We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely fantastic - Can't wait to go back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raymonds Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 27 Douglas B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic - Can't wait to go back!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

I don't know where to start as so many positives!!Firstly, we got picked up from the Airport, by Dan, who gave us such a wonderful greeting, he seemed more like a long lost friend! At the guest house, which is beautifully renovated to a very high standard, we were met by his lovely wife Lou, who again was so warm and welcoming.Raymonds is very close to the sea, prom eateries and shops which was great for us as we had not hired a car.The guest lounge/diner is just perfect, airy, clean and homely with so many drinks, biscuits,cereals, fruit etc that you can help yourself to at anytime....which we did. Amazing shortbread !! Our room was breathtaking, they certainly have an eye for design and creature comforts right down to the gorgeous thick towelling bath robes. Something you would find in a 5 star hotel! Oh and the bedding smelt like fresh summer meadows, very very very clean!!! The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get up. Best nights sleep I have ever had in a guest house/b and b. The breakfast was amazing too. Now I'm a fussy eater and always ask for soft runny eggs.....they were perfect with massive egg yolks which is my favourite bit. I'd go back just for the eggs! You definitely get your monies worth with the amount of breakfast you get. Unlimited cereals, juices, tea, coffee, toast, croissants with jams n marmalade, then the main event....the cooked breakfast!! Beautiful. All in all an excellent A+++++++++++++ outstanding place to stay with wonderful hosts. We have stayed at many hotels and guest houses but this was by far the best. Thanks Lou and Dan - We will be back xx If Raymonds was a singer in a talent competition - it most definitely has the X factor!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VikkiH_B2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
It was great to have you and your family stay with us ....looking forward to you bringing your show to the IOM and staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
51
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I work in the trade, and have stayed in many hotels, guest houses etc. This is undoubtably, the best!
There's just so many positive things to say about this guest house/bed & breakfast.
Very friendly and hospitable family owned. Plenty of room, quality furnishings, toiletries, extras.
So clean. Honestly, I just can't emphasise enough how lovely it all was. Sky tv, wifi, cakes, bickies, tea and coffee anytime you want.
My husband and I met in Douglas 35 years ago, as teenagers. After all these years he decided to take me back for my 50th. If he'd have took me to Rome or Paris, it wouldn't have been as perfect as my visit back. Lou and her lovely daughter Poppy even took the trouble to bake me a chocolate birthday cake - which was 'yummy'!
I highly recommend you staying here if you visit the Isle of Man. Whether you're corporate, holidaying, single, family or couple - stay here!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sam&skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thank you for your review guys.

I'm so happy that you choose Raymonds for this nostalgic trip....and i hope that although your original guest house is no longer we were able to help in reviving the lovely memories you have of the beautiful Isle of Man.

It was lovely to meet you both and look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This was our first visit to the Isle of Man and we made the excellent decision to choose Raymond's as our Bed and Breakfast. Dan and Lou could not have been more welcoming and friendly, nothing was too much trouble, we felt more like family friends than guests. Our room, with ensuite, was spacious, clean and comfortable, overlooking the square. The guest lounge was always well stocked with tea, coffee and cakes, giving us a cosy room to recover before hitting the nightlife of Douglas! Breakfasts were immense-set us up for the day.
Our reason for visiting the Isle was to help our son move, to take up his new job, Dan and Lou have helped him make contacts and integrate into island life. We would thoroughly recommend Raymond's as a place to stay. Dan, Lou and their gorgeous family are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patsy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thankyou for your review Patsy...lovely to meet you all and looking forward to you coming back to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

As a businessman sometimes you need a little luck and finding Raymonds has been just that as I could not get into the hotel where I normally stay.
Lou and Danny could not do enough for me
Rooms were beautiful and I will be going back and taking my wife with me to stay again.
I travel to IOM on business 3 or 4 times a year and it is better than the hotels I have stayed at in the past.
This will be my first port of call whenever I visit the Island from now on

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Always a pleasure having you to stay Robin...looking forward to your August visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying with the Williams family and we had a great time with this lovely family. They cannot do enough for you and the whole family make your stay most enjoyable. The food is fantastic and the service is the best we have ever had. The rooms are spacious and beautifully set out and most comfortable.We had a lovely time and have already rebooked our holiday for next year here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for your review.

It was lovely to meet you John and Joyce and we looking forward to welcoming you to Raymonds next year.

Jock and Sue - we're already looking forward to TT 2014!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

No it was not a dream it did really happen, we had a great stay with a wonderful family.
Upon our arrival we were warmly welcomed into a very friendly family atmosphere, more like a home visit than a B&B, the spotlessly clean room with its comfortable bed, walk-in shower and roll-top bath was great.
Breakfast set you up for the day, and you were even invited to help yourself to a hole range of goodies from fruit, cakes, biscuits and sweets.
In all we had a wonderful stay, Lou and Dan you made our first time visit to the Isle of Man the icing on the cake for us, and we can only echo the lovely comments made by the other reviews you have had.
The Isle of Man should be proud to have you, you make good ambassadors to the island.
Best Regards Mick & Norma

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review Mick and Norma, we look forward to welcoming you both to Raymonds in the future.

Lou, Dan and family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

First of all let me say it was my 1st ever stay in a B&B ... And the experience was great!! My partner and I spent time in Raymond's over the IOM TT 13 ... I arrived late ... Long story about missed boats .. Anyway, I was warmly greeted upon arrival at the B&B by Dan & Lou and very promptly fed with a beautiful fry up in the breakfast room! The house is very friendly and welcoming, very clean and comfortable! It is based in Hutchinson square which is beautiful ... 10 mins walk one way to the grandstand and 10 mins walk the other way to the promenade. On the eve of our last night our hosts invited all of their guests to a BBQ ... This was a lovely gesture and really enjoyable evening with Williams family and other guests! We would return to Raymond's in a heartbeat ... Yes for the TT again, but to drop by and visit our new friends in the IOM!! Dan and Lou .. The B&B is a credit to you both, but your hospitality made it for us!! Hope to see you again real soon.!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyhendry1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymonds9, Owner at Raymonds Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you to Raymonds for TT2014 ...if not before.

Lou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.7 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ellan Vannin Hotel
#1 of 27 in Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inglewood
Inglewood
#2 of 27 in Douglas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raymonds Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raymonds Bed and Breakfast

Property: Raymonds Bed and Breakfast
Address: 9 Hutchinson Square, Douglas IM2 4HU
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raymond's is a family run 4* Silver & Breakfast Award winning Bed and Breakfast set on a beautiful Victorian Square. We offer two exclusive superior double rooms both with private facilities. Our rooms are elegantly decorated and have Digital TV and Wi-Fi available. There is a large Guest Lounge where full English breakfast is served using local Manx produce. The Guest Lounge has a 46' Digital TV, Free Unlimited Wi-Fi, Tea and Coffee making facilities and a fridge, all available for use throughout your stay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Raymonds Bed And Breakfast Isle Of Man/Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing