We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Savoy Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Visited two weeks ago. Food dreadful and surroundings tatty. Embarrassed to have taken a guest. We will never go back ! Beer batter that you could put wall paper on with and liver very over cooked. Chair I was sitting on was broken and table clothes were cheap paper.a prawn starter was more of game"hunt the prawns" not a good experience !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    6
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

A very warm friendly stay with the best full English breakfast ever! Also sampled the Other restaurant meals and they were also spot on with a big recommendation for Haneffes Angus burgers.
Rooms were clean with a LCD Tv and a great view, overall very satisfied and great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richrx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my parents in the late 1960s. It was wonderful--ideally situated on the waterfront, with excellent breakfasts. I remember we were served every morning by two Portuguese waiters. There was a lounge with a TV which guests could book. I recall one fellow arrived in time to watch "Z Cars," which I presume he'd previously booked. Nowadays I expect there are TV screens in all the rooms.

I wonder if they still have the same old lift, with accordian-like double doors one has to open and close manually.

Room Tip: There is no option in this survey for dates of travel in past decades. As noted, this review is base...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil_Fawlty62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

after a long look at the trip advisor i noticed that none of the links work from the clients that have stayed in the past. each client has only ever left 1 review and that was for this establishment. also 2 of the clients also have the same jpeg mini picture before there name. the hotel was a bit dirty. the decour is out dated but looks like it may be work in progress. the staff seem very over friendly. food was average. the cost was way to much for what you get.

Room Tip: go to the palace hotel instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank spidiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2011

This is possibly my tenth visit to the Savoy. As per usual a friendly welcome from Haneffe and Mary - thank you for looking after me and feeding me so well!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2011

the savoy is a wonderful hotel and restaurant where we were treated like guests of honour. the owners haneffe and mary are very accommodating. when you get up you can be served with a tasty breakfast and that evening you can have a nice dinner in the restaurant part of it. there is a nice bar where you are treated with good service a chat and a smile.. it is deffinetely a good place to spend a nice enjoyable christmas or any other time of the year. i would deffinetely recommend the savoy to anyone who is going to douglas. thanks for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amym29540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

From we first arrived to the minute we left we were treated like guests of honour.
We stayed for 3 nights, first trip to the Isle of Man so we wanted to get out and about to discover the beautiul Island, every day started with a Tasty breakfast served with a chat and a smile. We ate one of our evenings also in the Hotel- which seemed busy on all of the evenings with both locals and other holiday makers enjoying the food - the taxi driver who picked us up from the ferry even recommended the hotel for evening meals!Fantastic location, right on the main promenade with views of the sea and the horse drawn trams going past.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T_and_L_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#11 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LU
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Douglas
Savoy Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing