We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Well run hotel, highest standards of cleanliness, wonderful”
Review of The Welbeck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Welbeck Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent - Well run hotel, highest standards of cleanliness, wonderful”
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I'd recommend this hotel to all . Spotlessly clean throughout, our room was big and spacious, with a massive, Queen sized bed which was so comfortable it was hard to get up ! The staff are very helpful, showing us how to get to Laxey and Snaefell via the Electric Railway.
Would highly recommend dinner there too - the Manx Queenies ( scallops cooked with bacon and garlic ) are to die for , and the food is delicious and great value for money - the Restaurant has a lovely atmosphere.
Breakfast set us up for the day, with plenty of choice from Manx kippers to a full English.
The decor is ever so slightly dated, but that doesn't matter - the place is spotlessly clean , welcoming , warm and comfortable, and it makes a nice change from the uniform decor of a Marriott or such like.
If you're visiting the Isle of Man, try the Welbeck - we're glad we did.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    83
    17
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
134
35
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

We stayed there twice for work over two weekends during late August to early Sept and the rooms / service and food were pretty good. Not only that they were very helpful when I had a couple of questions about the room and auctioned it immediately. Nothing to worry about, just TV remote control was missing. Additionally I lost my USB flash drive and only realised it was llost 4 days after I checked out. So I rang them and it had been handed in! Relief!

So on the whole they are spot on and I would go back again. Well done Welbeck!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milesfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2010

We had three rooms for 5 nights. Given free room upgrades. All rooms were of a generous size with good facilities, including a small fridge with bottled water included. All the staff were friendly and helpful. It is family run and represents good value for money on an island that can be expensive.. The bar could do with a decent cask ale rather than the awful keg bitter, but that was my only complaint.
The restaurant attracts many non residents for dinner which can detract service when they have an unexpected rush, which can be difficult for them to plan for.
Breakfast is excellent, with good food freshly cooked to order, non of that shrivelled buffet style egg under a hot lamp here !!
Our birthday girl, even got a card & a bottle of bubbly from the staff whilst we were there.
We met several business people during our stay who said they have stayed in many hotels in Douglas-and this is the best one.
Would definetley stay here again if in Douglas.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Narrabeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

we were spoilt by the friendliness of the staff, quality of service, quantity and quality of food and value for money.We have absolutely no complaints and thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pennywiganuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton Low Houses
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2010

Stayed two nights on business.......felt like I was at home I was that comfortable!
Staff are excellent and location and facilities are very good
Very good resturant and very wi fi what more could you want!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bushrun10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I stayed here for three nights as it was a convenient location close to the finish line of the Parish Walk. The staff were very helpful to various particpants of the event that were staying there. Rooms decorated to a higher standard than I would have expected. Breakfasts were plentiful, and cooked to order as wanted. We shall return on our next visit to the Isle of Man.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JConstandinou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District,Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Just returned from a stay in the Isle of Man.
We decided to stay at the Welbeck after reading other tripadvisor traveller's comments on this website,and what a good choice it was.
The hotel is 1st class.We went for the top of the range room and were in room 204.
It had every thing you would need in a hotel room.
Great Bed,Large Bathroom,Digital TV,Fridge,Iron & Ironing board etc.
We booked for just the bed and breakfast option.The breakfasts were lovely.A wide selection of juices,cereals & fruit.Full Manx Breakfast(Manx Bacon) & Manx Kippers(Beautiful....!!!!)
We will be staying their again when we next visit the isle of man.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scouserjat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
610 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#3 of 17 in Douglas
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
12.1 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ramsey
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welbeck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welbeck Hotel

Property: The Welbeck Hotel
Address: 13 Mona Drive, Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LF
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Douglas
#2 Family Hotel in Douglas
#4 Business Hotel in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welbeck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending the style & elegance of a victorian property with all the modern facilities expected by the 21st century traveller, the Welbeck Hotel, Restaurant and Apartments is perfect for leisure and business. Number One Isle of Man Hotel on Tripadvisor since 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Welbeck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welbeck Hotel Douglas
The Welbeck Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing