We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good restaurant!”
Review of Portofino

Portofino
Ranked #84 of 161 Restaurants in Douglas
Price range: US$9 - US$35
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Portofino was opened at 18:15 on the 19th November 2010, as the Island's most prestigious Mediterranean and International restaurant. Dominating the Quay West development, centrally located in the Isle of Man's capital Douglas, Portofino enjoys spectacular views overlooking the marina, with activity of the street outside, visible through floor to ceiling windows. The grill, fish, poultry, meat and vegetables are prepared in full view of diners at the surrounding kitchen. During summer, outside tables are available for dinning. Portafino's interior was designed by Sicilian owner Mario Ciapelli. Its interior is complemented by high-back leather chairs, a modern cocktail serving bar and contemporary lighting throughout to provide a luxury and modern yet comfortable enviroment for diners. The restaurant also provides diners with the option to book the Xander Suite, a private dining room which can accommodate up to 30 guests.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

We had a dinner on a busy Saturday night, service was good, all the food was excellent, especially the fresh local lobster, and the local specialty scallops 'Queenies'.. It is not cheap by the general Island standards, but reslly delivers a quality meal! Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Markqn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    37
    23
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Douglas
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“There is no better”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Being a regular customer is of course an advantage but even so this has to be the best restaurant in Douglas if not the Isle Of Man.
I have read the reviews about how expensive it is and I agree that it is but what price do you put on an exceptional meal and fantastic service?
The cost is of your making.
£25 for fillet may seem extreme but my god it's a fantastic steak and well worth the money.
If you are visiting the IOM and want to indulge then try Portofino.
In my opinion it has to be the best place in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Man9570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent quality food, great ambience”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We went out as a group of 10 for dinner at Portofino, everybody got their food served at the same time - the staff were courteous, helpful and attentive (but not over-attentive). The house wines were good (as a group we sampled red, rose and white - all were happy with their choices). A good selection of food, well served, very good quality. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We were checking out a few places to eat on the Saturday night around the Quay-side area.
We called into Portofino in the afternoon & spoke to Mario (the owner) who said although they were very busy that night he would get us in at about 9pm. It was our anniversary & we wanted something special - and boy was it !! The food was stunning, al the courses were delicious - i had the manx beef - it was beautifully cooked and tender. All the staff were very friendly and attentative. It was a little more than we would normally pay (but you have to pay for quality) - and we had a most enjoyable anniversary evening there. Highly recommended. Thank you Mario & staff & hope to visit you again sometime.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vghill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

One of my favorite restaurants on the Isle of Man.

Its clearly aiming to be a high end place - and it mostly succeeds.

The food has always been good. Its not cheap - but you can spend a lot more for a lot worse.

Great place for a special occasion or business meeting.

I can particularly recommend lobster with garlic butter there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank reddal l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portofino also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing