We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for dinner”
Review of The Courthouse

The Courthouse
Ranked #25 of 155 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
524 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Good choice for dinner”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A group of 7 of us spent last night here for dinner. Friendly service, but originally we were seated in the booths in the bar area, but the music was far to loud even at 8pm so we asked to be moved into the restaurant. We ordered one of the £20 tapas plates, which is served on a massive slate. Excellent. My cheese & bacon burger was massive, and very tasty. Overall a good choice for a informal dinner.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyBoy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    67
    24
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Came here with my brothers, we wanted the fajitas but when we arrived the menu said fajitas were only served until 6pm. Bit strange not to serve the fajitas at dinner time. The waitress was friendly but foreign and had difficultly understanding when we asked for cod and chip - it's called beer battered chips on the menu. The menu also said to check the specials board for the soup of the day and other specials but there were no boards displayed. Two other tables arrived whilst we were there a couple and then a table of 3/4 people, wasn't much of an atmosphere. Food was presented nicely although some of the lettuce leaves in my burger were partly black, so I picked them out. I also Rocket leaves in my burger which wasn't in the description on the menu.

Helpful?
Thank Carlycakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Night, relaxing atmosphere! :-)”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Popped into the Courthouse for 1 drink and ended up staying all night.
Atmosphere was very welcoming; staff were attentive; drinks very reasonably prices (especially the cocktails!)
A great night out :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IOM
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Nice place, the food wasn't great on this occasion but I know they can do better, very friendly staff and some comfortable seating. On the downside it does get quite hot in there when it is full.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IOMgirlie63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful building and food was good.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Wowed by the outside and it really looks a classy venue. Absolutely spotless and gleaming inside. Set in the financial district which perhaps explains the relatively high prices. It was also a Saturday lunch time and we were the only customers for the hour we spent for lunch. We were sat in the booths of the restaurant which perhaps were a little too dark. The food came though and it was of a high quality so no complaints.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courthouse also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to The Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing