We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Mistake”
Review of gu

gu
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
gu
Ranked #23 of 32 Douglas B&B and Inns
mary from macclesfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Big Mistake”
Reviewed 31 August 2008

We arrived late at the Savoy. Could,nt get hold of staff; eventually we were given key to our room . We decided to walk uo stairs as lift looked prehistoric. When we went into our room we got the shock of our life. Decor had not changed since probably the 70's. Painted over wallpaper coming off in various places. Bathroom window overlooking prom, no fosting on window just peel off stickyback plastic which was peeling off! Bathroom ancient, shower curtain hanging off and shower not working no hot water not that we would have used it. Chair in bedroom filthy. Whilst towels and sheets looked clean bed covers duvet etc smelt dirty. Extension leads connecting lamps etc. Only good thing in room was variety of tea bags etc for use. Very grotty overall could,nt wait to get out of place, checked into another hotel much better. Daughter said it was like Count Olafs castle and scary. Owners pleasant enough but must be oblivious to the state of their establishment.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — scary delapidation of whole place!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank marymac39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    6
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
4
8
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2005

After reading the reviews i would just like to add a few comments, firstly and most importantly check the grade of your hotel, the savoy is a 1 diamond the lowest of the grades, read what you should expect from a 1 diamond hotel written by the tourist board and you will soon realise that the savoy offers much more than it has to. Anyone who books in here should realise that it's not going to be 5* but it is still a very good hotel. the rooms are spotless clean but well worn, it has a lift (ok you have to shut the door yourself,) but its in keeping with the age of the property. the staff go out of their way to help you enjoy your stay. breakfast is fab and offers a wide choice ( as a 1 diamond it does not have to offer such a wide menu)
sky tv, dvds a selection of videos, books, games even a telescope to look out to sea are provided in the spacious and comfortable lounge. the bar is open daily (except out of season when it opens if and when needed) .
the savoy definatly offers value for money, if you can afford 5* then go for it , but if like me you have to watch the purse strings this hotel is great.
so finally i think that some of the moans on the other reveiws are from people who want 5* accomadation at 1 diamond prices

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mumsy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2004

Well after reading and visiting the reviews of the savoy hotel...i write. The hotel is old actually 130 years old, she is good place to stay...open your eyes and look around and see what is left on douglas seafront. Falling down hotels, luxury apartments, pubs and clubs. I myself found my room very clean comftable, breakfast was superb, tracy the land lady was warm and friendly, I did not have any problems, just a pity more tradional hotels are not kept to same standards.

  • Stayed June 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank whyiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 1 October 2004

I recently spent a weekend in the Savoy Hotel. As it turned out my travelling companion and I were the only guests in the hotel the entire weekend. We were allocated a room which was to say the least very shabby, paint peeling from the walls, mould in the bathroom, stained carpets and the shower resembled similar to ones I have used in tourist class caravans, it was literally a self contained unit, plumbed in - added to that, either you had to have an extremely hot shower, or a tepid one with a trickle coming from the shower head. The bar was never open during the entire duration of our stay. The staff were hepful, although during breakfast a dog was present on one of the mornings. On a positive, the manager allowed us a later breakfast than normal.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 16 February 2004

i thin this hotel is 1 of the best ive ever tayed on i would definitly stay there again

the staff are so friendly and great the food is wonderful and it is positioned right by the sea

this hotel is highly recamended for evert1 of all ages

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 August 2003

The Savoy is in a good position on the seafront in Douglas but, to quote from another review, the hotel is "tired". The staff are very good and work hard but the actual building is getting shabby and the owner is falling behind the pace. One example of this is that the lift is an old one and the doors still have to be opened and closed manually. The bedrooms can only be described as adequate, whilst some of them are quite cramped. The shower cubicle in my room was very small and the operation of the shower was patchy. The hotel suffers, unavoidably, from the fact that most of its rooms overlook an adjoining hotel which has decided to open a second night club on its premises and these two clubs, between them, cause a lot of noise when the (mainly young) patrons of these clubs are entering and leaving in the early hours of the morning. Aside from this, if the owner would spend more money on the hotel, and more quickly, the Savoy would be a very pleasant place to stay.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 17 in Douglas
359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 17 in Douglas
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 17 in Douglas
375 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#6 of 17 in Douglas
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to gu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about gu

Property: gu
Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4LU
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Savoy Hotel Douglas
Gu Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing