We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meal out”

Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 153 Restaurants in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are delighted to add a fourth location to our family of restaurants. Previously known as Copperfields Edwardian Restaurant, our new central Douglas location is a perfect mix of old world charm and great seasonal food. Already famous throughout the island, you’ll discover everything you love about Harbour Lights right in the centre of Douglas. Open daily from 10am for Breakfast, we also offer our famous comfort classics menu throughout the day featuring the very best of local produce. Sample our welsh rarebit with smoked salmon or huge beer battered cod served with seasonal vegetables and potato of the day. Alternatively take a break from shopping and pop in for a quick coffee and cake, served all day.Our entire team (many of whom will be familiar) look forward to welcoming you to our beautiful new location.
000001
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“meal out”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

arrived at the harbour lights on sat last week staff running around all flustered needed more staff on as it was a packed restaurant, we had a table sat right next to two other couples no room to move or relax stuck right in the middle, we asked to move downstairs which we did not organised and tables hadnt been cleared looked a right mess, server arrived to take order and order for drinks we had a pint of lager and real lemonade. we ordered garlic mushrooms and queenies garlic mushrooms greasy and gave indigestion later on, we then had salmon for main and steak, asked for steak to be well done this was rare salmon small asked for mash and got new potatoes we then sat downstairs waiting for the bill and no sign of any server we wont be going back no organising of restaurant and pricey for food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 00000000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HarbourLights-IOM, Guest Relations Manager at Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear guest,

I was sorry to hear about your recent visit to Harbour Lights - Douglas. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you in more detail and ultimately put this right. If you could spare a few moments please contact us at customerservice@harbour-lights.net

Many thanks for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback.

Ben @ HL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    62
    24
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch in a relaxing atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

One of the things to go there.....scones-amazing.The best which I ever had.With nice cream and jam.Really delicious.Recommend it.Service-really friendly and quickly.Turkey lunch-taste and quit big portion.My girlfriend had a Christmas Pudding with brandy sauce-excellent.Just to say lovely place in the middle of the capital.We will deffinitly go back.Thanks for everything.

Helpful?
Thank Vladimir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a lovely meal here. Beautifully cooked fish! The staff were very friendly even when we stayed late. Definitely recommend

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MA402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Time Travel IOM”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Arrived at 7.58pm on a Saturday night in the middle of the 'capitol' of Isle of Man. "Sitdown quickly, we're about to close." What a great attitude from the teenage staff - they don't set the opening times. Felt like 1975 - prawn cocktail was on the menu. Sadly no french onion soup, duck a l'orange, nor Black Forest gateaux.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatrickQ186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mile End
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quirky...Step back in time with service and quality food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We are 4 Aussies traveling the UK who went on recommendation from our B&B Owner . Initially it seems a bit "dowdy" and old fashioned. But the service is old fashioned... the staff are extremely polite and helpful, and the food was delicious.The meals were a sensible portion size. After 6 weeks of traveling it was totally different experience to most restaurants and pubs encountered.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deanbO1363QG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Harbour Lights Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing