We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent curries but chapattis from a packet”
Review of Chillies - CLOSED

Chillies
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Seating
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent curries but chapattis from a packet”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to some authentic chapattis but was quite disgusted with the packet chapattis that were served up. Quite underwhelmed by the place and service which has a lot more potential.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller2357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    1
    2
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great food, great view and friendly staff”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Sat in the window. Staff attended well. Never short of a beer. On my own, and the owner made me welcome and came to chat. Lovely place, good tasty food, and the naan was especially fresh.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smallcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent stuff - my favourite IOM Indian”
Reviewed 16 April 2013

I've eaten in all the Indian's in the IOM and this is definitely my favourite.

There's plenty of parking just across the promenade and this makes access easy. The restaurant is at the very northern end of Douglas Prom and the view from the front window is excellent on a calm dusky evening.

Service is always reasonably quick and friendly and the menu has all the old favourites and a selection of house specialities. I am a regular and always have the same

Starter - Chicken Tikka
Chunks of marinaded chicken served with a small side salad (although the lettuce is a little bland:-))

Main - Chicken 65
Madras hot chciken dish served in a thick sauce

Extra - Chillie Naan

The food is always hot (and hot). The naan impregnated with chillies means that for a chillie head, you can choose from the whole menu and get your "chillie hit" without ordering vindaloo.

The only disappointment is that the never seem to have chillie ice cream any more so no dessert for me!

Finally, price-wise, this restaurant is in the Isle of Man. Local property prices mean that the cost of eating out is much higher than in the nort west of the UK. Don't expect to pay Rusholme prices!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank piebaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Indian Restaraunt”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

As other have written about the bland food , I agree , lettuce somehow always tastes bland but the rest of the food and service in this restaurant is very very good , been there tonight and everything was bob on ( lettuce a bit bland) Very well priced for the Isle of Man , papadums, two starters , two mains , three glasses of wine and bottled water £52.00 , no complaints with that , Isle of man is not the cheapest place to live.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas Isle of Man
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Went with a party of 12. Service was reasonably quick. The choice of curries on the menu where good. the food was seved hot and was cooked to a good standard.

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chillies also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing