We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant fusion of traditional and modern styles”
Review of Admiral House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Douglas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Admiral House
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Douglas
A TripAdvisor Member
210
Reviewed 22 October 2003

I along with two friends stayed at the Admiral House Hotel in Douglas. The hotel's location was excellent, with all the main tourist areas within easy reach, and the main shopping streets just seconds away. This hotel recently had a complete overhaul so one gets the benefit of having a traditional whitewashed "oh-I-do-like-to-be-beside-the-seaside" style of building with a modern interior. The hotel was extremely quiet, unsurprising as tourist season was over. The two staff we met were both helpful and courteous. We booked a suite directly which accommodated 3 adults at GBP 100 per night, good value as it was quite large with two TVs and two separate sleeping areas. The room was clean and attractive and the bathroom was spotless. Our only concerns were with the attention to detail in the room. Four of the seven light bulbs were not functioning and the fold-out sofabed for the extra person was slanting so badly that my friend had to put extra cushions under the legs to make it more horizontal (the sea air had him so tired both nights that he slept fine). The modern hotel restaurant looked like one of the nicer ones on the island (we did not end up eating there) but it is a different restaurant altogether from the Spanish one advertised on the hotel's website, which has now closed down. Overall a pleasant hotel experience - would be a good place to book for a romantic weekend.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: La suite de la torre, tiene las mejores vistas, muy espaciosa. Otra buena opción es 1 habitación ori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenaDelSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: se proprio devi andare in questo hotel, prima di scegliere la stanza prova tutte le attrezzature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alessandro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruby_ruby_red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYC2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 15 in Douglas
390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 15 in Douglas
641 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chesterhouse Hotel
The Chesterhouse Hotel
#7 of 15 in Douglas
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#2 of 15 in Douglas
196 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 15 in Douglas
431 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Empress Hotel
The Empress Hotel
#4 of 15 in Douglas
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admiral House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admiral House

Address: 12 Loch Promenade, Douglas IM1 2LX
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Douglas
Hotel Class:3 star — Admiral House 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Admiral House Hotel Douglas
Admiral Hotel Douglas
Admiral House Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing