice cubes in a glass which she then poured water onto before taking the jug away again! Also completely forgot to bring the rice to accompany the meal which as we were short for time did without. On bringing this to the managers attention he did give us a 50% discount but it was a shame as the meal did taste very good and they were not at all busy!

Regarding the hotels décor its clearly due refurbishment throughout along with most seafront hotels in Douglas. Some are being updated but it was also sad to see most establishments were closed so really not much choice during the winter months. Not much going on either so don't bother with the IOM in winter unless you're into masochistic wet winter walks!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
1 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
1 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
356 reviews
0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#12 of 15 in Douglas
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Caledonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Caledonia

Address: Caledonia Hotel 17 Palace Terrace, Queens Promenade, Douglas IM2 4NE
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range: £45 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — At Caledonia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At caledonia is located in Douglas bay, 3 star rate Guest House. we have a Chinese restaurant on the first floor, serving a la carte menu food from 5.30pm to 11.00pm. Our aim is provided a clean comfortable bed and a good breakfast for our guest in the budget price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your At Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Caledonia Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing