We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Welbeck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I stayed here when over for work recently. It is very good for a 3* hotel. The room was large (403) and had a big bed and partial view over the harbour. Staff were helpful and friendly. It is centrally located close to the promenade and main street. Breakfast was very good, with buffet and a hot made-to-order option also.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LegallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    76
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
128
30
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I have just returned from the IOM with my wife after a long weekend after meeting up for a reunion of former colleagues. The hotel was conveniently located very close to the promenade and 20 minutes from the airport, the rooms were very big and one of the most comfortable beds I have slept in for some time !!

We eat in the hotel the first evening which was excellent especially the scallops !! The service and wine were equally very good and we partied on until the early hours ...sorry if we were a bit loud but some of us had seen each other for a number of year!!

The staff were fantastic and couldn't be more helpful and thanks to Mr Curphey who lives on the Island for booking the hotel and arranging the weekend .

We will definitely be back

Room Tip: If you have a lift phobia beware as the lift is a little small and clunky !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ticker1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at the Welbeck on many occasions and it me continues to impress with the warmth and helpfulness of its staff. The Welbeck is everything you could ask for, the rooms are comfortable and spotless, the breakfasts are excellent, just what you need to set you up for a long day whether you are working on the Island or enjoying its beauty.

We will be returning!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mac1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My sons father in law booked this hotel for us as they live on the Island, and I must say what a great choice, we stayed from Friday until Monday, we were very impressed with the hotel, from checking in we got a warm welcome and the room you could not fault, a lovely large room (304) with a corner view of the sea, a massive bed, tv, fridge and ample tea and coffee, the en-suite had a large bath with shower and lovely towels. We ate in the hotel the first evening and were spoilt for choice as what to choose from the menu as I liked just about everything on it and I must say £22.00 for 3 courses was very good value, the food was lovely with the vegetables being served in seperate dishes the service was second to none, with the staff being very attentative and very pleasant. The drinks at the bar were not overpriced at all much cheaper than some hotels we have stayed in. The breakfast again you could not fault, plenty of cereals then a choice of main breakfast my husband had manx kippers and really enjoyed them, I had full manx breakfast each morning which was lovely. would definitely recommend this hotel to every one whether for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room and you will have a partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My wife and I used the Welbeck as our base for 2 nights during a business trip to the island. From arrival to departure the standard of staff and service was excellent. We stayed in room 404 at the top of the hotel which was spotlessly clean and spacious. The Manx breakfast was first rate with attentive staff serving large portions. Highly recommended for business or leisure.

Room Tip: Room 404 offers panoramic views and spacious facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4TUNES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed at the Welbeck in July for a weeks walking on the island. I was in room 303 on the third floor with a sea view over the rooftops,a large sunny room with plenty of space to move around in.A nice large comfortable bed and everything in the room that you needed for your stay. There was a good sized ensuite with bath and shower and plenty of hot water.
Breakfasts were a good start to the day with plenty of choices of cereals etc and any combination of cooked breakfast availabe including the famous Manx kippers if you wished!
Evening meals were excellent, the menu changing everyday with several choices for each course and individual dishes of vegetables which i like with the main course.
Drinks were reasonably priced at the bar, i drank the local Ales which were around the £3.30 mark
The staff were very attentive and helpfull and the rooms spotlessly clean.
Lucy on the front desk was a lovely lady
I really enjoyed my weeks stay at the Welbeck and would thoroughly reccomend this family run hotel one road back from the seafront.
One quirky thing about the Hotel is the double staircase arrangement (although there is a small lift) very baffling as you never know where you are going to come out untill you get used to it.
Its a bit like those stairs in the Harry Potter films that move around in the night!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I've stayed in most of the hotels on the Island as I work there occasionally. Of all the hotels I've stayed in - The Welbeck is by far the best. Clean, Bright, personable and the very best of service. I would have no hesitation recommending this family run hotel. Some of the best service you can find on the Island. An excellent choice if you want a more personal and friendly environment which doesn't compromise on style or cleanliness.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#9 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#5 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Property: The Welbeck Hotel
Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#2 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing