We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely evening”
Review of Portofino

Portofino
Ranked #88 of 154 Restaurants in Douglas
Price range: US$9 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Portofino was opened at 18:15 on the 19th November 2010, as the Island's most prestigious Mediterranean and International restaurant. Dominating the Quay West development, centrally located in the Isle of Man's capital Douglas, Portofino enjoys spectacular views overlooking the marina, with activity of the street outside, visible through floor to ceiling windows. The grill, fish, poultry, meat and vegetables are prepared in full view of diners at the surrounding kitchen. During summer, outside tables are available for dinning. Portafino's interior was designed by Sicilian owner Mario Ciapelli. Its interior is complemented by high-back leather chairs, a modern cocktail serving bar and contemporary lighting throughout to provide a luxury and modern yet comfortable enviroment for diners. The restaurant also provides diners with the option to book the Xander Suite, a private dining room which can accommodate up to 30 guests.
Cardiff, Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A lovely evening”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Our group of 5 ranging in age from 12 years old to 70+ had a wonderful evening here in August while we were staying with relatives on the Isle of Man. It was a Monday night and so the restaurant was very quiet but I was glad to hear from the staff that they get busy at weekends - so they should! Service was excellent, and all the dishes were outstanding with careful attention to preparation, presentation and flavour. The decor and ambience were perfect for a happy memorable evening. Definitely on our to do list for a return visit the next time we are on the island!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JimCardiffresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Be prepared to get your socks blown off!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I went for our anniversary meal at Portofino for the very first time after being reluctant to go for years because of the perception of being too expensive and quantity vs value ratio not being worth it.

Well, could I have been any more wrong? No.

The food was excellent and the service was outstanding! The class that the restaurant has is second to none in the island.

Will definitely be back more often!

Thank you!!

Dario and Gemma

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DarioP1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberfeldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This a lovely restaurant with a fabulous view overlooking the marina. The meal was good but I found the noise level of other diners difficult to cope with which detracted from the meal a little. I had excellent lobster & prawns in linguini, delicious.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
140 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very Special Restaurant”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went on Seniors day of the TT it was very busy but the service and food was very good. We were made to feel welcome on our arrival our daughter is vegetarian and they made a meal specially for her which she really enjoyed. You could see 90% of the people eating there were regulars and local. It seemed a place that people like to go to be made feel special and it was the sort of place that people liked to be seen to go there to be in with the in crowd.
All food very well presented and we all cleared our plates. A place for a treat and dress up not down .
Don't go there if you are on tight budget it was expensive but it was worth the money

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JillThompson02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“"Stuffy" and expensive”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went for an evening meal with friends as a special treat but were all disappointed with the quality of both the service and the food. Given the high prices, one would expect something a little bit special, but sadly, this was not the case. The food was very average and the staff quite unfriendly.

This was a first visit to Portofino and we had high expectations. However, we won't be returning and would not recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cctgrt i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portofino also viewed

Douglas, Isle of Man
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing