We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Welbeck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

My second visit to this hotel,warm welcome,room was clean,plenty of room,trouser press,iron,great shower!Evening meal was excellent,breakfast set me up for the rest of the day.Whilst there isn't a carpark,I had no difficulty parking in the street and with free wi-fi I was able to catch up on emails.

Room Tip: On business trip,so not worried about a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staffsman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    72
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
121
28
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stay at the Welbeck several times a year. Can not praise this hotel highly enough. The rooms are spacious and cleaned to a very high standard each day. The staff are the friendliest you will come across. The food is excellent, always plan to eat elsewhere for one night of our visit , but the food is so good in the hotel we never do. Would recommend staying at the Welbeck to anyone visiting this lovely Island. Looking forward to our first visit of the year in May. It really is home from home . Linda & Andy

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Stayed here with family for a long weekend. The rooms were good with great views from the room at the front of the hotel and not much of a view from the side of the hotel as the windows overlooked a small yard. The rooms were very spacious with everything you need. I especially liked the Horlicks and decaf coffee. The two water bottles each day and the pocket size guide book were very useful as we were out all day exploring the island. The only tiny bad thing about our room at the front of the hotel was that it got really hot, but we opened the large windows, so it wasn't really a problem.

All the staff we encountered at this hotel were very nice, helpful and sercive minded. The hotel receptionist answered all our questions and sold us tickets for the trains and buses and gave us directions. The bar area is also very nice and not loud. We had drinks in the bar a couple of nights and the staff here are also very polite. There is also a computer with free internet access in the bar area wich was useful when we were looking up restaurants to go to in the evening. We had breakfast each morning and dinner once in the hotel's own restaurant. Breakfast was good, however the dinner was not what you would expect from a hotel, more like a cheap pub. The staff working in the restaurant are very nice and helpful, it is just a shame the food is not up to the same good level as their service.

The location of the hotel itself is set back a little bit from the promenade, but we still had a great sea view fro our room. The electric railway is within walking distance and so is the main area of the town, although it is a long walk to the main town especially if you have been out all day. There are very few pubs and restaurants in Douglas and they do not advertise themselves very well. If you are going to the steam railway I would recommend taking the bus rather than walking.

All in all, this is a very good hotel with everything you need and more in the rooms, very professional and friendly staff, however I would recommend eating out in the evening until they get their standard for the evening restaurant up.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellas_adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you for your review which was mainly positive. I note that you stayed in May which was a month after we parted company with the previous chef who had been with us for five years. His replacement is young and talented but at that stage quite new to his current level of responsibility and is learning all the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We booked the Welbeck following a promotion and although it was rated as only having 3 stars, the reviews were positive. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a lovely, spacious room with a view of the sea. Our accommodation was spotless, well presented and equipped and could easily have met a 4 star rating. The staff were extremely obliging and the breakfast excellent as was the service. We would highly recommend the Welbeck.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank abandbarbseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in the Welbeck Hotel. Friendly staff and great service. We enjoyed the meals we ate in the restaurant. Again good value. The room was perfect for our needs.
Monique and Denis (Australia)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MCC1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

I stayed at the Welbeck on business through the winter of 2010/11 and it was great. The Welbeck is spotless and very comfortable with a decent menu and good facilities although understandably Douglas is very quiet this time of year. Parking nearby was not a problem.

The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickAFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Hi, stayed in the Welbeck with my 13yr old son for 9 nights at end of July. We really enjoyed our stay, every member of staff was courteous and friendly. Breakfast was excellent and nicely cooked with nice selection of cereals and juices. Room, neat and tidy and cleaned every day. We had a deluxe twin room
Which had a view down the street to the sea which was nice. The Tv was great but didn't get the stations as advertised, but the free Wifi made up for that as we were able to pull in our Sky Tv service over the net :-)
The bar was a nice but very quiet, even though I did mange to meet some nice friendly people to chat to and a very nice night porter :-)
We used the free passes to the pool and gym just the once but it is a great added free extra. A few things to be aware of, parking outside is free but on a big hill, small walk down the hill gets you to promenade and the horse trams/bus. Corridors are narrow and lift is quite small. Some mornings housekeeping were a bit early trying to clean the room, but the Do Not Distrub sign stoppe that. Finishing breakfast at 930 during the week is a bit early as people are on holidays, so maybe finish at 10/10:30.

Overall an excellent place to stay and I will be recommending it to friends and if i get the chance to return to Isle of Man the Welbeck will be my first choice to book

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhotoBillyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palace Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Property: The Welbeck Hotel
Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#2 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing