We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at the Welbeck”
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Welbeck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Had a wonderful short break in the Isle of Man. Cannot fault the hotel or its restaurant. The room was clean with a comfortable bed and all the facilities I could want, including fridge, iron and kettle. The ensuite bathroom was spotless and the water hot. Most importantly I got a good night's sleep.
The restaurant served a good selection and it was all very tasty. The breakfast was quite exceptional.
The staff were friendly and helpful at all times. .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

333 - 339 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

I've just returned from my 12th visit to the TT races and what was also my 15th stay at The Welbeck hotel which probably says far more than I can add with details about this excellent family run hotel.

I've stayed here for both business and pleasure and this last trip was both as I was there for work but also got to see a little of the racing. It really does have the perfect blend of small and friendly whilst also delivering excellent quality, facilities and levels of service.

A great choice of freshly cooked items for breakfast including local kippers of course and a varied menu for evening meals which changed daily whilst retaining a few regular favourites, again all freshly cooked.

My room was serviced every day, tea bags and biscuits were replaced and bottled water put in the fridge.

Free WiFi was also available throughout the hotel which these days is important for both business and personal use.

Every member of staff that I saw in the hotel was very friendly and helpful and considering the hotel was fully booked, that speaks volumes as they would have all been kept busy taking very good care of everyone.

Thank you once again Michael and Irene and everyone at The Welbeck Hotel for yet another memorable and thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R32Tigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Practice Week of the TT and the location is excellent! It is one road back from the seafront, so not noisy, and just a short walk (uphill, behind hotel) to the paddock, which is fab if you want to park your bike up for the night and have a drink! Bar and restaurant are both very nice...breakfast is lovely, freshly cooked and plenty of choice. Hotel staff are all very nice and friendly and very helpful. Our room was nice and clean and a reasonable size. We booked an 'executive' room but although it was nice, I wouldn't describe it as executive. The bed was two singles pushed together, which was a shame, especially as they had different firmness of mattresses on each and you could feel the join. Being there for a week, we would have liked more hanging and drawer space, and we also had a broken window in our room, which we didn't realise until we opened it and then had problems closing it! The bathroom was nice enough, although again not what you would expect for executive. The toiletries provided were lovely, and the tea and coffee etc was topped up daily. It was good having a fridge in the room, and also the provision of an iron, ironing board, and hair dryer.

Room Tip: Room on top floor may be a good idea as we could hear people wandering around above us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelbeckWalker, Owner at The Welbeck Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

Thank you for your mainly positive review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

However, we are slightly puzzled by one or two things mentioned.

Having read Tripadvisor, I immediately went to room and shut all the windows. There didn't seem to be any problems apart from one of the handles being a little loose which I subsequently tightened.

The 'Zip & Link' beds which are purchased as a set, rather than just being two single beds pushed together have always been very popular because of their size as people seem to enjoy the space. They also benefit us because we are able to let the rooms as either twin bedded or double. We do have conventional double and 'King Size (1500mm) ' beds in some rooms.

Regarding our own categories of room, we do think that they are very reasonably priced in our local, U.K. and European market, having travelled and stayed quite a few hotels in different countries They are equipped to a standard higher than required for three star.

We hope that you return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

We had booked our holiday through Premier Holidays and they offered us two hotels, after some internet research we chose The Welbeck and also upgraded to a Superior Room (well worth it). On arrival at the hotel in our hire car we easily found on street parking and hotel was having a facelift with the outside getting a fresh coat of paint. Receptionist was very friendly & welcoming and our room (304) was absolutely gorgeous, windows along one wall and a bay window with views across the bay. Restaurant staff are so nice and even with so many guests remember personal preferences, very impressive! Great choice of food and can highly recommend the kippers. Housekeeping kept our room spotless. Hotel is ideally situated halfway along the prom within easy walking distance of electric railway and Douglas town centre. Highly recommended, made our holiday just perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorleston_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Staff went out of their way to help us in every way even to driving us to catch a trip when the taxi failed to arrive. Food was varied and of a really high standard, staff were so caring. Our room was clean and very spacious. The holiday was made because the hotel did not let us down in any way. The Wilsons

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We visited the Isle of Man for a six day holiday in April 2013 and stayed at the Welbeck hotel. The hotel was situated one atreet back from the promendade, we had a lovely view from our room, able to see the Ferry arriving and departing daily as well. We were upgraded to a larger room with a sitting area and this proved to be a bonus when your stay is longer. The breakfast and dining room was bright and cheerful and the staff were extremely helpful and attendtive to our needs. The meals were always of excellent quality and freshly prepared, and we both enjoyed the bar area where we found the same attentive service continued. Occasionally a bar meal was selected and this was again very good. It is rather old fashioned service when the waiter would come to the bar area and escort you (together with your drinks) to the dining area. Quite delightful really. We had some concerns about leaving our hire car in the nearby streets but this proved to present no difficultly at all. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

I spent a long weekend at The Welbeck in April. The welcome was warm, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Good breakfasts set us up for two days of train and pub spotting. The hotel is set back off the front, and 10 mins walk from the centre (slightly less from the electric tram). The bus from the airport stops within two hundred yards (Stop 6).

Room Tip: The hotel is one street back from the seafront, so is generally quiet. My room on the fourth floor h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterandpam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
Ellan Vannin Metro Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#11 of 15 in Douglas
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 15 in Douglas
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#6 of 15 in Douglas
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range: £66 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing