We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem of a find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raymonds Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 32 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a little gem of a find”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

As a businessman sometimes you need a little luck and finding Raymonds has been just that as I could not get into the hotel where I normally stay.
Lou and Danny could not do enough for me
Rooms were beautiful and I will be going back and taking my wife with me to stay again.
I travel to IOM on business 3 or 4 times a year and it is better than the hotels I have stayed at in the past.
This will be my first port of call whenever I visit the Island from now on

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Always a pleasure having you to stay Robin...looking forward to your August visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
54
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying with the Williams family and we had a great time with this lovely family. They cannot do enough for you and the whole family make your stay most enjoyable. The food is fantastic and the service is the best we have ever had. The rooms are spacious and beautifully set out and most comfortable.We had a lovely time and have already rebooked our holiday for next year here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was lovely to meet you John and Joyce and we looking forward to welcoming you to Raymonds next year.

Jock and Sue - we're already looking forward to TT 2014!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2013

No it was not a dream it did really happen, we had a great stay with a wonderful family.
Upon our arrival we were warmly welcomed into a very friendly family atmosphere, more like a home visit than a B&B, the spotlessly clean room with its comfortable bed, walk-in shower and roll-top bath was great.
Breakfast set you up for the day, and you were even invited to help yourself to a hole range of goodies from fruit, cakes, biscuits and sweets.
In all we had a wonderful stay, Lou and Dan you made our first time visit to the Isle of Man the icing on the cake for us, and we can only echo the lovely comments made by the other reviews you have had.
The Isle of Man should be proud to have you, you make good ambassadors to the island.
Best Regards Mick & Norma

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review Mick and Norma, we look forward to welcoming you both to Raymonds in the future.

Lou, Dan and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

First of all let me say it was my 1st ever stay in a B&B ... And the experience was great!! My partner and I spent time in Raymond's over the IOM TT 13 ... I arrived late ... Long story about missed boats .. Anyway, I was warmly greeted upon arrival at the B&B by Dan & Lou and very promptly fed with a beautiful fry up in the breakfast room! The house is very friendly and welcoming, very clean and comfortable! It is based in Hutchinson square which is beautiful ... 10 mins walk one way to the grandstand and 10 mins walk the other way to the promenade. On the eve of our last night our hosts invited all of their guests to a BBQ ... This was a lovely gesture and really enjoyable evening with Williams family and other guests! We would return to Raymond's in a heartbeat ... Yes for the TT again, but to drop by and visit our new friends in the IOM!! Dan and Lou .. The B&B is a credit to you both, but your hospitality made it for us!! Hope to see you again real soon.!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyhendry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you to Raymonds for TT2014 ...if not before.

Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

The most friendliest and welcoming b & b I have ever had the pleasure to visit. Awoken in the morning with lovely aromas coming from the kitchen and a breakfast to match it. Eggs benedict being my absolute favourite and cooked to perfection. Our room was immaculate with beautiful white shutters adorning the windows. A relax in the roll top bath was blissful and very soothing. Dan and Lou go beyond their means to make sure every wish is catered for. A beautiful family run business by a very beautiful family. Seriously can not wait to return in a couple of months.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missgiggles2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Stayed here on both my trips to the IOM, and it really is a jewel in the crown. Dan and Lou are just natural relaxed hosts with adorable kids and a stay here really is home from home. Without being overbearing they just make you feel comfortable and relaxed. The guest facilities are great, and spotlessly clean, the guest rooms are just fantastic - very well appointed and comfortable.
I really can't recommend Raymonds highly enough if you are on the Island

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Quite literally a home from home! Dan and Lou are the kindest, most hospitable people you could ask for. It was our first trip to the IOM and when we go next year it's the only place we will stay. It will be like going away to stay with friends. Also I've got to say the rooms are lovely and the breakfast was top class. We're actually very fussy and have travelled all over the world, this is the first ever review I have written, so that must tell you something! Thanks so much can't wait to see you again soon xxx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TyGalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thanks for your review guys...it was great to meet you both and we look forward to your next stay at Raymonds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#5 of 17 in Douglas
368 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 17 in Douglas
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hydro Hotel
The Hydro Hotel
#13 of 17 in Douglas
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 17 in Douglas
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arrandale House & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Inglewood
Inglewood
#2 of 32 in Douglas
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raymonds Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raymonds Bed and Breakfast

Property: Raymonds Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HU
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raymond's is a family run 4* Silver & Breakfast Award winning Bed and Breakfast set on a beautiful Victorian Square. We offer two exclusive superior double rooms both with private facilities. Our rooms are elegantly decorated and have Digital TV and Wi-Fi available. There is a large Guest Lounge where full English breakfast is served using local Manx produce. The Guest Lounge has a 46' Digital TV, Free Unlimited Wi-Fi, Tea and Coffee making facilities and a fridge, all available for use throughout your stay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Raymonds Bed And Breakfast Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing