We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in all respects.”
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Welbeck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
England UK
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in all respects.”
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We attended a conference on the island and chose The Welbeck via the internet and what a good choice it turned out to be. Not on the seafront but with sea views and a leisurely stroll into town or to the tram. Excellent accomodation. We stayed in Room 404 which was at the top on a corner site with a view over the bay. Very comfortable, good sized room with huge bed and very pleasant decor. Excellent bathroom with bath and shower. Plenty of storage space; a desk; settee and large plasma TV. . The food was good with a very generous breakfast (buffet starters but waiter service after that). We had a drink in the bar before dinner and it was all very pleasant. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Gym and swimming facailities were available though not actually at The Welbeck. We would recommend this hotel to anyone. Downside? - tiny lift but that was not a problem.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cavershamroyals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    82
    17
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
133
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

I stayed at the Welbeck with my mum and son for 3 nights and was a bit worried how big our family room would be...we were upgraded on arrival to one of theapartments which was fantastic, the staff could not do enough for us, the reception staff, bar staff and breakfast staff were all friendly and polite. The hotel was spotless and the apartment the cleanest accommodation I have ever stayed in, would recommend for families especially.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harmony07wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2010

Can only repeat what other reviewers have said. Clean, spacious rooms and super staff. Chatting at the bar about my love of seafood I was offered a mixed platter, even though it wasn't on the menu, to enable me to try a range rather than choose. This is not my first trip and I love the fact that I can stay for 2 weeks and eat a different fish dish every night!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunsetLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

The Isle of Man is a bit of a catering industry desert so it's good to find a hotel like the Welbeck where the standards are reasonably high. Comfortable, attractive, spacious rooms, free wifi, satellite TV channels, helpful and friendly service - and a very good breakfast menu; try the Manx kippers with soft poached eggs. The shore at Douglas is only a few yards away down the hill, where you can watch the Irish Sea being whipped into a frenzy by the wind. No real complaints. The Welbeck does what it does with honesty and care.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LongJohnSliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2009

An excellent family run hotel with well appointed rooms and very helpful staff. Have stayed there on three occasions for business and can throughly recommend the Welbeck for work or pleasure even if on a budget. Whilst not in the centre of Douglas, it is a short walk (10-15 mins) from what passes as the thriving centre of Douglas! It is just off the main promenade and a stones throw to the beach and seafront. There is a small Spar grocery less than 5 minutes away on seafront for newspapers, wine, etc. The hotel offers the use of the gym and pool at the nearby Hilton and offers internet access in the bar and free Wi-fi throughout- Hooray! other hotels in the UK please take note - but then of course the IoM isn't in the UK!so change any money before returning - the friendly hotel staff will do this if they can before you leave. Have only eaten bar meals which are fine and from all accounts the restaurant is very popular with locals as it always seems busy. All the rooms I stayed in had a small fridge with complementary water, a small settee, iron & ironing board, trouser press etc Bathrooms were clean and have usual toiletries etc. Overall the Welbeck offers v good value for money (the double room was £53...not sure if breakfast was included or if the people who booked it got a special rate ..). I'd definitely recommend a stay for business/pleasure and whilst I'm sure there are other fancier places ..I rather liked the Welbeck for its unpretentiousness and friendly atmosphere. Boutique it isn't but then it depends want you want....!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlesandFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

This hotel was recommendd to me and lived up to its reputation. My deluxe room was huge and very comfy, with every little extra you might want or need. Everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were really helpful. Breakfast was comprehensive, including fresh fruit salad with strawberries. There was a friendly air without being in your face. Total cost £59 bed and breakfast.

There is also access to a gym and spa, although I didn't have chance to take advantage of this.

Minor drawbacks - staff not always on reception and it was unclear how best to attract somebody's attention; the location, a bit out of the town centre although near the sea and location woud have been fine if the weather had been good; and finally, as there were storms, rain dripped onto my balcony making a pinging noise in the night.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShazyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

My wife and I were in Douglas and, having seen the Welbeck's website offering a 4 course dinner for £ 20 we were tempted by the value. At that price we were not expecting too much but we were wrong. From the moment we entered the Restaurant until we left we were made feel welcome by the friendly and efficient staff and treated to a quite superb meal. So good was it that we decided to invite friends of ours, who were staying in a different part of the island, to join us for dinner there a few nights later. Our experience on our first visit was so good that we were half expecting that our return would not be quite as good. We shouldn't have had any such misgivings however as the same high standards were in evidence. We also liked the fact that the menu on our second visit was completely different from our first visit. Overall I couldn't recommend this restaurant highly enough. Well done to all concerned

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveOC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.1 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 17 in Douglas
592 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Property: The Welbeck Hotel
Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Douglas
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing