We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Welbeck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed each one.
The hotel is located very centrally off the promenade. Which meant we could easily travel to the electric railway or the other way into Douglas town centre.
We had intended Gondar out each night but were unable to find anywhere suitable and so decided to eat at the hotel. We were very glad we did. The food and service was excellent.
The food choices were excellent as was then quality and the service.
Breakfast was just as good.
We would not hesitate ton recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2012

As the hotel was full, I was upgraded to an apartment, and with a sea view!!! The apartment was well furnished and immaculate.
This is a family-run hotel where attention to detail was obvious throughout. Welcoming, wonderful, friendly staff in the hotel, bar and restaurant. Breakfast and dinner were excellent, with a wide choice on the menu (no problems for vegetarians here!) and both presentation and quality were of a high standard. I spoke to several local people who eat at the restaurant regularly and spoke very highly of it.

Situated just off the main promenade, so quieter, but ideal for public transport.

A highly recommended hotel and restaurant!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tafwys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I spent a four day break last week in the hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the bedroom was first class. The bathroom was well equipped with a bath and shower plus a hand shower for hair washing. I had my evening meals in the bar which were delicious and good value for money. I hope to return next year for a longer time

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scooter551726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Travelled to Isle of Man with two friends, had a three bed room for £120.00. Room was really nice and spacious, but no soap in the bathroom which was strange.

All the Staff were really friendly and allowed us to keep our bicycles in the hotel until the rental company collected.

Customer lift was shocking, only room for two.

Bar was great and stayed open late.

Breakfast was average at best.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arfon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel I cannot commend enough! The rooms, and the fact the hotel, are extremely comfortable, and decorated with excellent taste. The reception staff were warm, friendly and most helpful. It has a reputation for good food, and the staff, a bit slow, but were smart and generally efficient. The quiet location is ideal for the promenade, two minutes down the steep hill, for horse trams and buses. The town and the Electric Mountain Railway are in easy walking distance. A would certainly return there again.

Room Tip: The higher the better for sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finntrainfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Everything excellent as usual, can't praise highly enough. Room, food, staff the most friendly you will ever come accross, we are back again in September, can't arrive soon enough. Anybody thinking of visiting the Island the Welbeck is a must.
Thanks for a lovely time. Linda & Andy

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The Welbeck Hotel has to be one of the friendliest hotels I've stayed in with a level of service that is hard to beat. The room was very well appointed with tea and coffee facilities, a fridge, hair dryer, ironing board and trouser press and a good sized safe to keep your valuables in (I used it to store my laptop). An excellent shower over the full size bath and always plenty of hot water available.

The breakfast was an excellent start to the day with fruit, cereals, yoghurt, juice etc and a freshly cooked hot selection ranging from scrambled egg on toast all the way through to a full Manx breakfast with two poached eggs, bacon, beans, sausage, black pudding, mushrooms, tomato and toast with as much tea or coffee as you wanted.

The evening meal in the dining room was equally impressive with attentive waiter/waitress service and a TDH option for an excellent 3 course meal. We ordered dinner whilst sat at the bar and were then taken through to the dining room when dinner was ready to be served.

The bar area is a great place to get together with friends and we also tried the bar menu. It has to be said there was no discernible difference in the quality of what was served, with equal care and attention to ensure our satisfaction.

The hotel is situated just one road back from the Promenade so means that any of the noise associated with the sea front is avoided but it's only a minute to walk to the beach or a five minute walk to the Villa Marina where the main bars, shops and restaurants start.

As you may have guessed already, this wasn't my first stay here, it was my 11th visit to the Isle of Man TT and I've stayed at The Welbeck every time. I've stayed at other hotels around Douglas when I've been over on business trips so I've had plenty of opportunity to compare and that's why I keep coming back to The Welbeck.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R32Tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
660 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
207 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
667 reviews
0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £65 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing