We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Excellent Restaurant”
Review of Portofino

Portofino
Ranked #88 of 154 Restaurants in Douglas
Price range: US$9 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Portofino was opened at 18:15 on the 19th November 2010, as the Island's most prestigious Mediterranean and International restaurant. Dominating the Quay West development, centrally located in the Isle of Man's capital Douglas, Portofino enjoys spectacular views overlooking the marina, with activity of the street outside, visible through floor to ceiling windows. The grill, fish, poultry, meat and vegetables are prepared in full view of diners at the surrounding kitchen. During summer, outside tables are available for dinning. Portafino's interior was designed by Sicilian owner Mario Ciapelli. Its interior is complemented by high-back leather chairs, a modern cocktail serving bar and contemporary lighting throughout to provide a luxury and modern yet comfortable enviroment for diners. The restaurant also provides diners with the option to book the Xander Suite, a private dining room which can accommodate up to 30 guests.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excellent Restaurant”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was our second evening meal on Saturday 15th March, this is one of the best Italian restaurants, excellent, elegant and sophisticated, Mario and all his staff are friendly and helpful.
Good choice of starters, mains and deserts, all well presented and food cooked to perfection.
This is one of the best restaurants in Douglas, good location, would have no hesitation of recommending this restaurant to anyone.
Book this restaurant to ensure your not disappointed
Thanks for an enjoyable evening - Uncle & Nephew

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Torremolinos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Amazing Valentines Menu”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

My bf took me to Portofino for Valentines and we had their special V day menu. We had a lovely night, the food was amazing and the champagne cocktail was awesome! The staff were so friendly and the restaurant had been decorated so nicely. I highly recommend Portofino if you want a lovely meal!! They even have a hair dryer and straighteners in the girls bathroom which is great, it had been pouring down and my newly straightened hair had frizzed up so they came in really handy!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJerseyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota / Isle of Man
Level Contributor
83 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Delightful -- but at too high a price”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

A lunch together with an old friend on a rainy Wednesday. Portofino was nearby, and we both wanted to try it.
Ambience: very appealing to the eye, light and airy, elegant, comfortable, pleasant views down the port, crisp clean linens, impeccable table settings, tables well separated, and a handsome well-stocked bar.
Service: excellent throughout our meal; unobtrusive but timely, never a need to ask for anything apart from ordering our drinks and food.
Menu: stacked with choices within the set price luncheons:-
Starters: soup, pate, calamari or melon; plus (for extra price) queenies or smoked salmon.
Main courses: salmon, pork loin, chicken vol-au-vent, or pasta; plus (for extra price) fillet steak or halibut.
Desserts: pavlova, creme brulee or lemon tart.
Prices for the set lunch menus are: £11.50 for 1 course; £16 for 2 courses; £20 for 3 courses.
The food quality is high, and the presentation photo-worthy. The sauces were all delicious, particularly the thermidor that accompanied a queenies starter. However, the roast pork loin chosen for one of our main courses was less tender than expected. Still, excellent food, beautifully presented and served.
My only gripe is over the prices. If one sticks religiously to the basic choices, then perhaps the prices are tolerable, especially in view of Portofino's delightful ambience. But if one strays off-basic, ordering the fillet steak as did my companion, then the pricing can become quickly ridiculous. That steak cost £26,45. It was good, but she'd recently eaten several better, and for considerably less money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManxJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunchtime Bargain”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Had a business lunch here recently with 3 colleagues. We ate from the Lunchtime Menu and it was spectacularly good value. 3 Courses for £20? (and there was plenty of choice for starters, mains and desserts too.) £20? You'd pay that in a pub on the seafront for 3 courses. Staff were attentive without being fussy and the food was fabulous. My number 1 lunchtime venue on the Island now.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank guy7766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family dinner”
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

A large family dinner arranged at short notice. The food and staff were all excellent with youngish children accommodated and off-menu food offered. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portofino also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing