We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay!”
Review of Savoy Hotel

Savoy Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Savoy Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Okay!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The room was OK, for the price it was alright.

The only thing was the cleaning lady was very rude!! She actually walked in whilst I was still in there and then moaned at me because the bathroom wasn't clean, Ummm what!?

Apart from her, everything was fine :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsKezzaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    6
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Such a great family run business. Stayed at the savoy for 5 nights with a friend and had such a lovely time! The sea view from our room was beautiful at sun set watching the ferry come in and out! Staff were very helpful with all our silly tourist questions! Food was AMAZING and good portion size! Excellent value for money! Thinking of a trip back to the savoy soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikkianne92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Just been for dinner with a friend, we thought the menu was nice & varied, waiting on staff were very pleasant and the food was good and reasonably priced. It was busy and the staff coped v well. Yes it could do with a lick of paint, but then you are aren't being charged Ritz prices.

Room Tip: Only ate in the restaurant, didn't stay over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 652Anac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

On arrival on our first holiday together there was no one to greet us ,, apparently the bar and restaurant are shut on a Monday( news to us ), we sere served with a drink while we waited for our room key . We were shown to our room first impressions were bright and airy ,, probably due to the block of wood holding up a heavy sash window !! , There was a mark on the sink which I thought was an old stain due to dripping tap (hotel being done up we were told ) but after a wipe with tissue the mark came clean away .The shower was old and the black mouldy silicone sealant was worrying to say the least . I had been told on booking this room had recently been painted .The Breakfast was amazing although the cutlery was dirty luckily the hotel appeared quiet so clean utensils were taken from an empty table .upon asking for more milk and coffe sachets for our room after washing our own cups my partner was then accused of embarrassing the hotel staff and owner as this was the second day in a row we had asked , we were then accused of smoking in the room as it was apparently captured on cctv and given half an hour to pack our bags unless we admitted to smoking. I admitted smoking ( a legal electronic cigarette which emits vapour so if seen looks like you are smoking ) which we had shown to the owner on arrival .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Manty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Visited two weeks ago. Food dreadful and surroundings tatty. Embarrassed to have taken a guest. We will never go back ! Beer batter that you could put wall paper on with and liver very over cooked. Chair I was sitting on was broken and table clothes were cheap paper.a prawn starter was more of game"hunt the prawns" not a good experience !!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

A very warm friendly stay with the best full English breakfast ever! Also sampled the Other restaurant meals and they were also spot on with a big recommendation for Haneffes Angus burgers.
Rooms were clean with a LCD Tv and a great view, overall very satisfied and great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richrx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my parents in the late 1960s. It was wonderful--ideally situated on the waterfront, with excellent breakfasts. I remember we were served every morning by two Portuguese waiters. There was a lounge with a TV which guests could book. I recall one fellow arrived in time to watch "Z Cars," which I presume he'd previously booked. Nowadays I expect there are TV screens in all the rooms.

I wonder if they still have the same old lift, with accordian-like double doors one has to open and close manually.

Room Tip: There is no option in this survey for dates of travel in past decades. As noted, this review is base...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basil_Fawlty62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Douglas
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#14 of 22 in Douglas
207 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
357 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramsey Park Hotel
Ramsey Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ramsey
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
374 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glen Mona Hotel
Glen Mona Hotel
#12 of 22 in Douglas
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Property: Savoy Hotel
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LU
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Douglas
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Douglas
Savoy Hotel Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing